We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Phoenix Guest House
Ranked #12 of 47 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I live in London but have been working in Hastings Monday-Wednesday for the past six months and have stayed at The Phoenix for 2 nights/week. I think I have stayed in every room and can safely say that they are all absolutely lovely. Spotlessly clean, cosy, warm, really comfy beds, wifi, a fridge, all en-suite bathrooms - extremely good value for money.

Staying at the Phoenix has really made my time in Hastings feel a bit like a holiday rather than work! I cannot thank Victoria and Ed enough. They have been so friendly and helpful - just absolute stars. Please keep doing exactly what you are doing. I have recommended The Phoenix to all my family, friends and colleagues. If I ever find myself back in Hastings I will certainly be staying at The Phoenix.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely - I was never disturbed by noise (even at the front it is quiet).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JennyHorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

We have just returned from a 1 night stay here and it was perfect. On arrival we were greeted by the owners and given info on the area very helpful and friendly,we were shown to our room and it was so clean, was exactly how it looked on website. Comfy bed,spotless bathroom no complaints at all, wish we stayed longer! we would return here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spurschic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My boyfriend and I were looking to escape London and get some fresh sea air. We wanted to keep spend to a minimum and believe we found the perfect place! The room and en suite were spotless and modern, with a very comfortable bed, which was much appreciated after a long, cold, wet day of walking. Victoria the owner text me to check when we were arriving and we got to drop our bags off early before heading on our walk. I thought that was great service and then she took time to show us the best places to visit on a map, which we got to keep, recommending pubs, cafes, restaurants and walking routes. Very helpful!! It is located a few minutes walk from the station, which steered our decision to get the train instead of driving and it's also an easy walking distance to the shops. We only stayed the one night but it was lovely and couldn't have asked for better. Extremely good value for money! Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rhsexton87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We spent 3 weeks in Malaysia and sometimes paid 100 euros for a scruffy pace. Here it is clean, clean, and clean. You have more than you paid. Really don't hesitate to come here. They answer emails! Car parking. And close to the centre! Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I have stayed here on two previous occasions and i am returning for a third visit. The owners are wonderfully accomodating highlighting the main attactions and offering helpful advice (even providing soya milk for my mother in the mini firdge in the bedroom!) the rooms are well appointed , cosy and inviting and it is only a short stroll from both the train station and the 'Old town'. Gorgeous hot shower , tea making facilities and a mini fridge, There are a number of small cafes nearby where one can hae breakfast. We will keep returning for the wonderful hospitality......

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sile H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My first time in B&B style accommodation with bed only. But it is what it says - a guest house with 20+ cafes nearby where you can happily choose what you want for breakfast and when. 2 minutes walk from the train station, a warm welcome, helpful tourist advice, a spotless comfy room, tea and coffee tray in the room, a fan (very handy!) and speedy wi-fi. Prepaid 2 nights. Leave your keys on vacating. EASY. Good price. Top marks deserved

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

my two teenage daughters and I have just spent 4 nights at this guest house and we loved it! we had the top room(s). I booked this after reading other reviews and so glad I did. The place is absolutely immaculate ( I'm a cleaner and can spot a smear of dirt a mile off!) more spacious than I thought it would be, with T.V s and dvd players in both rooms, internet, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, and fridge - as they don't serve breakfast the fridge was perfect. before booking I did wonder if breakfast would be an issue, but decided it would be nice not to have to be up at a certain time to catch breakfast, and there are plenty of good cafes nearby.
the owners are very helpful ( we booked in early) and very nice people. There when you need them but also slip into the background when not needed.( in the nicest possible sense!)
all in all, a lovely place to stay - if we return to hastings, I doubt we will stay any where else - it'll be hard to top this.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butteflybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
1.0 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
867 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Town Guesthouse
The Old Town Guesthouse
#10 of 47 in Hastings
156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Number 46
Number 46
#6 of 47 in Hastings
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hastings House
Hastings House
#4 of 47 in Hastings
841 reviews
0.0 mi away
Senlac Guest House
Senlac Guest House
#20 of 47 in Hastings
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexanders Bed & Breakfast Hastings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Guest House

Address: 41 Cambridge Gardens, Hastings TN34 1EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range: £61 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phoenix Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and affordable guest house located in the heart of Hastings, less than 10 minutes walk from seafront, station and town centre and less than a 15 minute walk from the Old Town. All rooms have ensuite shower/wc, free high speed WiFi, free overnight parking, 20 litre room fridge, refreshment tray, hairdryer and ironing equipment. All rooms are offered on a room only rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Phoenix Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing