We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gurkha Chef

Gurkha Chef
Ranked #39 of 357 Restaurants in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Nepalese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
hastings
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

The gurka chef food and staff are always of an excellent standard. Have recommended this restaurant to many friends

Helpful?
Thank w02phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    65
    6
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal, will definitely return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We went for a lovely meal here over the weekend, the food was amazing and not expensive, the atmosphere in the restaurant is nice, the service was a little bit slow but they were really busy so it is to be expected. Definitely book if you want a table on a weekend evening. We will most definitely be returning

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hastleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting, tasty food-will definitely return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

A group of us ate here last night and thoroughly enjoyed our evening. The food was interesting and a little more refined than the usual curry experience. The restaurant was very busy and a little chilly though we soon warmed up, thanks to the insulating attributes of alcohol. The service was good. We started off with a Gurkha beer (apparently brewed near Horsham), then went on to red wine-these were all reasonably priced, as was the food. The starters were very tasty with a fresh, slightly lighter appeal than some of the ghee heavy dishes found in many Indian restaurants (apologies to any Nepalese folks for the comparisons to Indian fare). The mains were really flavoursome. The naan breads (I always have cheese!) were far more like they are in India -really light and a world away from the heavy, cardboard like islands that are often served up in standard Indian restaurants. All of us enjoyed our meal, the variety of dishes made such a refreshing change. Having eaten at the Nepalese restaurant in Bexhill, which was not very welcoming, we will definitely return here soon!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ejd825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Winner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I are new-ish to St Leonards and this was luckily one of the first places where we ate out. Now having been 3 times and had their take-aways twice, we are SO impressed. The food is always absolutely delicious and very reasonably priced. We will be going back soon!

Helpful?
1 Thank MissyHeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
near London, England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Comfortable dining room but uninteresting food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

A most pleasant dining room and staff but the food was heavy and its flavours amorphous and flat. It was certainly cooked to order but yielded no sense of freshness. What more to say? A great disappointment, and certainly as compared with some years ago.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MisterNev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gurkha Chef also viewed

Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 
Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 

Been to Gurkha Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing