We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rutland Guest House
Ranked #17 of 47 Hastings B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I stayed for a night and was only allowed to check in at 4pm! This was tiring as I found that travelling 2 1/2 hours all I wanted was to put my bag down and relax until I could meet up with friends at 7pm for a birthday evening. They advertise off street parking ... this is not the case ... it is street parking and if you are lucky you will find a parking place somewhere along the expanse of the beach road! Rooms are lovely although small .. bed was comfortable. The owner was very pleasant but I found the welcome I got from the lady in charge (his wife?) was far from warm and friendly. Breakfast was enjoyable - I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask if the rooms are en suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daytripper60_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2010

Excellent value for such a clean, well run place in a great location. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners and the room was spotless. We could see the sea from our room and Hastings was easily reached on foot or by bus/train. Would recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing stay by the seaside.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jammy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

we stayed at this guest house for three nights on the tail end of a seven week trip in the uk.
The house itself is very nice but the service is atrocious.
We went down for breakfast of the first morning to find that we did not have a table and had to wait quite sometime before they could organise this. The service was shambolic.
We had no hot water on the last morning of our stay.
The room was at the top of the house which meant going up four flights of stairs, no lift. We are not young and found this to be very difficult.
The room was an attic room which meant that we had to keep bending our heads in half of it. It was also directly opposite the kitchen of the flat next door and I opened the curtains to see a naked woman standing at her sink. The light from this flat kept on going on and off all night and the curtains were too thin to be of much use. The occupants of the flat also had an all nigh party one night so sleeping was impossible.
The location was too far out of the town, (we were under the impression it was in the centre of Hastings), so we had to taxi into town each night to eat.
Basicaly they had no idea that their standard of service was not up to scratch and they were not really all that welcoming. We can put up with a lot if the hosts are friendly but this was not the case.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank lekatSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Everything we needed,it was a pleasure to stay here and would do so again

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a_byrne36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

We spent 3 nights here in the top floor family room (double bed + 2 single beds). The room was a good size, sunny and had a lovely view, over a park, of the sea. It was very clean and well-maintained - just as the rest of the house. There was also a small fridge in the room which was very handy. One minor point for improvement is that the TV was very small. Breakfast was very good and the proprietors friendly and helpful. Free parking is available on Grosvenor road - although it can get full but then there is plenty of parking 100m away on the other side of the park along the seafront.
We would definitely recommend this Guesthouse and will no doubt stay here if we visit the area again.
Our tip for a restaurant is the White Hart in Catsfield which is about 20 min drive away and well worth the trip (along nice country roads) - Great ambience, service and food.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZARDelft_Netherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2009

Needed a quick overnight stay and found this guest house to have rooms. Very pleasant couple, nothing too much bother. Rooms were fine and to a high standard for a B&B/Guest House

Free wifi, just asked them for the code

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazmincleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We stayed at the Rutland overnight, myself the wife and our son (12).
Parking was easy and free. we stayed in Room 9, a family room with sea view. Tastefully decorated, clean fresh and very comfortable.
The room just felt very homely. The hosts were very welcoming and friendly.

Breakfast was absolutley fantastic, cooked to perfection and very tasty.

I would recommend this guest house to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
0.6 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
884 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#8 of 11 in Hastings
309 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Cooden Beach Hotel
The Cooden Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bexhill-on-Sea
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Old Town Guesthouse
The Old Town Guesthouse
#9 of 47 in Hastings
158 reviews
1 mi away
Hastings House
Hastings House
#4 of 47 in Hastings
848 reviews
0 mi away
Sherwood Guest House
Sherwood Guest House
#41 of 47 in Hastings
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland Guest House

Address: 17 Grosvenor Crescent, Hastings TN38 0AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range: £63 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rutland Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to our bed & breakfast. Rutland is a small friendly bed and breakfast with seven rooms, which are tastefully decorated comfortable and spacious. The guest house was built in late Victorian times and still maintains many of its original features including the grand staircase. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Rutland Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing