We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab Cocktails” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pitcher & Piano - Brighton

Pitcher & Piano - Brighton
Ranked #249 of 1,098 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$22
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We pride ourselves on great drinks, great food and great service. Come visit us down on the seafront!
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fab Cocktails”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I was recommended to come to the Pitcher and Piano for cocktails. Good recommendation! The cocktails are lovely. We went on a busy Saturday afternoon just after lunch. The staff were attentive and gave good recommendations for us to try. The seating is very comfortable. Only downside was the loo's they were a little bit on the disgusting side, goodness knows what they would be like on a Saturday evening.

Will be back to try the cocktails we missed!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slummymummyto3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Brown_87, General Manager at Pitcher & Piano - Brighton, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted to hear you had such a fantastic time!

Customer service and standards are always at the forefront of our minds and its great to hear are staff did not dissappoint.

We apologies for our loo's on this occasion we do try to keep them fit for a queen at all times and will focus more on this aspect of our business going forward.

Kind Regards

Pitcher & Piano Brighton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    63
    23
    15
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“terrible staff & they desperately need DJ's but good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

very fair prices throughout here for such a great location, lots of effort put into many deals and discounts available that make you feel special, they desperately need commercial DJs in here though and nicer well trained staff would really make this perfect

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank danny b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Brown_87, General Manager at Pitcher & Piano - Brighton, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your review on your recent visit to us.

We appreciate your kind words regarding our promotions, we always try to do our best to offer fantastic value for money for loyal and new customers alike.

We are sorry to hear you did not find our staff as welcoming, knowledgable and efficient on this occassion. We pride ourselves on our service standards and will strive to do better in the future.

We currently employ DJ's to take the reins of our music selection every Saturday and bank holiday Sunday.

Again thank you for taking the time to review our venue, your comments are invaluable to helping us to provide the best experience possible for our guests.

Kind Regards

Pitcher & Piano Brighton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Poor Service, Terrible Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I visited Brighton over the weekend with my partner and another couple. The weather was beautiful so understandably it was extremely busy. We found the pitcher and piano after finding a couple of other places nearby were just too busy. We also expected this to be a safe bet due to being such a popular chain pub which we were fond of back home in Derby.

It was explained to us that there would be a wait due to the busy-ness which is more than expected. However we were there for almost three hours and throughout the meal received really poor service. When we asked for simple things such as more drinks they looked at us completely gone out before telling us to go to the bar to order. After waiting well over an hour we asked how long the food would be, by this point the pub was emptying out, the waitress (with the same careless attitude) said she would find out... but never returned. We watched people around us come, order food, eat their food and leave. I've a feeling our order had been forgotten however this was not explained to us.

When the food did eventually come a good hour and a half after ordering (without an apology) we had to ask for our own cutlery, again made to feel as though we'd asked the world. We asked the waitress for some salt and mayonnaise, after waiting five minutes we found our own salt, only to be given mayonnaise later after we had eaten the majority of our meal.

The actual quality of the food in general was mediocre, which did not reflect the price we were expected to pay. My friend had ordered fish and chips however the fish even visibly looked very chewy and dry, and he could not eat it.

We asked to speak to a manager and explained the service we received, he did apologise and offer 50% off the bill price (which should have been a ridiculous over £80). Unfortunately even then he was also unable to fulfil that properly as it didn't work on the till alongside a deal we had used on the starters. We therefore had to forfeit the deal to receive the discount (which still left the bill at over £50).

We left the restaurant very dissatisfied, and felt we had wasted time we could have very much enjoyed elsewhere. I would not recommend anyone visit that place, especially on a busy day. Such a let down for such a popular chain!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iamkingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Brown_87, General Manager at Pitcher & Piano - Brighton, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedvack here on tripadvisor.

We hold ourselves to high standards in both food and service quality and it is usually our staff that shine in the reviews we receive. Therefore we are extremely dissappointed to hear we have fallen short of that mark on this occassion.

We pride ourselves in representing Pitcher & Piano in a friendly, efficient and tasty manner. Therefore we would love the oppurtunity to invite you back to allow us the chance to prove to you that the shortcomings of your recent visit are very much the exception and not the rule.

If you would like to accept please get in touch with us at brighton@pitcherandpiano.com or 01273 749 780.

Kind Regards

Pitcher & Piano Brighton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Have never met such friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Reserved an area for a hen do and also had a few peculiar requirements but the staff went way beyond my expectations and were extremely accommodating. I can't thank them enough for all their help (particularly hiding Wally) and would recommend to anybody going to Brighton with a group. Thanks again Pitcher and Piano Brighton!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amybristolBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Brown_87, General Manager at Pitcher & Piano - Brighton, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hi,

You are more than welcome, we aim to please!

And thank you for your trip advisor review and your kind words about our team, rest assured your compliments will be passed on to them.

We are delighted to hear we were able to make the hen party was such a success! We secretly had a lot of fun hiding Wally for you!

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Pitcher & Piano Brighton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good meeting place but toilets need sorting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Out for a few drinks, plenty of hen do activity and reasonably busy but bar service was fairly speedy so no problems.
Only down side was standard of the toilets, one toilet seat broken and neither cubicle could be locked so best to whistle if you don't want to be disturbed mid dump.
Such basic jobs should be dealt with before opening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indytv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Brown_87, General Manager at Pitcher & Piano - Brighton, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time out to review our venue on trip advisor, your comments are both appreciate and important to us.

It is great to hear that service was effiecient an that generally for experience was a good one!

We wholeheartedly apologise for the disrepair of our toilets on your visit, unfortunately the bank holiday weekend took their toll. You will be pleased however to learn our toilets have been repaired and are once again fit for a king.

Kind Regards

Pitcher & Piano Brighton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pitcher & Piano - Brighton also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Pitcher & Piano - Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing