We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Room with a Personal Touch”
Review of Gallery 53

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hastings
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gallery 53
Ranked #23 of 47 Hastings B&B and Inns
PA
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“5 Star Room with a Personal Touch”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the front room with the bay window, rented out by a very lovely couple. First of all, this is a large room in their place of residence, but feels very separate and private. Bathroom has a large tub and a separate shower stall. There are several breakfast choices, and they are delivered to your room. There is a separate entrance with a key for stepping out whenever you choose. I did not know that many B and B's in the UK may require you to be out during the day, but NOT here, it is yours to come and go as you please. There is no on site parking, but the car park is about a block away, and there are many restaurants and pubs in walking distance. This is right in the heart of Old Town, and is the perfect location for a short stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReenPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
53
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

You can not ask for anything more from a bed and breakfast.A fantastic experience from the first phone call to checking out(didnt want to leave).You are welcomed by a very charming and warm couple and shown to a very beautiful and ornate bedroom so in keeping with the property era.We stayed in the room to the front of the building facing the The High Street.The room is extremely well appointed down to the quirky coffee mugs and tumblers.A table in the bay window allows you to relax with a drink before going out to one of many wine bars or restaurants all of which are within a five minute walk.Being situated in the Old Town makes for a traditional Hastings experience,one never to forget, with lovely old antique shops and rustic buildings all around.The bed is very very comfortable,the breakfast is exactly what the doctor ordered.We cannot praise this B&B enough.We will return without doubt.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clare b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

situated in the heart of Hastings old town, this B&B is ideally situated next to the many antiques and collect-able shops. Several excellent restaurants and pubs two minutes walk away. The accommodation is of the highest standard. We stayed in the room with the bay window overlooking The High Street. A very large room with a very comfortable bed, TV and settee. The bathroom had a roll top bath and separate shower. We were made very welcome by the owners and George the cat. The following morning there was a full selection of traditional English fry up and if you had room a continental breakfast as well. We went to the First Inn and Last Out pub further up the high street which serves excellent real ales and has an open fire place. 24 hr parking for £3 is 2 minutes walk away. We shall return :)

Room Tip: ask for the one with the bay window overlooking the high street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarethSimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Just had a lovely relaxing night at Gallery 53. Very comfortable bed in an amazing room topped off with a delicious breakfast this morning sat looking over Hastings Old Town. Perfect for couples and lovely hosts. Will definitely be returning!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Duncan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I can't imagine how our stay at Gallery 53 could have been improved.

We stayed one night in the smaller back bedroom - a perfectly pretty pale blue room with a lovely ensuite bathroom - and had a wonderful time. The location was great, the breakfast delicious, the owners friendly, interesting, and clearly in love with Hastings. Which we were too, by the end of our weekend.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sophiellc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Really lovely stay in this b & b above the Art Gallery 53, owned by the artist couple Jane and David Edmonds. It is conveniently situated in the old town for all the antique shops, restaurants and pubs and just yards from the seafront. We stayed in the front bedroom, which was a lovely spacious, yet cosy room, charmingly decorated with interesting art work. Nice views from the window, of the old church and town. Breakfast served in room was a lovely treat and made a change from the 'norm'. Wonderful large private bathroom with freestanding slipper bath and separate shower cubicle. Snuggle bath robes provided..... lovely. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had the front bedroom overlooking the street and its lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sign_of_the_Thymes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Very enjoyable stay at Gallery 53... We had a beautiful room with a four poster bed, an amazing en-suite bathroom, the main feature of which was an enormous free standing bath; warm and friendly hosts and the wonderful breakfast was brought to our room every morning. We highly recommend this lovely guesthouse for a long weekend in the old town of Hastings.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevandAimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.1 mi away
The Old Town Guesthouse
The Old Town Guesthouse
#8 of 47 in Hastings
149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Town House Rooms
Town House Rooms
#26 of 47 in Hastings
164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Number 46
Number 46
#5 of 47 in Hastings
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cavalier House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Laindons
The Laindons
#3 of 47 in Hastings
234 reviews
0.6 mi away
Senlac Guest House
Senlac Guest House
#19 of 47 in Hastings
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallery 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallery 53

Property: Gallery 53
Address: 53 High Street, Hastings TN34 3EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gallery 53 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run Art Gallery and Bed & Breakfast. I have just 2 rooms and they are both comfortable and allow our guests to completely relax with breakfast times flexible and breakfast served in the room for maximum relaxation.We have one room which is suitable for a family with a medium size sofa bed in the room, the other is a standard double and has the benefit of an en-suite bathroom.We are a family of artists with regularly four of us showing our work at all times, with styles ranging from oil paintings of rural and street scenes to a good size range of imaginative abstracts in oil and acrylic. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing