We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fantastic Thai meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kanok Thai

Kanok Thai
Ranked #186 of 1,098 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$47 - US$47
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“What a fantastic Thai meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Our late night munchies on a weekend in Brighton lead us (based on recommendation by a local Thai who accompanied us) here for a fantastic meal. Very kind of them to keep the place open for us - Tom Yum soup and chicken dish was truly divine.
If it gets too spicy/hot please have the cold milk tea - it is enough to extinguish any fire.

Very central location and cute artwork.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dharam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    39
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
146 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best Thai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Good food, although place is a bit cramped but still, I always come back for their tom yum soup and curry dishes. Simply delicious! Price is also very reasonable. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank michikikay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGC - Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
170 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Simple but Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

When you look through the window of this restaurant it looks very simple and basic, but don't let this put you off.
The food and service was good and ideal for a simple quick meal. We had fish cakes and vegetable tempura for starters followed by papaya salad, spicy duck and chicken fried rice. The food was cooked and seasoned well with wonderful taste.
Including drinks the meal came to just over £40.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fauchards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Top Thai food.👍”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Like "Yenta4"delicious. owner 's a Thai person. Best dessert menu. A Thai dessert Thai people skills. "Bualoy". There is a moderate price is reasonable the Thai overseas.

Helpful?
Thank aCAREbaa .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Back again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Another trip to Kanok Thai! We haven't been since our last review, but the food seems to be even better! The Tom Yum soup was a gorgeous bowl of spicy perfection-the vegetables were cooked exactly as they should be, everything was fresh and delicious. Green curry again was the best outside of Thailand and the welcome we received.....well, could only have been more welcoming if we were family! My favourite Thai food in the UK.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Salsarachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kanok Thai also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Kanok Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing