We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for Vegetarians” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gurkha Chef

Gurkha Chef
Ranked #52 of 351 Restaurants in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Nepalese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Good for Vegetarians”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had three vegetarians in our group and the restaurants vegetarian food was very good indeed. Fresh vegetables nicely cooked (still firm, not a mush) and served in interesting sauces. For vegetarian food I would give 4.5 stars. My chicken dish, on the other hand was only average. The sauce was good, but the chicken a little tough and overcooked.

Good quality naans and nice staff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim_H_from_Lincs_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    63
    6
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Addictive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We were introduced to Gurkha Chef by a friend and we were like, why hadn't we heard about this Restaurant before! They have a special Vegan/Vegetarian takeaway menu! Being vegetarian is sometimes quite tricky when ordering an Indian meal, not with Gurkha Chef! There is soooo much to choose from and everything we have had has been absolutely delicious!
I highly recommend! Yummy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Love777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best takeaway I've ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Need I say more?! The review says I need to put 100 characters or more so don't have a choice......;) The food was hot, full of flavour and much less greasy than other takeaways. Didn't leave me feeling uncomfortably full and no yucky after taste from onion overload. Perfect :)

Helpful?
1 Thank ll_butcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairlight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
“A pleasant suprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Nice people and good food at reasonable prices had been told about this place from a number of regulars but always put off by the outside appearance DON'T BE it was fine inside very laid back atmosphere a very nice curry with a difference would recommend and certainly revisit soon

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FairlightW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, Lancashire
Level Contributor
167 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Spot On.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We ate here on our last visit and the food was so good, we had to return.
It was early Saturday evening, there was a huge party in the cellar, but they managed to squeeze us in,
The food and service was top notch with lots of unusual sides and beautifully cooked mains.
Nice to see a restaurant maintaining its' high standards.
Recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank swampbeastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gurkha Chef also viewed

 
Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 

Been to Gurkha Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing