We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally welcoming, spotless,peaceful guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sherwood Guest House
Ranked #41 of 47 Hastings B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed at the Sherwood for one night over Hastings weekend. From the first phone call until the moment we left, the incredible welcome and friendly approach was refreshing. When we arrived we were delighted with our spacious room and sea view and had opted for a shared bathroom and pleasantly surprised by the size and cleanliness of it(spotless). Breakfast was incredible!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank blagartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

Four of us stayed at the Sherwood, Jeanette & Jim were so helpful. They couldn't do enough for us. They were excellent hosts & breakfast was a feast !! We would certainly stay there again. Many thanks Bobby Rodes.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobby r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights whilst visiting family, it's a lovely place situated right on the sea front, I had a single room and when I open my curtains, I can see the sea straight ahead, perfect! Beds are comfy and Jeanette that runs the place is fab, nothing is too much bother. It's a comfortable, homely place and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a nice B&B at a reasonable place. No fripperies or frills, just a chilled out wee place. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ionabrodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Stayed here for a stress break with my family .the guest house had been refurnished from top to bottom and was spotless .Jeanette the owner was an excellent landlady who could not do enough for you ,very helpful giving advice .I would strongly recommend you go and stay, price as good ,and breakfast was a varied menu all in all DO GO AND STAY.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We stayed here for one night in the summer we were attending a local party so needed somewhere to change and sleep for the night. As we were only going to use the room for the above I booked a standard twin with a shared bathroom, yes it was the cheapest, ( I think it was about £70 for B&B ) but I honestly couldn't believe the room that we were given.

Frankly to me a standard twin is that. This was just awful. The room was at the top of the guest house and it was TINY, with the twin beds end to end with a sloping ceiling to one side. The space between the beds and the chest of drawers and the wardrobe, was minimal with a absolute squeeze to get changed. The window was half a window, from recollection I seem to remember thinking that the room must have been halved in size at some point. I was so concerned about safety that I actually stood and read the evacuation procedures displayed in the corridor, because no one was going to get out of the window in the event of a fire ! I have stayed in just loads of hotels and guest houses all over the world and have never done that before !

As other reviewers have identified the guest house was very clean and the owners friendly with average breakfast. I had to think long and hard before I posted this review as I don't like to give bad feedback but this was not a standard twin, no way. This was a really small room with beds end to end, That is not a standard twin. Still furious !

Room Tip: Do not, do not, do not, book a standard twin here !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Stayed for one night whilst attending a local party. Was surprised by pleasant location, practically on the seafront. Free parking on the road outside. Small room, but clean and comfortable. Shower and toilets rooms on corridor were clean. Soap available as well as coffee/tea/biscuits in room. Friendly host. Breakfast nothing special. Good value!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed at the Sherwood Guest House for the August Bank Holiday weekend 2012 and was thoroughly impressed. Jeanette was the perfect landlady, very helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable, cosy and most importantly - spotless. The en suite was the same, with complimentary soaps and shower caps. I had forgotten my hair dryer and was able to borrow one from reception, I was thankful of this since the weather was not on our side! The breakfast was delicious, we both had the full English which filled us up until dinner time. The B&B is a good 40 min walk outside of Hastings which meant it was quiet and peaceful. We both had 2 really good nights sleep and would 100% stay here again, cannot fault it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliceIsabel86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
619 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Leonards-on-Sea
867 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rutland Guest House
Rutland Guest House
#18 of 47 in Hastings
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Millifont Guest House
Millifont Guest House
#42 of 47 in Hastings
98 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Town Guesthouse
The Old Town Guesthouse
#10 of 47 in Hastings
156 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tower House 1066
Tower House 1066
#36 of 47 in Hastings
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Guest House

Address: 15 Grosvenor Crescent, Hastings TN38 0AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range: £61 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms and Ebookers so you can book your Sherwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing