We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic as always!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gurkha Chef

Gurkha Chef
Ranked #41 of 357 Restaurants in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Nepalese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Hastings
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic as always!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We visit the Gurkha Chef at least once a week and the food is always superb! The staff are very friendly and always take the time to make us feel very welcome. The food is always to a high standard and the chefs accommodate any changes I would like to make. We've celebrated many birthdays here over the years, and insist on taking any visitors! The wine is very reasonably priced, and the menu is small but covers all tastes. The Gurkha roll is my personal favorite, followed by Bangor Ledo and the most amazing aubergine side..so much food! Thursdays and Sundays are a brilliant way to try new dishes as they offer a banquet night. Well worth a try!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahCarver760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    65
    6
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
hastings uk
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A favourite local restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

After many visits, I have finally got around to reviewing this restaurant! The food is different and delicious. The service is friendly and unhurried. Its best to book to be sure of a table but they will always try to fit you in. Try the Ashwayri chicken for a mild delicious treat and add some Dahl! I eat there at least twice a month, sometimes with family and sometimes with friends. An added bonus is that they take the tastecard

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Liandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

I visited Hastings on business during November. This restaurant is located along the sea front.

At first I was looking for my usual Indian cuisine and found this first. Knowing the cuisine is alway been good where I live I thought I'd try this.

I had the pork chilli and I have to say I was impressed. The staff were attentive and food came out very quickly. A good choice and good food.

Reasonably priced. I would recommend trying if you get the chance.

Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Really great food. Great quality and lovely mix of spices. The Keema Naan is particularly good. Staff very friendly and nice ambience. Visited 3 times during a 6 week period working away in Hastings.

Thursdays/Sundays they do a feast for £13/£14 which includes starter,main,side dish and either a rice or bread, great value!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chappers14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A massive disappointment/Lacked attention to detailll”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

As much as my friends and I love Nepalese food and we consider ourselves quite the connoisseurs. This restaurant failed in every respect in offering a Nepalese experience.
1: the atmosphere was very low key; to be expected from an eatery in Hastings really nowadays.
2: the service was slapshod, no finess or professionalism.
3: food was sort of watered down. The mixed biryani was thin and anaemic and without real colour. The other main, was something hot (can't remember what exactly it was) however the waiter was asked to make it very hot which it indeed came back hot but the dish had a gritty taste which meant the spices were overcooked/burnt. The sautéed spinach was soggy and the sautéed aubergines were swimming in grease. The pilau rice was steamed rice with a thin essence of spice and the vegetable nan was a normal nan dressed to look, but not taste, like a vegetable nan!
4: the bill was a little over £30. This gave you 2 mains, 1 rice, 1 nan, 2 sides and 1 large Gurkha beer, (the only real Nepalese food item, though ironically, brewed in the UK!).

There are a few Nepalese restaurants in the Hastings, St Leonard's, Bexhill area, it's worth trying them to compare.

Helpful?
Thank sdw1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gurkha Chef also viewed

Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 
Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 

Been to Gurkha Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing