We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab service great food”
Review of Simply Italian - CLOSED

Simply Italian
Price range: US$5 - US$17
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Set in the old town of hastings open 7 days a week very family friendly and very Italian serving great value food ! Lovely outside area to enjoy alfresco dining and watch the world go by! Ciao and see you soon
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Came here for lunch with one of my friends last week we sat outside as it was a beautiful day.
outside is a bit tatty but don't be put off (needs a lick of paint)
The service was impeccable we were those awkward customers that wanted to switch things around and generally a bit of a pain in the bottom
But nothing was too much trouble the food was amazing best Italian I've had in a long time!
I highly recommend this restaurant and will be returning with out doubt

Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 149 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

Popped in for a few drinks and nibbles with the family on a gorgeous sunny sat afternoon, working in the trade myself as a chef I rarely get out so my time when I do is valuable to me, my point being worth the visit! All staff very helpful and with a friendly smile, lovely wines and gorgeous warm ciabatta, pizza starter and mozzarella onion garlic bread was just divine! Will be back, keep it up guys

Thank sep1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We turned up at about 2pm and restaurant was very quiet. Building itself is a bit shabby and feels in need of redecoration but don't be fooled; food was superb! Lovely pizzas, fresh salad and good choice for young children. My wife absolutely loved the banoffee!! Service was very friendly and slick and they wee great with my children which will always make me return! Great accolade to see some regulars arriving who we're obviously Italian themselves! Would say give it a try (ignore the ridiculous review earlier on this month from someone who obviously is totally ignorant and uneducated) you won't be sorry!!!!

Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

I have just read the 2nd feb review. After wadding through the bad spelling mistakes i am wondering if they really did eat there. I have eaten many times at simply italian and have never experienced a bad meal. Today was my husbands 60th birthday and after much deliberation he decided he wanted to go out for a meal with friends. 7 of us went to simply italian for dinner. We had the most enjoyable time. My elderly friend has eaten in so many restaurants over the years and can be hard to please stated on the way home how lovely her meal was. The brie starter was to die for. So excellently cooked and the accompliment was delicious. The calamari was shared around as it was so good. My husbands face said it all with the steak he ate. He throughly enjoyed every bite. My pork was delicious and the sauce was superb. Just needed a few more potatoes but that is just me. I love the way they cooked them. Now desserts well. Avoid at all costs if you dont want to put on weight. Heavenly and fattening but scrumpy. The services was excellent. What i like the best was no arguments over the bill. Who eat what and how much was my bill. It was all worked out as we went up one by one.
Now i am wondering are there different chefs and staff on different days. Hence the 2nd febs problem. We all agree it was the best meal we have had in a long time. The staff were exceptional and as Arne said I'll be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank pushkins59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simplymarc, Owner at Simply Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thanks so much for your lovely review means the world to us that you had a great time! We are very proud that you chose us for your Famili celebration and glad it all went well! What can I say apart the previous review! They did come they had a nice time took lots of pics sent a pizza back because they didnt like the taste of goats cheese thought it was off ( never had it before) too cheesy they said! Oh well reviews like that hurts us but not as much as an English teacher reading her review! Aha aha ! You gotta laugh see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

When there for my friends birthday meal this week to Simply Italian, i never knee that some can make food that bad! I had pasta with chicken, mashrrom in white souce, the food wasnt cooked enough,it was tastless, price was too high for the s*it quality food they offer! I can get better frozen quality food at ICELANDS for cheaper price (£2.50) my friend had pizza and she only had 3 slices, she said"there is something wrong with it but the watter disnt do anything about it! There are much better italian restaurants in Hastings woulsnt suggest you to go there!

3  Thank Sintija M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simplymarc, Owner at Simply Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Hello there strange you didn't say that on the night! Anyway to reply to your review.....
You asked for the porcini sauce with chicken... Not on the menu we said we didn't recommend it but you insisted and then didnt like it ok fair enough and then you are spiteful about us and compare us to Iceland mmmm oh well! Then your friend ordered a pizza reale with goats cheese! You then say the cheese s off you then say you never had goats cheese before and is too cheesy!!!?!.?,...,.....,,?..,,, we tried to exchange it you refused! Then you say we didn't try do anything! Why lie why go out of your way to hurt our family business? Please explain? You. Took lots of pics you seemed happy with our staff you even offered your number to one of the waiters and then you write such a review! Yes we are so upset yes we are hurt but not as much as an English teacher reading your review...... Just astonished more and more at people and this wonderful website! Lets see if they post this response! Ciaooooooo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Simply Italian also viewed

Battle, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing