We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed family meal”
Review of Simply Italian - CLOSED

Simply Italian
Price range: US$5 - US$17
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Set in the old town of hastings open 7 days a week very family friendly and very Italian serving great value food ! Lovely outside area to enjoy alfresco dining and watch the world go by! Ciao and see you soon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxed family meal”
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

As always a lovely evening in Simply Italian Hastings. Excellent food, excellent value for money, great service and lovely atmosphere. The staff are so friendly and helpful. We Always take friends and family for a meal here and it's always enjoyed. Thank you team.

Helpful?
1 Thank sbrt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    48
    41
    15
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Camber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Sunday Afternoon Lunch”
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We would like to thank Tim and everyone at Simply Italian for a delicious lunch yesterday afternoon.
The Food was fresh, cooked to perfection and service superb.
Thank you and we will definitely be back soon xx

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Christmas Party Night”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Enjoyed a great evening last night, plentiful and excellent food, very attentive staff and Manager, great cooks, and an overall lovely atmosphere. There were all ages and the evening was complimented by a Rat Pack Tribute which everyone enjoyed - joining in the singing and dancing the evening away. Thankyou and Merry Christmas to you all.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Christmas Office Party”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My first attempt at organising the dreaded office do - but it went great! The management made it very easy for me and were very flexible with the arrangements and even changed the complimentary bottle of bubbly to a couple of bottles of wine so there was more to go around. 15 of us all ate there last night, the hospitality was great, and most of the plates were licked clean by the end of the evening. I personally thought the food was wonderful and the starters were massive. It was the first time I had eaten there but would not hesitate to go again. Thanks to the staff and management, Merry Christmas.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katrina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Raw food on separate occasions!”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

This place trys to pass off raw pasta as al dente and raw pork as cooked!
Only eat here if you want half cooked pasta to glue your teeth together. Massive rip off and all the food is pre-cookedish (I know because I know where their factory is where they do it, rite by a dirty second hand tyre shop lol).
Could not pay me to go back. Take my advice if you want some Italian food just pop up the road to Italian way.

Helpful?
Thank mynamegotnicked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simplymarc, Owner at Simply Italian, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Hello there! Thanks for your review and will try to respond to it as best as we can without resorting to spiteful and rude comments! Yes we do serve our pasta al dente and sorry that you prefer your overcooked maybe next time mention it. Apologies for the undercooked pork again not sure why you didnt mention at the time. we would have apologised and offered you something on the house as a way to say sorry. So you didn't enjoy your experience so you resort to spiteful comments about my central kitchen which I have to stress is not close to a second hand tyre shop and then you end your review about going to my brothers restaurant the italian way up the road which is in the same family business! If you where trying to harm a hardworking local family business well done for putting people's lively hood at risk! But I'm sure anyone reading your review will see it for what it is just a reflection on the the type of person that sometimes use this medium of review and turned into something quite unreliable! Which is a shame. But anyway thanks for taking the time to review our restaurant and if you prefer the Italian way that's fine by me!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Simply Italian also viewed

Battle, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 
Hastings, East Sussex
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing