We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shear Barn Holidays & Touring
Nearby Hotels
Number 46(Hastings)(Great Value!)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Royal Victoria Hotel(St Leonards-on-Sea)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Senlac Guest House(Hastings)(Great Value!)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Travelodge Hastings(Hastings)(Great Value!)
US$62
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Town House Rooms(Hastings)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sherwood Guest House(Hastings)(Great Value!)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Hastings Hotel(Hastings)(Great Value!)
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hastings House(Hastings)
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
139
72
41
31
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
72
41
31
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstouring parkcountry parkretreat restaurantswimming poolmotor homefellow camperstoilet and showerlovely siteon site restaurantmay bank holiday weekendwelcome packhastings townwashing machinenature reserveplay areaold townlong weekend
Filter
Updating list...
243 - 248 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

booked a 2 bedroom lodge for midweek break along with my daughter who booked 3 bedroom lodge. they were both fitted out extremely well like a home from home and more space than expected.
good polite staff on the park and quiet grounds with lovely views. local facilities are fine and close to seafront.
was so pleased I have booked to go again in a few weeks time and to the same lodge.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annetterch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, General Manager at Shear Barn Holidays & Touring, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

What a lovely review!

It is brilliant to be told that we have exceeded your expectations, we have worked extremely hard on the lodges throughout the winter period and to know our guests are feeling the benefit is very satisfying.

We look forward to welcoming you back in a few weeks for another great holiday.

Thank you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We are new to camping. We visited for 1 night in March to see if we would actually like sleeping in a tent. The wardens are friendly and approachable. Terri showed us to our pitch and gave us some good tips. We returned for a 3 night stay over the May Bank holiday weekend. We stayed on the non touring field by the entrance and the toilet/shower block waslovely and clean plus warm as has underfloor heating. The washing up area has 3 sinks plus draining board and even washing up liquid if you have forgotten yours. The bar/restaurant served delicious food at reasonable prices. There is a small indoor play area with a large window so our daughters (age 4 and 5) could play while we were waiting for our meals. It was a really relaxed experience. There are two outside play areas, one inthe touring park and one in the holiday park. There is an indoor pool although we didnt use this. We would highly recommend this park and will be returning as often as we can as we love Hastings, especially the May day celebrations which were well organised and fun.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank MrsMakewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, General Manager at Shear Barn Holidays & Touring, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday with us.

We are pleased you enjoyed your first camping trip and were impressed with the touring facilities, the under floor heating is definitely an advantage. I will pass your positive review onto our touring wardens, Billy & Terri, who will be delighted with your feedback.

I was pleased to read that you tried our food out in the Retreat, our Head Chef 'Dan' is very passionate about his food so will be very pleased you enjoyed it.

Thanks once again, we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

After a long drive from Yorkshire completely fraggled I was welcomed by the warden "Welcome to paradise" with a huge smile on his face.

This is just what we needed after such a long and stressfull journey.

He directed us to our pitch which was very tidy and the shower block by the barrier was immaculate, the warden recomended we use the restuarant rather than cooking which we did and found the food to be excellent and that set the scene for the weekend, it was brilliant we all thouroughly enjoyed it, both wardens, Terri and Billy were very friendly giving us tips on what to do and where to go, will definately be returning and recomending to our friends. Thank you Terri and Billy

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, General Manager at Shear Barn Holidays & Touring, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you for a lovely review!

Billy & Terri are certainly an asset to our team here at Shearbarn and I am pleased they helped to make your holiday as enjoyable as it was. 'Welcome to paradise' is a favourite saying with Billy and come rain or shine, this saying is well used.

The food is great at the Retreat Restaurant so I am pleased you tried it out!

I will pass your kind words onto our Head Chef 'Dan' and also to Billy & Terri, the team love to hear positive reviews!

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at Hastings Touring Park with our caravan for the Mayday bank holiday - three nights in all. Check in was efficient and simple and took no time at all. We were shown to our pitch by one of the wardens and told exactly where to park. The pitch was fantastic and neither shower block was far away. The drive up to the touring park was via quite a narrow road where negotiating parked cars could be a problem with a caravan. The views from the park out to sea were fantastic. The one time we popped down to Shearbarn Holiday Park for a drink was as you would expect, with friendly staff and service. We certainly had a lovely weekend there, despite our car breaking down and having to be taken home by a recovery truck with our caravan on the back.

Room Tip: Try and get a pitch nearer to the outer fences rather than in the middle - mainly for peace and quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamelaBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, General Manager at Shear Barn Holidays & Touring, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback, it is lovely to hear when our guests have had a great time!

It is always nice to hear that the team offered excellent service and your check in and pitching was made easy.

Sorry to hear about your car, I hope you got home safely and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A lovely campsite - beautiful views, very close to the town and country walks around Ecclesbourne Reservoir. It's a steep walk back from town but I'm sure a cab wouldn't be too expensive if you didn't want to take the car. The site is very well kept and in a lovely situation - we pitched towards the top of the hill to get the wonderful seaview but were still sheltered by a small group of trees/a grass bank so it wasn't too windy and the toilet block was still fairly close.

My only criticism would be that the showers weren't very good - as others have mentioned, the cubicles are very small, there's only one small hook for your clothes/towel, etc, there's no way to adjust the temperature of the shower (though I understand why they have push buttons to stop people leaving them on). The worst bit was that I had left my boots inside the door of the cubicle and though I had pulled the shower curtain, the shower head was angled up and quite powerful so it shot straight past the curtain and soaked my boots, not what you want if you're planning a day of walking. Also the hand dryer blew cold air, so it was fairly pointless.

I understand that one of the three toilet blocks had been updated with underfloor heating but this was near the entrance to the park (with no seaview) so we didn't use that one. Hopefully they will update the other two soon so the showers are bit better.

The staff are lovely - very welcoming and clearly passionate about the site, which always makes a difference.

We didn't use the Shearbarn restaurant, bar, shop and pool so can't comment on these amenities but we'd certainly return and use the site again when we are next in Hastings.

Be careful to book via the direct website for the park as I've noticed that some other websites that act as an agent were charging £11 more than if you book direct.

Room Tip: Pitch at the top of the hill to get the beautiful seaview.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VEHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly O, General Manager at Shear Barn Holidays & Touring, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Many Thanks for your feedback following your recent stay on our Touring field.

It is always nice when I read that our customers were happy with the location and the great sea views we have on Park. The views are amazing!

I would also like to thank you for your constructive feedback regarding one of our touring facilities, following your feedback, we are currently addressing some of the issues you have raised such as the showers and the hooks on the doors. Thank you.

I will pass your kind words onto the team, they will be pleased to hear that you were happy with the service levels provided.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews