We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“North African gem”
Review of Mascara

Mascara
Ranked #73 of 1,140 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$24 - US$33
Cuisines: African
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Brighton
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“North African gem”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived to the time we left everything at Mascara was perfect. The restaurant is richly decorated in a North African/ Moroccan style with music in a simerlar vein coming from the sound system. We had a starter of 3 dips with flat bread followed by lamb shank tagine complete with chick peas and various fruits and duck tagine with prunes, pear, sultanas in a rich sauce, this was accompanied by spicy potatoes and some cous cous. Washed down with a very good bottle of house red, this was a meal to savour. We shared a plate of baklava with some of the richest vanilla ice cream I've ever eaten! Mint teas followed and the end of a perfect night. Fabulous food, attentive service and a bill that won't bankrupt you ( you can of course BYO to save some money) well done Haroun and staff, we'll be back!

Helpful?
Thank StefanoBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    67
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

On entering, you are greeted with the smell of burning incense. The ceiling is tastefully concealed with cloth to give the appearance of a tent. And I love the copper-topped tables. The food was nothing special, but great value and good honest regional cuisine.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank akhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Not had better in Morocco”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

There is a rash of North African - Middle Eastern restaurants by the Brighton/Hove border.
This is the one to go to, been there a long time and has a great reputation
My wife and I love Moroccan food and took my Brother and his wife out for dinner. We found our favourite things and they discovered new dishes. They have a note letting you bring your own bottle. Don't do it, the wine list is great especially the reds from Morocco.
Even paying higher prices at places in Morocco we have not had better.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“ALL ROUND BRILLIANT RESTAURANT”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

I regularly dine here due to the fact of always having an amazing experience from all aspects - the food, service and decor all live up to expectation.

The staff and especially the manager are friendly, welcoming and very attentive, making you feel like more of a guest than a customer.

I have enjoyed every night I have had here with my partner, including my birthday which was one to remember thanks to the manger and his extra special dance moves ;)

Thanks mascara, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Helpful?
1 Thank Bman0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We randomly stepped in here after a play as it looked cozy. The decor is very authentic and makes you feel a thousand miles away from Brighton. The staff were really friendly and the food was amazing. The music was very loud but we liked it after a few glasses of wine on a Friday night, at one point people got up and danced which was really fun! Would definitely recommend :-)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catpunx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mascara also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Mascara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing