We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexanders Bed & Breakfast Hastings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alexanders Bed & Breakfast Hastings
Ranked #20 of 49 Hastings B&B and Inns
orpington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

We only stayed the one night on the 15th of november for the annual fireworks which is always excellent, this was made even more enjoyable buy the warm welcome lovely room and great location to all the shops pubs ect, we would be happy to stay again the breakfast was great too,lisa and Jamie Holden

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cherrys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    74
    30
    9
    6
See reviews for
42
107
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We were expecting this establishment to be a hotel, as advertised in their website, and were left underwhelmed and disappointed. It is in fact an overpriced B&B.

We will not be staying here again and would only recommend it as a B&B if it were a fraction of the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trippertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BETHUNE (France)
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We felt welcomed, the room was tidy and clean, the breakfeast was very good, and we DID enjoy our week end.
The only thing I could regret ... no lif ! It's hard to climb as far as the third level !

We'll come back as soon as possible because Hastings is a nice place, and this hotel is wonderful.

Brigitte and Hervé, from France

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank THIERENS B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Excellent value and quality if you pass by Hastings. Wendy and Keith warm welcome was appreciated and they have good advices if you are looking for a nice restaurant. The room was lovely and clean. The B&B is easily accessible from the train station and close to the town main attractions. My one and only choice if I go to Hastings again. Thanks!

Room Tip: Room on the opposite side of the English Channel was a bit noisy because of a nearby pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MC2011inUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waltham cross
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

My girlfriend booked the Alexander for a weekend get away as a birthday present. She requested a sea view and this was confirmed. On arrival we where shown our room which did not have a sea view, I informed Keith the owner. He told me that since we had booked our room using booking.com we could not be guaranteed what we had booked (is this true ??????). He did offer us a sea room for the second night but we did not wish to pack and unpack again. For the first night we put money in the meter and parked outside the hotel. Keith asked us where we had parked and gave me a parking permit. The next day I parked in exactly the same spot and received a parking ticket (as did another guest) since the parking ticket given by the B&B is not valid for the spaces outside the hotel !!!........ amazing !! I appealled to the council but this was rejected. Very clean hotel and I'm sure once you have mastered parking restrictions etc a very nice place to stay but I will not be returning to Hastings, there are other very nice beach resorts on the coast which are far better.

Room Tip: Be aware of parking restrictions
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rocdodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

I booked a room here at the end of July whilst I was visiting a friend. I got the last room in the hotel and it was right at the top of the building, no lift. I can understand this because of the type of old building it is, but at the time, when lugging your baggage up 7 or 8 flights of stairs its not funny. The room was small but adequate with everything you would expect. It was generally clean, but could have done with a vacuum. Also a Saturday night in Hastings town centre can be rather noisy especially if you are at the back, so no chance of opening a window here!

The lady who greeted me, not the owner, was very friendly and helpful, the breakfast in the morning was good, but the owner, a large man looked a bit grumpy.

overall it was pretty good and the price was good.

Room Tip: Get one on a lower floor if you have heavy suitcases!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fidgety9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portarlington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

I only stayed 2 nights at Alexander's but they were probably the most comfortable nights of my 30 day tour around tthe UK and Ireland.
The hosts were very friendly and most helpful with local knowledge. I will stay there again next time I am in this cleanest of towns. Thanks, Keith and Wendy.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KennyA37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.1 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#7 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Senlac Guest House
Senlac Guest House
#19 of 49 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lindum
The Lindum
#27 of 49 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Town House Rooms
Town House Rooms
#24 of 49 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexanders Bed & Breakfast Hastings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexanders Bed & Breakfast Hastings

Property: Alexanders Bed & Breakfast Hastings
Address: 2 Carlisle Parade, Hastings TN34 1JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexanders Bed & Breakfast Hastings 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexanders Bed & Breakfast offers 12 spacious en-suite rooms overlooking Hastings seafront. The guest house is only minutes from Hastings town centre Hastings old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alexanders Bed & Breakfast Hastings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing