We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value Sunday brunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro du Vin

Bistro du Vin
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro du Vin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #258 of 1,113 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: US$45 - US$58
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Hotel du Vin Bistro in Brighton is just off the seafront and five minutes from the madly inspiring shops in The Lanes, but who would want to leave? Set in a collection of gothic and Tudor revival buildings built by, so apt, a wine merchant, the hotel has the trademark stylish, witty, super comfortable d��cor that has won the group so many awards. The restaurant is elegant and relaxed and usually full, offering a menu rooted in classic European cuisine with a contemporary edge. The simple classics change seasonally, augmented by head chef Rob Carr���s own creations each day. The extensive, eclectic wine list is central to the hotel, with a great number of choices by the glass.
Hove - UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good value Sunday brunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Had the Sunday brunch to celebrate a Birthday - booked into the Pub du Vin as restaurant full and given a private dining room which was a nice touch. The brunch is good value for 4 courses and most of it good quality - but the soup was pretty poor, watery and pretty tasteless. Service was very nice and would try it again but would book the restaurant as the pub did not have much atmosphere.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank hoveharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    286
    180
    108
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat and drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

The staff couldn't have been more helpful. They seated the seven of us at short notice and were attentive throughout the evening without being intrusive. Having been to the Hotel Du Vin, I found the Pub to have a more relaxed atmosphere. The food was pleasant enough and is priced as you would expect for a city gastro pub. I'd certainly return even if just drinking.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Another fabulous dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We keep coming back for more!
The hotel du Vin Bistro offers wonderful food and as one would expect exceptional wine.
I've never had a fault with this bistro. The staff are very helpful and accommodating, my partner had a dirty glass and they were besides themselves and apologised several times.
If I had to make a negative comment, all I could think of would be that the ladies toilet needs a slight overhaul, but I didn't go there to critique their 'facilities' so bother me in the slightest.
I will always return to Brighton to dine here.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Medina76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really quite average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We dined on a Saturday night, so we were expecting it to be busy. There was a very lively atmosphere and the room is attractive - it was noisy but not overpowering and the tables are reasonably spaced. Service was slow and not all that competent. Automatically asked whether we wanted still or sparkling water without offering tap, and one waiter tried to pour the whole bottle of wine before we'd got any food. The food is mixed - steak was OK, bouillabaisse less so - and not good value for about £45 a head. Side dishes are pushed but aren't needed. I'd rather have gone to Côte...

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank banana12London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great club sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Looking for a late lunch we stumbled across the pub having thought the hotel was a bit formal. We sat in the window watching the people of Brighton walk past as we ate some of the best club sandwiches we've seen in a long time. The service was a bit slow but there was plenty to see outside and the food was worth the wait.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hisotherhalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro du Vin also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Bistro du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing