We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful; avoid at all costs.”

Oki-Nami Japanese Restaurant & Cocktail Bar
Ranked #270 of 1,124 Restaurants in Brighton
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: This classically kooky, Tokyo-esque Japanese restaurant and delicatessen on the New Road in Brighton is the brainchild of acclaimed chef Mike Dodd and DJ Norman Cook aka Fatboy Slim. With a minimialist, contemporary interior featuring handmade oak furniture, caliigraphy clad lanterns and an exclusive soundtrack tailor made by Cook, Oki-Nami has become a hit with local sushi connoisseurs, hipsters and Japanophiles. Located near the Theatre Royal opposite the Pavillion Gardens, Oki-Nami restaurant is renowned for its award-winning sushi; Japanese tapas; main courses such as the Suzuki Saffron sea bass served with a citrus sauce; desserts including the restaurant's famous green tea ice cream; and east-meets-west cocktails such as the Japanese Cherry Blossom Margarita.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Dreadful; avoid at all costs.”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Norman ‘Fatboy Slim’ Cook should be embarrassed to have his name on this place. The service is shoddy, slow and disinterested, and waiters spilt our sake before it reached the table, forgot about my allergy request, and had to be asked to bring soy sauce to us during the course of the meal. The miso soup is evidently from a packet, and the bento boxes small and unfulfilling- and padded out with wilting lettuce- for the price. The waiting staff’s way of dealing with the outside terrace seems to be by shouting out ‘who ordered the edamame beans?’ and there was no enquiry as to whether we enjoyed our meal, or even a goodbye when we left. And we left feeling seriously hungry. Appalling.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Opalescent78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    74
    31
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing....!! ”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Had dinner here last night and the food was out of this world. Great survive and the owner is really friendly. If you like Japanese food this is the place to go. Will be eating here again and again. Plus the cocktail bar upstairs was delightful.

Helpful?
4 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex U.K
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Thank you!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Had a super evening on Friday night, eight of us celebrating my sons 30th birthday & his girlfriends. The food was excellent as was the service. For starters (to name a few) we had Tempura, Sirloin Steak Skewers, I had the Sushi & Sashimi (excellent). For mains we had Salmon Teriyaki, Gyu Wafu Teri (steak), Chilli Beef Noodles, Yakisoba (delicious), with lots of Sake! I found the portions to be good value for money, all food served was fresh and beautifully presented. Chris was an excellent host and made our evening most enjoyable, nothing was too much trouble. Followed by ice cream and a cheesecake each, with candles, for the birthday pair! Will definitely return (promise to be quieter next time).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 0Fay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice fresh and flavorful...”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely fresh ingredients. Spicy grilled tuna skewer not to be missed. Service a bit brusque, but overall definitely worth a visit. Very thoughtful food that was beautifully presented...

Helpful?
2 Thank Epl222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Best Japanese Restaurant We've Been Too”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We loved our meal here. The Teriyaki Beef and Sushimi Bento boxes were delicious. The sun was shining and we were able to enjoy our meal outside and take in the surroundings. The owner was really welcoming and friendly and we were delighted to hear he had gone to university in our home town of Bangor! If you want to indulge try the fried ice cream dessert - it's exquisite!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MangoLycheeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oki-Nami Japanese Restaurant & Cocktail Bar also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Oki-Nami Japanese Restaurant & Cocktail Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing