We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hosts, great location”
Review of Gallery 53

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hastings
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gallery 53
Ranked #22 of 46 Hastings B&B and Inns
Bishop's Stortford, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hosts, great location”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This lovely B&B is in the perfect location in the heart of the Old Town. It is very comfortable, and the owners are delightful: friendly and helpful without being at all intrusive. Breakfast was also excellent. Sadly I didn't see nearly enough of George who is extremely handsome and possibly the friendliest cat I've ever met!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank binstortford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
52
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

If you want class and hospitality, comfort and something quite unique right in the coolest part of Hastings - the old town, look no further. Our hosts were exceptional and the breakfast was perfectly cooked. The red bedroom was exquisite with its own bathroom, the bath with feet and a shower that has so much pressure was invigorating. Was a treat to wake unto breakfast brought to your table in the room and sit and watch the street below. Beautiful sash windows to let the breeze and sound of seagulls in was a delight. I will be going back, it made our weekend really special having an oasis to feel at rest in. Just what we needed. Great restaurants on the same street, the choice is very varied and good. Couldn't have asked for a better B&B, I rate this one highly and will be recommending to all my friends, bookmark this one!! Thanks for a wonderful weekend retreat.

Room Tip: The Red room is exceptional - I didn't see the White room but can imagine it's just as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vegtrekkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I spent a couple of days over Easter in Hastings. We booked Gallery 53 because my wife had stayed there before and rated it highly. I'm not a big one for B&B, but this experience has helped change my mind.
As the name would suggest, the accommodation is set above a (private) gallery (www.gallery53.co.uk) and the room we stayed in - the Red Room - has some impressive examples adorning the walls adding to the feeling of comfort and homeliness.
The venue is in the heart of the old town, so there's plenty of places to eat and drink within just a couple of minutes' walk and although our room was above a main street the noise levels weren't such that they kept us awake.
And the breakfast was great - tick what you want the night before and it arrives bang on time and is plentiful and very tasty. There's a lovely personal touch about Gallery 53 - Jane and David are super friendly - while George the cat is an obvious star attraction given the number of references to him in the visitors' book.
I'd certainly stay here again - the website says it's four-star accommodation and I wouldn't argue with that at all. In fact, i couldn't fault it so I think it deserves full marks!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We spent two nights in the 'red room'. The room was beautifully furnished, and extremely comfortable. The bathroom was luxurious. We had breakfast in our room, with a good choice of breakfast types. The porridge was excellent. The B and B is very well located in the Old Town of Hastings, just a couple of minutes from the seafront. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We will be returning.

Room Tip: Recommend the red room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImliH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed here with my husband in march 2014, we arrived in the evening after a long journey and were welcomed straight away, we were showed to our room (we had the slightly smaller room without the sea view, only because we wanted an en-suite) the owners were helpful and friendly and got us fresh milk so we could make coffee and teas in our room before bed.

The decor was tasteful in the room and the bed was comfy with an amazing roll top bath, perfect after a long journey!

Breakfast was served in out room (which i prefer to rushing down to a dining room) lots of choice, cereal, toast, fruit, tea ,coffee, full english. just make ur selection the night before and put it on the menu with the time u want to eat.

it is set in the old town part of the city so perfect for exploring the shops and eateries.

we would return here if ever we were back in hastings.

Room Tip: smaller room has en-suite bathroom, larger room has sea view and shared bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liliSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
197 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the front room with the bay window, rented out by a very lovely couple. First of all, this is a large room in their place of residence, but feels very separate and private. Bathroom has a large tub and a separate shower stall. There are several breakfast choices, and they are delivered to your room. There is a separate entrance with a key for stepping out whenever you choose. I did not know that many B and B's in the UK may require you to be out during the day, but NOT here, it is yours to come and go as you please. There is no on site parking, but the car park is about a block away, and there are many restaurants and pubs in walking distance. This is right in the heart of Old Town, and is the perfect location for a short stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReenPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

You can not ask for anything more from a bed and breakfast.A fantastic experience from the first phone call to checking out(didnt want to leave).You are welcomed by a very charming and warm couple and shown to a very beautiful and ornate bedroom so in keeping with the property era.We stayed in the room to the front of the building facing the The High Street.The room is extremely well appointed down to the quirky coffee mugs and tumblers.A table in the bay window allows you to relax with a drink before going out to one of many wine bars or restaurants all of which are within a five minute walk.Being situated in the Old Town makes for a traditional Hastings experience,one never to forget, with lovely old antique shops and rustic buildings all around.The bed is very very comfortable,the breakfast is exactly what the doctor ordered.We cannot praise this B&B enough.We will return without doubt.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clare b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.1 mi away
The Old Town Guesthouse
The Old Town Guesthouse
#8 of 46 in Hastings
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cavalier House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#3 of 46 in Hastings
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Number 46
Number 46
#5 of 46 in Hastings
174 reviews
0.7 mi away
Phoenix Guest House
Phoenix Guest House
#12 of 46 in Hastings
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Jolly Fisherman
The Jolly Fisherman
#26 of 46 in Hastings
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallery 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallery 53

Property: Gallery 53
Address: 53 High Street, Hastings TN34 3EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gallery 53 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run Art Gallery and Bed & Breakfast. I have just 2 rooms and they are both comfortable and allow our guests to completely relax with breakfast times flexible and breakfast served in the room for maximum relaxation.We have one room which is suitable for a family with a medium size sofa bed in the room, the other is a standard double and has the benefit of an en-suite bathroom.We are a family of artists with regularly four of us showing our work at all times, with styles ranging from oil paintings of rural and street scenes to a good size range of imaginative abstracts in oil and acrylic. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing