We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best restaurant in Brighton” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terre a Terre

Terre a Terre
Ranked #26 of 1,098 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$32 - US$37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Brighton's critically acclaimed Terre a Terre is a vegetarian restaurant that will have even the most ardent carnivore waxing lyrical. Situated close to the sea-front. The decor is chic and stylish, using wooden floors and furniture to contrast with vibrant colours. But here the food is the centrepiece: dhal basmati buns with coconut curry leaf chatni, better Batter and Lemony Yemeni Relish and Thai aubergine jungle curry are just a few of the exotic and imaginative dishes you can find here. To complement the food, a large selection of organic beers, ciders and wines are available. A three course meal here costs an average of £30 per person. A refreshing take on vegetarian cuisine.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Brighton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

innovative & delicious meat-free food beautifully served. The terre a tapas always delights and is regularly changed so you never get bored. Wonderful!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Blondontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerreaTerre, Guest Relations Manager at Terre a Terre, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for the kind words about us. I am so glad you enjoyed. The Terre a Tapas dish is a great dish to get an overview of all we offer, and we make sure it changes all the time! We have a fabulous team (kitchen and floor) a great asset to us - I will make sure to pass all the compliments on to them. Hope to see you again very soon. Terre a Terre Team x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,039 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,402
    383
    145
    67
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic vegetarian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

What a wonderful discovery this restaurant was. I have truly never had such wonderful vegetarian food. Combinations were exciting and it was all displayed beautifully. Quite out of the ordinary. The staff was very friendly. Wine is also ecological and tasted very well. After dinner we even bought their cook book. Nice touch is that they also ask a 1 pound donation for the homeless and how can you refuse after such a nice meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PeetjeJ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerreaTerre, Guest Relations Manager at Terre a Terre, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
So glad you enjoyed, thank you for the kind words about us. We have a wonderful and enthusiastic team that deliver wonderful creative food and the best service - I will make sure to pass all the compliments on to them. Enjoy our cook book, do let us know how you get on with some of the recipes. Hope to see you again very soon. Terre a Terre Team x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average food, poor service won't go back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

The service was ok, staff polite but we sat down and no one asked us if we wanted drinks. A waitress took our food order and then our drinks. Five minutes later our starter arrived, felt rushed, but we hadn't yet received our drinks. It wasn't that the drinks were slow it was that the starter was too quick. My husband's main course was ok but a bit bland, his pudding however was delicious. My main course wasn't good. It's taste texture and appearance was far from appealing. After the initial food order, no one asked us if we wanted more drinks.
It was a birthday dinner, it came recommended but we were disappointed and felt it slightly over-priced. A shame.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GrumandJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerreaTerre, Public Relations Manager at Terre a Terre, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback. This does not sound at all like our service standards, please get in touch with further details so that we can somehow amend – kindest regards, Olivia (shop@terreaterre.co.uk)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Food and service good but too expensive ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

I do understand about overheads - rent/rates/staffing, organic, etc., but the fact is that vegetarian ingredients are less costly than meat or fish and this should always be reflected in the pricing. 'Terre a Terre' is a highly regarded, award winning vegetarian restaurant - and those plaudits are largely well deserved except in one crucial area: value for money. When a set menu meal for two comes to - with bog standard wine and service - around £80, you begin to think more carefully about your dining experience. The food is good - if a bit too tricksy and whimsical and a bit 1980s 'nouvelle cuisine (small portions) - and their menu descriptions tend to be overwritten and confusing. The restaurant itself is pretty dull - appalling acoustics, tables crammed too closely together, uncomfortable heating blasting at you and with nasty, varnished tables that one would expect to find in Costa. And paper napkins when - at these prices - they should be linen. The service is friendly and reasonably efficient. But the pricing really needs revisiting. To charge £14.95 for a carafe (not bottle) of Romanian red wine is, frankly, taking it too far. As I said, I understand about overheads but, taking the whole experience into consideration, you come away feeling that the pricing is really just about greed and unreasonable profit rather than cost and you are left with the feeling that you have slightly been fleeced - to the point at which I know I would never return, even though I enjoyed the food. They need to watch this since those negative thoughts may cancel out all the positive reviews and awards ....

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank umbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerreaTerre, Public Relations Manager at Terre a Terre, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Terre a Terre is a relaxed dining experience, offering choice for all its customers. We offer special discounted menus, Terre a Verre Menu - £39.95 for two guests, set menu options to increase accessibility. Customers can enjoy a light bite, quick lunch or a more indulgent experience. The vast ingredients and the time that goes into every dish is representative in the price, we have a large team of chefs (up to 8 each service) that work hard to deliver the standard of food our customers have come to expect and we strive to deliver. We do not take part in compare and contrast games but it would be uninformed to believe that our produce and production costs would be in anyway cheaper than any other respected restaurant. I am sorry that your positive food and service experience was upset by this factor, I can assure you if we could charge less we would, we have only increased prices by a small percentage over the last 3 yrs for this very reason. We would love to see you return and are more than happy to discuss further should you wish. Kindest regards Olivia - email shop@terreaterre.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Deff. recommend this place :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Everything well presented, service was sharp and friendly and food above all was great.

We tried the Rosti and to me it just looked like simple food presented really nice, and i expected it to taste average but oh my I was wrong. The flavors all came together nicely and it was really very nice.

We tried the 'Oolong has this been going on (gfo)' pudding and that didn't fail to amaze either so all in all an expensive but delicious night!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jayvss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerreaTerre, Public Relations Manager at Terre a Terre, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for the kind words about us. I am so glad you have enjoyed again and again. We have a fabulous team (kitchen and floor) a great asset to us - I will make sure to pass all the compliments on to them. Hope to see you again very soon.
Terre a Terre Team x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Terre a Terre also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Terre a Terre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing