We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my worst stay ever”
Review of Grand Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“my worst stay ever”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

all i can say the owner is a very rude man,he has no idea of how to run a hotel,after reading a few of the reviews no wonder he makes money,if people complain he chucks them out with no refunds,to me that is theft,i found the hotel was a very low standard of what he charges.the were shabby and dirty.he needs to have inspecters go in.hes has no idea of how to talk to people.my recomendation i think he should be closed down.and sued for all the money he has not refuded people,i have to say the hotel gives hastings a very bad name.would not recomend it to anyone except for telling them to stay away.marie m

Room Tip: very small and very dirty.cheap and nasty considering it was a £103 per night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    6
    10
    7
    24
See reviews for
14
20
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We first spoke to the owner by phone and then made wot we believed to be a confirmed internet booking.Indeed on our arrival at 1.30pm a young girl showed us and our travaling companion to our rooms.We were to say the least very dissapiontened with tiny rooms which had a double bed pushed into one corner so that if the occupant had to get up during the night to use the bathroom (which had tiles/grout which were very dirty) you would have to shuffle down out of the end of the bed or climb over your partner.We were only staying the one night in order to celebrate my 50th birthday.We decided to ignore our dissopiontment in the facillities as it was only a place to crash after returning from my party venue.We went out for a meal and visit a friend and returned around 5.30pm in order to change cloths as we were due to be at the venue at 6.30pm.At around 5.45pm the young staff member knocked on our door and the owner wishes to speak to us,at first we thought there was going to be an excuse/apology that there had been a problem with the room we believe we had booked and this was why we were given a sub-standard room,to our dissmay despite the owner accepting he remembered our telephone conversation,the owner confirmed we did not a confirmed booking and we would have to leave.this was dispite the young staff member being happy to book us in and showing us to our room.At no point did the owner suggest the room had been doubled booked,we pointed out that we had less than half an hour to get changed and be at my birthday venue and in the circomstances we would have been happy to take any room that was on offer,however he insistant that we left.We booked in to the white rock hotel,had a standard room was £19 cheaper than the grand,the room was excelant,high qaulity towels,bedding,furnashings etc.A world away from a very shabby dirty grand hotel,we could not give a star rating as they dont do a -5. However would highly recomend the white rock hotel. mimi m

Room Tip: Unable to rate as expierence was a nightmare,i thought fawlty towers was fictional.Rooms were £103,n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank simon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hastings hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Arrived at the hotel, looked okay, but when we got to the door you had to knock, ring the bell (probably about 5 times) and knock again before the strange hotel owner opened it. We got in and had to wait for about an hour until he would see us. The ''front desk'' was on the landing of the stairs and you could barely move. The man who owned the place wasn't very bright and kept asking my daughters lots of personal questions. We booked for a large family size room, instead we had a small room with a bunk bed (for my two teenage girls!) and a double bed for me and my husband, we were all crammed into one tiny room. There was an en suite but it was very small and without a mirror, was also incredibly loud and dirty. After one night of staying there we decided to leave the next day and find somewhere else to stay. When we got to the front desk we asked if we could have a refund because we wasn't happy with our stay. He refused to refund us and asked us to leave immediately. Not happy at all and would advise anyone looking to stay at 'The Grand Hotel' not to, as it is a complete rip off and not worth the money we paid for!

Room Tip: Rooms are disgusting and small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This hotel if you call it that is terrible,we booked in for 7 nights as we were working on site nearby after 4 days of no heating & hot water.
With no sight of the mad owner fixing things after constantly asking we moved to another hotel
which cost us another £180.
To date we have not had any refund or feedback!!!!!
Do yourself a favour give this place a wide berth.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This year is the third in a row that I have stayed there, 3 times in 3 years must say how much I like the hotel, very convenient to the best Chinese food I have ever tasted, bus stop at the door. Adequate brekky, convivial host and within walking distance to everything, and I am hard to please Nov2011 Geoff qld aid..

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank norfolk43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We arrived and from the outside the hotel looks fine, after all it is situated just on the beachside. Inside the hotel looks very outdated and more like a bed and breakfast with a very narrow stairs upwards. The owner cheated us about the room. We had booked a family room with 4 beds, but he said we booked the smaller room with bunk beds (even though you can see from the amount paid that we paid for the larger family room!). The room was very small, the toilet made a lot of noise and there wasn't even a mirror. The towels were A4 size. We were laughing when we read the reviews, we should have read them beforehand as they are all very recognisable!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank JoitskeHulsebosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

I was a little disappointed when arriving at the Grand Hotel, the outside looks like a regular B&B, much like all the others along the main promenade. The entrance hall is pretty standard too but when we were showed to our room (room 23) which is the room at the front of the property I was so pleasantly surprised! The room was very spacious and the bathroom was spotless....the bathroom has obviously been reburished recently and was done to a very high standard, I've stayed in 5* hotels with bathrooms worse than this! Peter the owner is a little 'gem', yes he has his 'ways' but generally that is to ensure that everyone enjoys their stay, he hates smoking on the front step because the smell comes back into the hotel and he doesn't want to upset the other guests. We found the owner to be a very welcoming man who was very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Daubs10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
0.3 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.3 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
422 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
244 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: Grand Parade | St. Leonards on Sea,East Sussex, Hastings TN37 6AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing