We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Guest House!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Phoenix Guest House
Ranked #12 of 47 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We are regular visitors to the Phoenix due to work commitments. Ed and Victoria, the owners are very friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. The guest house itself is spotlessly clean and furnished to a high standard. Would definately recommend this place if you are visiting the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013

I Stayed at the guest house for 2 nights over Easter and was very happy, I have stayed in many guest houses and I can honestly say it is the best I have stayed in. The rooms are of a very high standard and very clean. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be booking again on our next trip to the coast.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tillymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Great Guest House and lovely people who are running it!
So far I have stayed there twice, checking in at completely different daytimes, very flexible (obviously as long as they get the chance to plan a bit in advance).
Very clean and light rooms with tasteful decorations- they also provide everything you need like a mini fridge, flat screen TV, towels, hairdryer, iron... etc.!
After checking out of my 4 nights stay, they also offered me to look after my luggage so I could have another great last day in Hastings without carrying a bag around with me :)

Overall a lovely Guest House, which is highly recommendable!

Thank you to Victoria and Ed for some really relaxing days at the "Phoenix" in Hastings!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tfreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Brilliant again, Top guest house in the area , clean tidy functoinal and stylish , Basil & Sybil never fail to impress. Just waiting for the in room esspresso machine and you wouldnt need to leave the room......

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobGravy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I was stuck in traffic and running late for check in so thought best to call ahead and confirm my late arrival, the lady on the phone was both helpful and courteous. I arrived 3 hours late at 11pm and was met at the door with a smile, shown to my room which was appointed to a very high standard and immaculately clean. The ensuite bathroom was first rate, with great water pressure on the shower. The bed was very comfy and enabled a good nights sleep.
The guest house is centrally located and close to all town centre amenities, even closer to the train station ( will remember this for my next trip to Hastings)

Overall I was taken aback by the quality and service for a very reasonable price, as a frequent traveler I've experienced the best and worst of UK guest houses and have to rate this as one of the best.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deannamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We have stayed here on a number of occasions and cannot praise the landlady and landlord enough for the quality of their rooms in terms of value, comfort, facilities and cleanliness. They are always courteous and helpful, and anxious to provide you with what you require. They also have an excellent knowledge of the region and are only too willing to help you find your way around. It helps us that we can take our dogs there - mind you, the place is so spotless you would never guess that dogs were allowed!
The Phoenix is situated very close to Hastings station and the town centre and beach are but a short walk away. The historical old town is not far either....
We would recommend this guest house to anyone....and certainly wouldn't stay anywhere else ourselves!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 263DavidJ263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Guest house is located in a grubby street near the station lined with a few other cheap looking bnb's. It is a very long walk to the old town. If you have a room by the road it can be noisy. There is also a ground floor room by the door which will be even noisier. The heating is not on much so the room was cold.

It is decorated OK but the fittings are cheap and won't win any quality design awards. It is more in the style of 60 minute makeover. No breakfast is served so it's just a room only stay. You are allowed to eat in the room but do not spill anything or make any mess or you will be charged extra for cleaning or requested to leave.

The owners are very strict and I found them two faced and unpleasant. Especially the landlady. It is not a fun place to stay and if you are looking for a relaxed fun time in Hastings I would recommend the old town where much more authentic and nicer accommodation can be found along with people who treat guests with respect.

The people in the old town are more bohemian and used to tourists from all walks of life. Staying here felt like we were intruding in someones private house. My house my rules kind of attitude. Avoid.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Codwallice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guesthousehastings, Owner at Phoenix Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

This review has been left by a guest who was asked to pay for a mattress they damaged by wetting the bed as a result of consuming too much alcohol! The guest claimed they wet the bed all the time at home could not understand why the mattress needed replacing. It was explained to them it was unacceptable for them or future guests to sleep on a stained mattress and the mattress would have to be replaced immediately. As the guests were booked in for 2 nights, they were refunded the cost of the second night and relocated to another hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
1.0 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
861 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.1 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#8 of 11 in Hastings
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Number 46
Number 46
#6 of 47 in Hastings
193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Senlac Guest House
Senlac Guest House
#20 of 47 in Hastings
281 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Cloudesley
The Cloudesley
#5 of 47 in Hastings
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Guest House

Address: 41 Cambridge Gardens, Hastings TN34 1EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range: £59 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phoenix Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and affordable guest house located in the heart of Hastings, less than 10 minutes walk from seafront, station and town centre and less than a 15 minute walk from the Old Town. All rooms have ensuite shower/wc, free high speed WiFi, free overnight parking, 20 litre room fridge, refreshment tray, hairdryer and ironing equipment. All rooms are offered on a room only rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phoenix Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing