We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of pub, not hotel”
Review of Jenny Lind Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hastings
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jenny Lind Inn
Ranked #14 of 46 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
LIVERPOOL UK
Level Contributor
595 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Review of pub, not hotel”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We were here late on Saturday night (pub, not hotel). Pleasant bar staff, interesting interior, good real ale, but the toilets were pretty much under water, yuk. I know it isn’t their fault if punters wreck the loos ,but maybe someone should have gone in with a mop?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S, Front Office Manager at Jenny Lind Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review the Jenny Lind Inn, we are sorry that we have not met your expectations on this occasion. Unfortunately these things happen and if we were informed of the problem we would have acted upon it quickly. I am having a staff meeting this week and will make sure that all the staff are aware that it is their responsibility to check the toilets at regular intervals to ensure that this does not happen again. We do hope for you to come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    37
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
37
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed at the Jenny Lind, which was enjoyable, rooms basic but clean. Across the road for breakfast in the morning, lovely. We will come again! We do have a caravan in Hastings, but if the weather is not too good, we can use the Jenny Lind.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jude-punto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S, Front Office Manager at Jenny Lind Inn, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Hi there, thanks for your review, glad to know that you will come and visit us again when the weather permits! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here and it exceded our expectations of any hotel/pub from a mile. Tastefully refurbished rooms, a perfect place to relax and have a drink and VERY friendly staff; with The Centre of Hastings Old town at your doorstep! what more could you want?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CDouble H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S, Front Office Manager at Jenny Lind Inn, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Wow, thank you so much for your enthusiastic review of the Jenny Lind Inn, we are so pleased that you had a great time! We do love our position in the old town, so it's great that you feel the same! I will be sure to let our staff know your comments! Do come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Just got back from staying here and if you are looking for a short break in Hastings Old Town we highly recommend the Jenny Lind. Its location in the very centre of Old Town is perfect. Room rates are exceptional value and the inclusive breakfast options across the road are really very good. All the staff are extremely polite and friendly and well focussed on customer service. The pub/hotel is striving hard to become a focal point of much activity in the town and this effort is proving very successful. The rooms we had on the top floor were very clean and well equipped with all you would expect in a B&B and there was always a plentiful stock of bottled water. I say "rooms" because our first room was at the back of the hotel and my wife who has very sharp ears could pick up the sound of the condensers which keep the cellars cool so she did not sleep well on our first night. I did not find this noise intrusive but the staff without us asking upgraded us free of charge to the family room at the front of the hotel. So we would have no hesitation recommending the Jenny Lind to our friends and family let alone complete strangers.

Room Tip: Try for rooms on the third floor as the carpeting in the corridors on this floor suggests the third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 14Michael14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S, Front Office Manager at Jenny Lind Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of The Jenny Lind Inn, we pride ourselves on making sure we do all we can to make our visitors happy, and are very pleased that we were able to do exactly that on this occasions. Our staff are trained to do their best where the customers are concerned, so we love feedback like this to know that they are doing so. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is a really nice little B&B/hotel. Clean rooms, very friendly staff and an excellent breakfast. The location is very central in Hastings Old Town, which unfortunately has the drawback that the street noise level is fairly high.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudolf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S, Front Office Manager at Jenny Lind Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Jenny Lind Inn, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry you had noise issues during your stay. Due to us being such a central location to the high street, noise is inevitable, especially on such a week as this, carnival week. We hope that you had time to enjoy the carnival events while you were here. As for any noise from the seagulls, we like to think of them as a traditional novelty of any seaside. We do hope that you will forgive us the noise and return to the Jenny Lind Inn for another stay, we would love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stjordal, Norway
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

This is a free house which means they can stock any beers they want. It also seems they can also offer lower prices than some of the tied houses. In short: great place, good service, good beer. I'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Morten75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S, Front Office Manager at Jenny Lind Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you for your review of the Jenny Lind Inn, we appreciate you taking the time to let everyone know what a great freehouse we are. We pride ourselves on having a good range and are pleased that you noticed this. We would love to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2013

great little place for an evening with friends, just when in for a peaceful drink and before we know it we playing in the pub quiz a fabulous night was have not to blow my own trumpet we came second a wonderful evening get people and wonderful ale. we never had food has we had all ready ate but it look delish and the smell of food your mother would cook will be have a meal on my next visit

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevrobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S, Front Office Manager at Jenny Lind Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thanks for reviewing the Jenny Lind Inn, we are sure that you had a great evening visiting the public houses in the old town and would love to see you visit us here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
0.6 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
244 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Town Guesthouse
The Old Town Guesthouse
#8 of 46 in Hastings
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Laindons
The Laindons
#3 of 46 in Hastings
231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Town House Rooms
Town House Rooms
#25 of 46 in Hastings
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jenny Lind Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jenny Lind Inn

Property: Jenny Lind Inn
Address: 69 High Street, Hastings TN34 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing