We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb tapas”
Review of Casa Don Carlos

Casa Don Carlos
Ranked #33 of 1,133 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$55
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb tapas”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Don't be fooled by the simple looking Spanish restaurant in the lanes. The staff is very friendly and they have a large selection of different Tapas plates. We were recommended to order 5-6 plates per person and they were right. God size portions and excellent food. We were especially happy for the garlic pawns. The best we ever had and we will definitely return next time we are in Brighton

Helpful?
Thank Rambuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    783
    266
    77
    49
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“always great”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I have been visiting Casa Don Carlos for the past 20 years and it is always good, constant excellence, variety, service and surroundings. It is the best freshly cooked tapas here or in Spain.
You must book or be disappointed as always busy even at 6pm when they open for the evening. Great keep up the good work.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShayneJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent tapas”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

So good we ate there twice. The portions are large for tapas standards. Yes the tables are close together and its busy but the food is good so we didn't mind. The service was a bit erratic but if you eat in Spain you will be used to it. Would eat there again if we return to Brighton.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doghouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We last visited this restaurant a few years ago and were pleased to see that the food is as tasty as ever. The portions are very generous so 5 dishes between 2 of us was excessive, It has that family restaurant feel, which is commendable. As another reviewer has pointed out, the tables are close together but no worse that a lot of restaurants in the same price bracket

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JillyPEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“would not recommend”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We went as a group of 8 to celebrate my brothers birthday and didn't like that we got shoved at the back of the restaurant in the corner on very small tables! It also needed the lights dimmed and maybe candle light but instead it was very bright with plastic table tops.

The whole time, not one member of staff smiled. The man who served us appeared annoyed if we asked him a question and came across very rude and moody. Even when we paid the bill not even a smile and a thank you. (they definitively didn't deserve the 10% service charge already included in the bill).

We felt very rushed to make a decision on our food choice and when food came out it didn't all come out at the same time. It took 10minutes to all eventually come out so we never knew if we should start eating. They also slopped the plates down with no care what so ever for your personal space or your drinks. We also had to remind them of a few dishes that they had forgotten.

The food was mediocre nothing we tried (we had about 20 dishes) was overly exciting or tasty.

As a tapas restaurant we were expecting a lively, authentic Spanish evening, however at Casa Don Carlos this clearly wasn't their priority and just wanted us in and out as quickly as possible.

I would not recommend going here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Don Carlos also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Casa Don Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing