We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best indian food in brighton!”
Review of The Greys Pub

The Greys Pub
Ranked #437 of 1,165 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: US$4 - US$20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: One of the cosiest, liveliest little pubs in Brighton. With 30 years of music and performance history, the new owners Ben & Chris are pleased to continue the tradition! And with a new kitchen now at full throttle, the return to great food is here too - whats not to love!
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Four of us ate from the new Indian menu on Saturday night and were very impressed with the food and the friendly, charismatic chefs! Great value, authentic and incredibly tasty! Will definitely be returning for a meal in, or takeaway.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Norwcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for The Greys Pub
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

Great bar & staff, excellent food as well ! The beer is great, with a fantastic selection of quality belgian beers. Top notch !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IrishManInBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We visited The Greys today for Sunday lunch. We had pork belly, beef and lamb. As mentioned in previous post the food took a very long time- however I am willing to wait for good food. Unfortunately, the meat in all three cases was tough and difficult to chew. The accompanying veg was A mixed bag. Very good red cabbage and butternut squash, the leeks were cold and the carrots were so hard it was difficult to cut. Overall taste was good- however for 9.95 it doesn't compete with other local pubs which were very much busier than here. Cutlery was inadequate for the meat. Steak knives would much improve things.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macgyver40, Owner at The Greys Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

I'm sorry that your recent dining experience didn't meet with your expectations. We always strive to deliver a consistent and innovative Sunday Roast experience. In the event of an error or inconsistency on our part, I would gladly put my hands up and accept full responsibility. On this occasion however, I could find no substance to support any of the spurious claims made in your review. Unfortunately, you just didn't enjoy the meal in the same way everyone else did, and didn't like waiting. I'm not going to bolster my response by referencing other reviews in the way you did, as it lacks objectivity and isn't creative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Awesome food. Lovely meat, the vegetable sides are particularly good. With such lovely food it can get busy so book if you're Sunday's are time sensitive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I use this pub/restaurant a lot. And went for what is usually the best roast in town. To find the place in semi chaos. It turned out (After a little investigation.) The chef had had a bad day and it reflected on this day's roast. I would say to anyone reading the previous review to not be too hard on them. As this chef can really do the business in the kitchen. And it was definitely a 1 off .
I certainly will be enjoying the great food and fun ambiance of the Grey's ....Well tonight i think!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macgyver40, Owner at The Greys Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for your encouraging words. We do try very hard, sometimes to a very unforgiving audience, and sometimes to some cowardly keyboard warriors. That however is the nature of the beast and we'll continue to do our best and please nearly all of the people all of the time, which is a feat in itself. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Greys Pub also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The Greys Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing