We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexanders Bed & Breakfast Hastings
Ranked #22 of 46 Hastings B&B and Inns
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very nice”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Lovely little find helpful friendly staff , clean & comfortable sea view is nice & breakfast is yummy choices are good , our room was a bit on the small size but fine for a over night stay. I would recommend to a friend or use again .

Room Tip: Bathroom , shower over a bath lovely BIG showwe head but room 1B IS QUIET small .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tia789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    76
    30
    9
    6
See reviews for
42
109
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I stayed here for two nights and had chosen the last room available, which was the top floor single room. Really sweet room in the eaves. My cousin also had a room (a family room) with fantastic sea views and the rooms are lovely. The owners are really helpful and friendly and it is well worth getting the breakfast there - all in all a lovely B&B. I couldn't fault the price as I paid under £60 for two nights on the sea front including breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I was very impressed with level of service and attention to detail from the staff. Lots of information about Hastings available with personal tips about good places to eat in the town. The room was very clean with wonderful sea views. Really good to be able to park in the underground car park nearby.
The location was excellent with just a short walk into the Old Town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Much above good actually, well appointed room and very clean. Breakfast excellent with attentive service and smile from Wendy. Night staff in attendance and contact numbers available when owners not in. good value for money. Have read negative reviews which seem harsh, I mean what do people expect for £50 a night ? Claridges ?

Room Tip: sleep quality rating due to noise from cab office at rear of property
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We spent the night here as we were meeting friends in the Old Town. Jenny the host was very welcoming and even carried our bag up to the 2nd floor. We stay in a lot of hotels and have never had that before not even in the Radisson Hotels in London so a very nice touch. She apologised that the room was small but we have been in smaller and it was perfectly adequate for one night. The shower room although very small was really nicely done out and the shower was excellent. The sea view was lovely and the location is also ideal - just about a 10 minute walk to the start of the Old Town. Very nice frontage as well. The only downside for us was breakfast is a bit early on a Sunday especially when you've had a late night but that's not a criticism of the Guest House. Overall it was excellent and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Alexander's for a night whilst doing a mini road trip. The welcome was warm and couldn't be faulted. The host apologised for the room size which was tiny and whilst it didn't hinder our enjoyment of Hastings, it was pretty cramped especially in the hot weather. It was difficult to get things from our bags unless we put the on the bed. My husband, who is 6ft found the bathroom a little claustrophobic.

Being located at the front and having to have the windows wide open to keep the small space cool, the room was noisy from traffic and cigarette smoke from a balcony on the next building wafted in throughout the night. The seagulls of Hastings also start squawking at just before dawn! Not the hotel's fault but not ideal! However, the view is fabulous - the caveat seems to be noise / size / temperature... The room was visibly clean although when finding a socket for my phone charger behind the bedside table, I think the dusty, hairy skirtings could use a spring clean.

The common areas of the building are period and attractive as is the outside and definitely the more attractive choice to its neighbours which look rather down at heal by comparison.

It's roughly a 10 minute stroll to the old town, so the location is good with parking close by.

There was nothing to complain about as such but it wasn't a wonderful stay. Perhaps had the room been slightly larger, quieter or cooler (or all of the above) we'd have found it more enjoyable?

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelighfulTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Have just come back from a 2 night stay. Very clean, comfortable house,reasonable prices.Bed very comfortable. Wendy & Keith are lovely host's, making you feel very welcome. Breakfast very nice, Keith does a lovely "dippy" boiled egg!! Rooms are nicely decorated, shower room great.All amenities needed for a Holiday included,TV, hair dryer, mini fridge, tea, coffee & biscuits in your room. Iron & board on the landing. Bikes to hire if your feeling energetic. Not sure where Molly(see below) stayed but I would have to STRONGLY disagree with her comments. I would definitely go back and recommend this guest house to any one staying in Hastings. We had a sea view room and the most wonderful weather. Well located for Old town and all the local places of interest.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a sea view, rooms at the back look out over shops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archercrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.0 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#8 of 11 in Hastings
298 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
427 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Senlac Guest House
Senlac Guest House
#20 of 46 in Hastings
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Number 46
Number 46
#5 of 46 in Hastings
176 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lindum
The Lindum
#27 of 46 in Hastings
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexanders Bed & Breakfast Hastings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexanders Bed & Breakfast Hastings

Property: Alexanders Bed & Breakfast Hastings
Address: 2 Carlisle Parade, Hastings TN34 1JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexanders Bed & Breakfast Hastings 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexanders Bed & Breakfast offers 12 spacious en-suite rooms overlooking Hastings seafront. The guest house is only minutes from Hastings town centre Hastings old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alexanders Bed & Breakfast Hastings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing