We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generous sized tables, generous portions.”
Review of China Garden

China Garden
Reserve with OpenTable
China Garden is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #59 of 1,154 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$61 - US$61
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Generous sized tables, generous portions.”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I was taken here by friends yesterday, after going to a marvellous show by Brighton & Hove Actually Gay Men's Choir. The amply sized tables make you realise how often we put up with cramped, basically uncomfortable, seating. That, and the immaculate white linen table cloths and napkins, set the standard for the evening. Good portions of tasty food, reasonably priced wine, pleasant service, a pianist in the background and the company of friends: what a lovely way to round off a lovely evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TerryVanAlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    183
    42
    15
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely meal!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I ate here with my friend on Friday 11 July 2014. We made the mistake of ordering too much food though! I would say that if you are ordering 2-3 dishes each, then don't have a starter too as the portions here are generous.

A little on the expensive size, but you receive generous portions and everything was delicious. The service is included in the price which saves you working out and having change for a tip.

I had prawn wontons to start, followed by chicken in blackbean sauce, special fried rice and beansprouts with mangetout, washed down with mango juice. Could not fault it,

Service a little overattentive, but polite friendly staff. One lady was very happy and chatted to us, so we were pleased with the customer service.

Unfortunately there is still scaffolding outside, but a lovely atmosphere inside with a piano playing but was not too loud. We had arrived late in Brighton and did not start eating until 10pm but I believe the restaurant was open until midnight maybe later.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaB492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“wonderful meal”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Unexpected stay in Brighton and we feel so lucky to have found this lovely restaurant. Food was well cooked and delicious. Service was excellent and we didn't feel at all "rushed" like you do in some places. Wine was good and not at all expensive for the quality. One of the best Chinese meals we have had.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dcticker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Attentive service and delicious food”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Good friendly service with an extensive menu. Comfortable and relaxing ambience suitable for many occasions. Very much worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paullei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We eat here quite a lot I really like this place the food is good, vast selection, freshly cooked & attentive service,always busy so best to book, friendly staff & great Sunday Dim Sum

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lola008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China Garden also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to China Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing