We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh paint smells, friendly service, but a sub par breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marine View Hotel Brighton
Ranked #59 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fresh paint smells, friendly service, but a sub par breakfast.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Had a two night stay here with some friends from uni. We were 5 girls and booked one large family room. The room was very clean and the owner was very nice. The toilet and shower were also clean which is very key to me. All round our stay was very pleasant not even a minutes walk to the seafront. felt for £40 a night it was very reasonable. my only complaint is the full English breakfast is a bit lacking...no mushrooms or hash browns and we only got tomatoes on the second night. but would recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: don't bother paying the extra money for a sea view as the hotel is perpendicular to the seafront...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    76
    27
    11
    27
See reviews for
25
82
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Booked luxurious weekend in a luxury room at the Marine View. Arrived Friday evening left Saturday morning. Absolutely disgusting! Wouldn't let next doors dog stay there! Trading Standards have been informed - you have been warned!!

Room Tip: Not a room at the Marine View - best tip I can give.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 186220Chris60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed in the family room for '5 adults' top floor....firstly this isn't a room sized for 5 adults. The room was dirty, small and non functional. When we arrived the light in the bathroom didn't work so we had to arrange this being changed, the bathroom stank of mould and could very quickly be located everywhere in the bathroom. The shower was another story, this 'bathroom' hasn't been properly fitted more like a sink and toilet thrown into an old wardrobe, the shower had zero pressure and went from freezing cold to burning boiling meaning it to be impossible for you to shower. All in all it's never worth the money thats charged which in our case was £440. The owner is really missing a trick, re-invest into your business, re-kit out the bedrooms and install fully functional bathrooms and it will be worth the money all day long due to the location and character of the house. A real disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

had an absolutely fantastic time here.hotel very clean and very friendly,breakfast superb,probably one of the best places we have stayed...would 100% come back again but next time longer.very close to shops beach pier the lanes and Kemp town ....would have no problem in recommending this hotel......an amazing juke box in the breakfast room....... everybody needs to go to Brighton a very unique destination.. care free attitude..love it....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

we stayed in room 6 for a weekend in June. if you want to spend lots of time in your room, be warned - it's basic and very small. generally the hotel looks tired, but it's a small business so we understand they struggle. it is spotlessly clean though and Richard and Maria are very welcoming. Perfect location just minutes from the sea but the hotel is side on the sea so no real sea views. if you have time-bound daytime plans, bear in mind that there isn't enough space at breakfast so you may need to wait for a table. it didn't bother us though. nice place, perfect position, but still quite pricey for what it is.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dollybuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middx
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

This hotel has a great location .we could see the sea and pier from bedroom window.The room was quite small and had a very small bathroom with shower but it was adequate and very clean.Bed was very comfortable with very fresh linen.We found Richard very helpful and welcoming.Breakfast was good and well presented, no complaints at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvieMiddx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Thank you for a lovely stay. Cosy room very clean. Excellent service. Nice breakfast always on time. Briliant localisation. Very pleased. Will be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
Amsterdam Hotel Brighton
#27 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hamptons Brighton
Hamptons Brighton
#53 of 97 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kelvin
The Kelvin
#55 of 97 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
New Madeira Hotel
New Madeira Hotel
#70 of 97 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guest and the City
Guest and the City
#3 of 97 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Istanbul EV Guest House
Istanbul EV Guest House
#66 of 97 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine View Hotel Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine View Hotel Brighton

Property: Marine View Hotel Brighton
Address: 24 New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marine View Hotel Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marine View Hotel Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing