We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Black Rock House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Black Rock House
Ranked #15 of 47 Hastings B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Unfortunately our experience was not as good as expected. It was a stuffy room as one sash window did not open at all but we managed to prop open the other one with our wastepaper bin as it kept falling down until a solution of a door stop was found to prop it open more securely. Also our shower water did not drain away so we could not have a decent shower. However the cooked breakfast was good although the selection of fresh fruits was very ordinary. After 6 pm the car can be left in the road outside of the hotel without a permit which was helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jane662014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Everything was first rate, from the post booking email offering advice about restaurants , to the beautifully designed room, the luxury linens and the most delicious of breakfasts. It really is an ideal small boutique B&B in the real sense, not in the put a throw on the bed and call it a boutique sense! I loved everything about it apart from the location, Hastings needs more places like this and less tat to make it a destination I'd want to return to. If this was in somewher like Lyme Regis a) you'd never get a booking and b) they could charge silly money.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front which had a distant sea view. It was full of natural light and very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shantam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I was very sceptical about Black Rock House before staying there because I wasn't really sure it was possible to cross a seaside B&B with a boutique hotel but I have to say they manage the trick with some style. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful without being intrusive and our whole stay had a distinctly unrushed feel which made it perfect for a weekend getaway.

Accommodation wise our bedroom had a comfortable king size bed and there was lovely ground coffee and biscotti waiting for us on arrival along with a Lindt chocolate bunny to mark the easter break. The bathroom was bright and spacious with an excellent power shower and pristine white robes to change into.

Black Rock House is an easy walk into Hastings Central (try the crazy golf!) and an easy drive to nearby spots like Battle and Rye. A parking permit is provided on arrival so if you are considering giving this a try I really would not hesitate.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Good location; very helpful but unobtrusive staff; things happened without you knowing. Excellent breakfasts. Super clean rooms with great facilities. Good parking & help with permits. Very quiet and private. What's not to like?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed here for two nights and it really couldn't have been more charming. Staff were welcoming when we arrived. The quality and decoration throughout made it a real pleasure to spend time in the hotel and our bathroom was excellent. The staff go out of their way to include little touches to make your stay charming, such as a surprise Easter egg, umbrellas available to borrow, comfy robes etc. The breakfasts were delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leameanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Just spent two nights at Black Rock House and had a fabulous stay. On arrival we were offered a drink to welcome us and then shown to our room which was very well decorated and clean. The bathroom was huge! Yuliya was extremely helpful and went out of her way to make our stay as smooth as possible. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast had a great selection. Good location and short walk from the town centre. Highly recommend staying here if you're visiting Hastings.

Room Tip: The turret room has a sea view and a large bathroom with fridge for a bottle of fizz!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Virginia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

This place really IS as good as all the reviews say it is. We stayed here last night and it was so good that I felt compelled to write a review whilst it is still fresh in my mind

The attention to detail is second to none. The whole place is stylishly decorated, and utterly immaculate. The sheets are Egyptian cotton and the towels of exceptional quality. We particularly liked the honesty bar - such a nice touch!
Breakfast was delicious, there was something to suit every palate. I asked for my eggs to be cooked a certain way and they got it absolutely spot on. We even had an email before our arrival to ask us if we had any dietary requirements, which was so thoughtful.
This is an incredibly well run establishment and I don't honestly think I could fault it in any way! Should we go and stay in Hastings in the future, we will DEFINITELY stay here again. Many thanks to Yuliya and her team.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EmmaKS74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
1.1 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
861 reviews
0.7 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.4 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Number 46
Number 46
#6 of 47 in Hastings
193 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hastings House
Hastings House
#4 of 47 in Hastings
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Rock House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Rock House

Address: 10 Stanley Road, Hastings TN34 1UE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range: £113 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Black Rock House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Rock House is a luxury Bed and Breakfast offering boutique accommodation in the heart of Hasting on the Sussex Coast, close to historic Battle and Rye. Black Rock House B&B Hastings is a beautifully restored Victorian villa with sea views centrally located within a few minutes of the beach, town centre, and Hastings Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Black Rock House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Rock House Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing