We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it”
Review of Tower House 1066

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tower House 1066
Ranked #32 of 46 Hastings B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We loved it”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed last weekend with my husband. Will most definitely return again. We left feeling totally chilled and looked after. We found Louse and staff to be really friendly and accommodating. Room was clean and well equipped. We really enjoyed the breakfast, hubby enjoyed having biker chats with the chef.

Cheers everyone at the Tower

Alison & John Barclay

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    32
    19
    7
    10
See reviews for
18
61
11
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed for one night. Partner is from St Leonards and for various reasons we needed a room for one night. Location ok - 10-15 min walk from St Leonards Warrior Square station, short car ride into Hastings centre.

'Enjoy England' gives the B&B a 4* rating. As we were concerned it deserved three stars - there is nothing special enough to give it four.

Rung buzzer twice for woman to come and open door (no idea who she was). She opened reception and checked us in. Had she taken us to a room up the staircase which is next to reception, maybe our stay would have been better. Instead, she gave us a ring with four (yes, four) keys on it, and took us through the house, through the conservatory, through the garden and into what had obviously been a garage previously - with an unexplained catflap!

Every time we went out or came in, we had to look and unlock three or four doors and walk through the garden!

Room was bog-standard, bed was comfortable. Cobwebs very obvious, carpets and accessories functional but tired & worn.

Breakfast room and conservatory looked nice - nowhere to get a drink of water though, and no glass in the room. No staff presence at all. Garden itself very pretty.

Overall acceptable but wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 12 - it's the old garage at the side of the house! (You have to go outside to get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summer-berries84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I read lots of good reviews on this 4 star rated hotel before booking. Although there was nothing really very wrong with this place I did not think that it deserved a 4 star. I have stayed in other hotels that are only rated 3 stars which I found better.
When we arrived there was no one to great us, infact our keys had been left in an enveloped pinned to the front door. We were only staying for 2 nights and only saw the owner on the last morning for breakfast as we needed to pay the bill.
The hotel was also advertised as having a bar but this was what was classed as an honesty bar, help your self and make a note of what you had pay later. Definitley not the social experience I was expecting.
The two other things that let it down for us was the breakfast room felt very cramped and we had the 4 poster and the mattres was so hard I did not get much sleep for the 2 nights so left feeling like I needed another holiday. If you like a hard mattress great if not pick another room.

Room Tip: front rooms can be noisy if you need to sleep with the window open as the road is used as a cut thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deemcgrath1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Just came back from a one night stay here and we were very impressed. Proprietor was very welcoming. Rooms were well decorated and equipped and clean. Beds were comfortable and bed linen lovely. Breakfast very good. Altogether very impressed, if we are in Hastings again we will certianally stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This B&B is everything you need for a weekend away or short break. We arrived late on friday night but i phoned in advance to check this would be okay and it was. We had no trouble finding it or walking the short distance from the rail station. The room itself was beautiful, clean and welcoming. The bed was comfortable and the sheets clean. There was also a selection of tea and coffee and a t.v. But we didn't use it.

The en-suite bathroom was down a set of steps almost like a little alcove, which was so charming. There were toiletries and towels available in the bathroom. Our room looked over the stunning views of the garden and was quiet so we slept well.

All in all i think its perfect for a weekend away, within walking distance to everything and has a very friendly atmosphere. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed for one night room for wedding anniversary it was really clean, well decorated very comfortable. Breakfast all freshly prepared, fast efficient service thanks very much!
We visited cinnamon Spice Indian restaurant whilst there fantastic highly recommend, special banquet price Thursday and Sunday.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

we stayed here on the 7th & 8th June. What a lovely clean B&B It couldn't be faulted. The room was lovely.The bed was quite firm but was very comfy.My back was playing up a bit and the bed did it good.
There was a very nice garden to roam round if you wished and a conservatory you could sit in if you didn't want to stay in your room.
The breakfast was superb and if what they gave you wasn't enough(plenty for me) you could have more if you wished. Plenty of warm toast was on offer.
True there were no bath robes in the rooms but you could have them if you asked.
If you decide you don't want to eat out you can order a take away and they will set up a table in the breakfast area for you.There are several takeaway menus in the reception area.You could get it delivered!
Top notch B&B .I would definitely stay again if i was in Hastings.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
1.0 mi away
Senlac Guest House
Senlac Guest House
#20 of 46 in Hastings
275 reviews
1.1 mi away
Town House Rooms
Town House Rooms
#24 of 46 in Hastings
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sea Spirit Guesthouse
The Sea Spirit Guesthouse
#17 of 46 in Hastings
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Millifont Guest House
Millifont Guest House
#41 of 46 in Hastings
91 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sherwood Guest House
Sherwood Guest House
#39 of 46 in Hastings
49 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hastings House
Hastings House
#4 of 46 in Hastings
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower House 1066? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower House 1066

Property: Tower House 1066
Address: 28 Tower Rd West, Hastings TN38 ORG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower House 1066 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower House 1066: when you need to escape your battles. Tower House 1066 provides elegant guest accommodation in St Leonards on sea. We provide a personalized service to make your stay a real home away from home, while giving you the privacy you need to unwind. Bask in the evening sun on the garden terrace or sit in our handmade gazebo in the shade. Sip a drink in our licensed bar, or simply retreat to your comfortable, welcoming bedroom of our St Leonards guest accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tower House 1066 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing