We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Welcoming clean, tidy and comfortable ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rutland Guest House
Ranked #18 of 46 Hastings B&B and Inns
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Welcoming clean, tidy and comfortable ”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights with work and could not fault it, room was nice and airy, Very clean and spacious. The couple that ran the place are lovely and make you feel welcome and there is nothing they won't do. I would recommend this place to anybody.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gaz1089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    20
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
21
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Under fairly new management, this B&B has very comfortable rooms, and the location is convenient for exploring Hastings (about 15 minutes gentle walk away). There's the usual problem with B&B's along this coast, i.e. parking's a bit of a lottery. It's free, but availability of spaces is not that brilliant. Beds are deliciously comfortable, ensuite shower rooms are pretty good (and in line for upgrading!), the breakfast was excellent. Definitely a good B&B for overnighting in the Hastings area.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are right on the busy road. Late-night noise is moderate (to city-dwellers!) b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyree13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Found this little gem on laterooms.com after our original accommodation had let us down. The owners were fab in letting us book in earlier than normal,and we had a great size room that looked directly out to the sea. Comfortable beds,and all you need supplied. Bathroom was more than adequate for our needs,and breakfast was great too - never been to a place where they had more than just a veggie sausage as an alternative to the usual cooked breakfast. All in,a very warm,and welcoming place,in a great location for walks along the seafront,or into the old town(about 20/30 mins walk). Great pub in Bo Peep just around the corner,which was very friendly too. Enjoyed this stay so much that we've already booked a return visit :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nickijkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Great spot on the sea front, bed comfy, room clean, room refreshments just about adequate, bathroom shower weak, toilet flush noisy and rather smelly, bathroom soaps basic Room cold. Noisy room at front of house with traffic all night. No sitting room, One arm chair in the room. the carpet on the stairs and hall was dirty. Not boutique standard, but a basic bed and breakfast. 4 stars, really? I would give it 2, only because I have stayed in much nicer 4 * establishments and this doesn't compare.

Room Tip: The front of house is noisy so choose a room at the back. However, I have no idea what these are lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmosthenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Spent weekend here and was warmly welcomed into this family run Guest House.Immacutely clean rooms, comfy beds, (although a little noisey from the traffic outside)slept very well.Our
daughter came with us with her 1yr old son and was catered for very well withy travel cot,high chair,baby friendly tableware items and even a couple of little books to keep him amused at breakfast.Made to feel very welcome and would go back again and would reccomend, The position was excellent just across from the sea.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheils53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

nice sea view, attentive hosts. Swell Breakfast with all the trimmings. Near to a good down to earth pub the BO PEEP. We liked it there didn't we, yeah! Would stay again good value for money. Bed comfy, kids beds lovely good modern decor.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank nickinvents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Having not stayed in a Guest House for many years and having had previous bad experiences, I was a little apprehensive at first. The owners are lovely and really try to please. The rooms were cleaned every day and had everything you needed for a pleasant stay. Breakfast was hot and plentiful and nothing was too much trouble. I would recommend this as a great place to stay, we liked the fact that it was away from the hustle and bustle of Hastings which is a good thirty minute walk away. The only downside to the establishment was the lack of a public lounge and plastic cups in the bathroom, glasses are much better. However, the real friendliness of the hosts was the key here. Many thanks to them both.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheshiregillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
1.1 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
1.1 mi away
The Cloudesley
The Cloudesley
#6 of 46 in Hastings
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sherwood Guest House
Sherwood Guest House
#39 of 46 in Hastings
48 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hastings House
Hastings House
#4 of 46 in Hastings
816 reviews
1.6 mi away
Senlac Guest House
Senlac Guest House
#19 of 46 in Hastings
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutland Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland Guest House

Property: Rutland Guest House
Address: 17 Grosvenor Crescent, Hastings TN38 0AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rutland Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rutland Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing