We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less a B&B more like a Boutique Hotel”
Review of Black Rock House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Black Rock House
Ranked #15 of 47 Hastings B&B and Inns
Normandy and London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Less a B&B more like a Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Yuliya and her team, took over at the Black Rock House B&B two months ago, the previous owners had received rave reviews and I am in no doubt Yuliya will always have them too.
I arrived on Saturday the 28th and stayed for two nights, like everyone else has stated, the owner is welcoming, very friendly and extremely helpful, from the welcoming afternoon tea to checkout, nothing is too much trouble. The property is immaculate, the bed very comfortable, breakfast excellent and you leave feeling totally relaxed.
I was in Hastings for a big birthday party and as I don't know the area very well, Yuliya arranged for a taxi to collect me from the B&B and bring me home. I had forgotten my comb and hairbrush at home, when I got back from the party Yuliya had left a new comb next to my bed.
The service at this establishment really is outstanding, it should be used as the benchmark for for how the hospitality industry should be, but usually isn't. I regularly travel all over the world, how refreshing to find such a gem in the UK. I would certainly go back with my family.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    6
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
152
9
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Etten-Leur, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Last weekend we stayed in this excellent B&B for one night with our family of four – two adults and two teenagers. Although it was only possible to book for two days at weekends, they we're very kind to make an exception for us, on our way back to Holland after three weeks of holiday in England and Wales. Because we didn't use a credit card, we didn't have to pay before we arrived. Black Rock House is situated in a very calm street and just a little walk to the centre of Hastings Old Town and the sea. The walk back from the centre is rather steep, so not very wheelchair-friendly. A tidy family room with beautiful bathroom ensuite and two separate chambers with both clean double beds, althought the second was in a small room and the bed was a bit small as well. Warm water enough to shower all the four of us. And that's quite rare. Absolute one of the best traditional breakfasts we've ever had and the pancakes were home made! We give them a sixth star!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JerzyfromHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I have just spent 6 nights in this wonderful B&B and cannot recommend it highly enough. I agree with all the recent reviews. The owner is welcoming, friendly, and helpful. The B&B is comfortable, beautifully decorated and furnished. The breakfasts are superb- they really are special. This is a great base to stay and explore Hastings and the surrounding area. Set above the town in a quiet residential area away from the noise of the seafront (but only a 10 minute walk away), and close to the station.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjjaegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

From the minute we arrived on Friday 20th July to when we left on Sunday 22nd we were made to feel very welcome at Black Rock House. The owner was very friendly as were the rest of the team. The breakfast was amazing, one of the best we've had in a B&B. The only slight down side was the curtains in our room not blocking enough sun light which meant we were awake at 6.30am both mornings but that's hardly worth a mention!! If you're looking for somewhere to stay in Hastings you MUST stay here!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the turret room which was bright and roomy. It had a lovely view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Black Rock House is an unexpected gem in Hastings. Situated on a quiet residential street close to Hastings station, it has views of the sea and is well placed for visiting the town centre. The staff are friendly and very professional. We were charmed by a gift box of chocolates in our room to mark our anniversary. Our turret room was very well appointed and the bathroom was large and luxurious. Breakfast was superb.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uglboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

What a little gem, we had a fantastic stay. The Black Rock House is a beautiful Victorian property that has been tastefully converted into a hotel, whilst still retaining many period features. We booked 2 rooms, one for us and one for our daughter and her husband as we were going to our sons wedding. We were greeted with a really warm welcome which included tea, coffee, cakes and biscuits. The rooms are quite large and contain everything you need for a really comfortable stay. There are tea and coffee making facilities including complimentary biscuits, organic tea and fair trade ground coffee, plus jugs of fresh water on each bedside table. There is a fridge which includes a jug of fresh milk. There's a clock radio including I-pod dock, a flat screen TV and DVD player. There's also a large selection of DVD's on the landing area, just help youself for a quite evening relaxing in front of the telly. A steam iron and ironing board plus a safe can be found in the wardrobe (which includes ample hangers). The shower was excellant as was the rest of the bathroom, which included high quality fittings. The bath robes were really soft and felt luxurious and each day we were supplied with fresh flannels. The rooms have really comfortable beds with good quality crisp white linen, we slept really well. There's a dressing table and good size chest of drawers plus two bed side tables all in matching oak. The room had large sash cord windows with views out to sea, the sun flooded in giving a light and airy feel. The breakfast's were to die for, the traditional English breakfast included delicious sausages and fried vine tomatoes. We also had smoked haddock with poached eggs and halloumi, vine tomatoes and potato bread. There's an honesty bar in the dining room, including beers, spirits, ice and glasses, just write down what you've used and they add it to the bill, how refreshingly trusting. Theres no dedicated carpark, however, you are supplied with parking vouchers and there is ample on street parking directly outside the hotel. We were always able to get parked easily. It's a relatatively short walk into Hastings, all downhill (quite steep). A taxi back to the hotel from Hastings Old Town cost £5. We would definately recommend this hotel and will be back in the near future. Thanks Yuliya and your wonderfull team for a really relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The rooms with a sea view are particularly good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hub_Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This is a great hotel to stay in whether it be for business or pleasure, i made a last minute booking and was made to feel very welcome. The service at the hotel is brilliant, the hotel itself is modern, comfortable and the rooms are great. The beds are very comfortable and i had a great nights sleep. I would definately recommend the hotel to anyone and if i am in the area again i will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_Edgehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.7 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
1.1 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
0.4 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hastings House
Hastings House
#4 of 47 in Hastings
820 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Cloudesley
The Cloudesley
#5 of 47 in Hastings
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Number 46
Number 46
#6 of 47 in Hastings
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Rock House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Rock House

Property: Black Rock House
Address: 10 Stanley Road, Hastings TN34 1UE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Black Rock House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Rock House is a luxury Bed and Breakfast offering boutique accommodation in the heart of Hasting on the Sussex Coast, close to historic Battle and Rye. Black Rock House B&B Hastings is a beautifully restored Victorian villa with sea views centrally located within a few minutes of the beach, town centre, and Hastings Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Black Rock House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Rock House Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing