We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Bank Holiday at Hastings Touring Park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shear Barn Holidays & Touring
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A lovely campsite - beautiful views, very close to the town and country walks around Ecclesbourne Reservoir. It's a steep walk back from town but I'm sure a cab wouldn't be too expensive if you didn't want to take the car. The site is very well kept and in a lovely situation - we pitched towards the top of the hill to get the wonderful seaview but were still sheltered by a small group of trees/a grass bank so it wasn't too windy and the toilet block was still fairly close.

My only criticism would be that the showers weren't very good - as others have mentioned, the cubicles are very small, there's only one small hook for your clothes/towel, etc, there's no way to adjust the temperature of the shower (though I understand why they have push buttons to stop people leaving them on). The worst bit was that I had left my boots inside the door of the cubicle and though I had pulled the shower curtain, the shower head was angled up and quite powerful so it shot straight past the curtain and soaked my boots, not what you want if you're planning a day of walking. Also the hand dryer blew cold air, so it was fairly pointless.

I understand that one of the three toilet blocks had been updated with underfloor heating but this was near the entrance to the park (with no seaview) so we didn't use that one. Hopefully they will update the other two soon so the showers are bit better.

The staff are lovely - very welcoming and clearly passionate about the site, which always makes a difference.

We didn't use the Shearbarn restaurant, bar, shop and pool so can't comment on these amenities but we'd certainly return and use the site again when we are next in Hastings.

Be careful to book via the direct website for the park as I've noticed that some other websites that act as an agent were charging £11 more than if you book direct.

Room Tip: Pitch at the top of the hill to get the beautiful seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VEHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, General Manager at Shear Barn Holidays & Touring, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Many Thanks for your feedback following your recent stay on our Touring field.

It is always nice when I read that our customers were happy with the location and the great sea views we have on Park. The views are amazing!

I would also like to thank you for your constructive feedback regarding one of our touring facilities, following your feedback, we are currently addressing some of the issues you have raised such as the showers and the hooks on the doors. Thank you.

I will pass your kind words onto the team, they will be pleased to hear that you were happy with the service levels provided.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We came down for the May bank holiday weekend. We instantly fell in love with the park, it was quite clean and well presented. Staff were very polite friendly and very helpful. The bar/restaurant was really good value for money the food was delicious and service was good. Only minor thing the shower/ toilet facilities was clean but not much room, the showers didn't have anywhere to put your things only on the floor and that was wet. Although the toilets were always clean little bit to small to get changed in as there wasn't no way to get dry in the shower cubicle. Apart from that it was excellent with great views of the sea. Would definitely go back and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, General Manager at Shear Barn Holidays & Touring, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I would like to thank you for your constructive feedback regarding the touring facilities, after reviewing this, we will look to see what we can do to rectify these issues.

It was nice to hear that you enjoyed the Retreat Bar & Restaurant, our Head Chef Dan will be very happy that you enjoyed the food!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Booked last minute for May bank holiday weekend and found this wonderful holiday park, the Lodge itself was excellent and spotlessly clean, welcome pack was very useful, hot tub was just perfect. The views are beautiful and the park facilities very good. Kids loved the pool and us adults loved the bar / restaurant / entertainment.
Will definitely be booking again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, General Manager at Shear Barn Holidays & Touring, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

What a lovely review!

Thank you very much for your feedback, it sounds like you had a perfect time here at Shearbarn.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Location: Can be difficult to find for those outside of the area, although its well sign posted you have to drive through a busy housing estate, as Hastings is a seaside town its a very steep area so would be difficult taking a caravan up there.

Facilities: There is a bar available which does extremely good tasting food (with a good selection), you do need to pre-book in advance though to be sure of a seat as there is limited spacing... In terms of toilets / showers, they're really basic and could do with an update (although they are clean), biggest issue though is the fact that the toilet blocks didnt state whether they were "Male" or "Female", on our first night there I almost walked in on a lady drying her hair

Tent Field: A really nice open space and although we were pitched next to some louder campers we didnt let this bother us, plenty of options of where to pitch if you arrive early.

Customer Service: Probably the biggest draw back of this location, the bar staff arent the most friendly of staff and can come across a bit too short and to the point.

Room Tip: Tent field can be very cold at night when the wind blows in from the Channel so maybe pay extra for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EastFB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, General Manager at Shear Barn Holidays & Touring, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

It is always nice to hear that our guests had a good time at Shearbarn and I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent camping holiday with us.

I am pleased that you liked the selection and quality of the food offering in the Retreat. In the peak periods, it does get rather busy so I would agree with your suggestion to pre-book a table.
I was surprised to read your comments regarding the service levels from the bar team, I will of course discuss your feedback with our Complex Manager to ensure that she is aware. I can assure you that we are constantly striving to achieve the highest levels of Customer Service and if you felt that this was not the case during your holiday, I apologise.

With regard the signage on the touring toilets, this has now been rectified and we are currently addressing some minor issues on the third touring block.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review Shearbarn, it is only by receiving reviews such as yours, that we are able to improve the standards and service levels we offer.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My Parents had a caravan on this site for about 15 years but gave it up about 6 years ago. Since then we have been returning each year at Easter with the whole family. The site has changed a lot over the years all for the better. We stayed in a 3 bedroom lodge which on arrival was spotlessly clean. these lodges are extremely comfortable a well appointed. A nice change from last year was the provision of towels and a Tassimo coffee machine. the scenery around this place is stunning and if you like walking as we do there is some really nice walks. you can walk to Hastings across the downs in about half an hour and if you don't fancy the steps you can take a trip on the cliff railway. We didnt go to the club or restaurant this year as we were all too tired from all the walking! The Kitchen is so well appointed that cooking is easy and the dish washer and washing machine is a real bonus the youngsters used the swimming pool which they all enjoyed especially all the inflatables that were provided. some of the adults in our party also used the gym which was very good. all in all this is a great place to stay very quiet and beautifully set in the hills. The staff are all friendly and queries are dealt with instantly. I would recommend this place to anyone and we are all looking forward to returning next Easter.

Room Tip: The lodges near the pool and clubhouse have pleasant see views and there is not too much noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, General Manager at Shear Barn Holidays & Touring, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us at Shearbarn Holiday Park.

It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your accommodation. I’m glad to see that on your arrival your lodge was clean and tidy. Our team have worked extremely hard on these lodges over the winter period and it’s great to hear the attention to detail is appreciated by our guests. Thank you for your feedback regarding our new welcome packs and reading your positive comments is wonderful. Shearbarn is great for walking down to Hastings as its surrounded by lovely countryside.

The positive feedback regarding our team is really great to hear and I will be passing your review onto them. I am sure the team here at Shearbarn will appreciate your positive feedback.

Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again in 2015.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Mum and Granddad & Lady (the dog) were already there and invited us up for the Easter weekend!

As you might of guessed these like log cabins are Dog friendly!
The entrances have lovely decking to the front door and inside are fitted out very well indeed

This one was 2 bedroom with 1 en-suite bathroom again clean, plenty of hot water with Tassimo coffee maker with pods, A full size washing machine, fridge and freezer and cooker too and toaster!
Very comfy sleep at night & good assortment of tv channels.

There is a swimming pool (small), a little gym & shop and like a social club (quite pricy I found) upstairs which was very noisy, lots of excited kids!!

Pleasantly surprised and will look into coming here again in the future!

Room Tip: They All Have Good Locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GazSmith3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, General Manager at Shear Barn Holidays & Touring, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for your review of Shearbarn Holiday Park.

Its brilliant to hear positive comments about our accommodation. Thank you for your comments about all of the added extras we have placed into our accommodation, it’s good to see that they made your stay that little bit more enjoyable. I am pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay and are looking to come back again in the future.

We hope to see you all and Lady again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We have used this site for many years. It changed hands around 5 years ago. Its a much better site with the facilities now updated and amazing walks and views. During the summer take a walk into the firehills where you will be dazzled by all the fireflies but take cream too! The facilities were kept very clean but its attention to detail that let the site down. In the gents out of around 10 soap dispencers only 1 had soap in at 11am. the water saver taps stop water flow as soon as the tap is released and makes hot water hard to achieve. Not good if you have weak muscles or arthrithis. Some pitches are very unlevel but.the site was also clean with a great play area. Freezers were also provide for ice blocks. A nice touch. Its honest to say its a basic site. Well kept and great value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank chriscampingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, General Manager at Shear Barn Holidays & Touring, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for your review of Shearbarn Holiday Park.

It was great to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us and found the park clean. Thank you for your comments, which I will pass onto our team and we will look at improving the finer details on our site.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
615 reviews
2.7 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
861 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sherwood Guest House
Sherwood Guest House
#41 of 47 in Hastings
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Town House Rooms
Town House Rooms
#26 of 47 in Hastings
169 reviews
1.7 mi away
Astral Lodge
Astral Lodge
#13 of 14 in Hastings
40 reviews
1.7 mi away
Senlac Guest House
Senlac Guest House
#20 of 47 in Hastings
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shear Barn Holidays & Touring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shear Barn Holidays & Touring

Address: Barley Lane, Hastings TN35 5DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Hastings
Price Range: £19 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning locations are a rare find. So whether its a long weekend, family holiday, relaxation or full of things to do, we have all the ingredients to make it a special stay. Our Lodges & Caravans have something for every taste, from a place to lay your head to a luxury lodge with all the trimmings! If it's Touring or Camping, we have coded access, modern amenity blocks and space for you and your family to enjoy the great outdoors. An indoor heated swimming pool, lovely bar/restaurant and Ecclesbourne fishing reservoir top off the facilities on offer to ensure your stay with us is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Shear Barn Holidays & Touring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shearbarn Holiday Park Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing