We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Divine breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Rectory
Ranked #3 of 49 Hastings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
228 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Divine breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We recently stayed for 2 nights. A beautiful old building with a fabulous garden in the old part of Hastings. A 5 minute walk from the seafront. The hospitality is warm and friendly. We arrived in the afternoon and were offered a tea tray with delicious home made cake. We were in the Ebenezer (plate) room. A large airy room overlooking the front. Plenty of seating, drawer and hanging space. Bathrobes supplied. Very comfortable bed. Great complementary tea tray. Ground coffee, selection of teas, homemade biscuits and fresh milk in a mini fridge in the hall. The breakfasts were superb. Tastiest bread I've had in ages, so crusty and fresh. Great sausages and bacon, perfectly cooked eggs. I only have one negative comment to make; the shampoo and shower gel are in beautiful glass jars which although lovely are not practical for bathrooms. I would also have liked a bit of shelf space and hooks in the bathroom. Small things but they would make a difference. I would recommend this B & B and would come back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
198
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Located in the old part of Hastings town and a short walk from the sea front - This is a lovely "Inn" with a stunning garden and very tasteful interior - The owners and the Manager Liam are all very helpful and friendly in a genuine way rather than just a tourist Hotelkeeper way. At Breakfast Liam becomes the Chef and the range on offer and quality is just great - Larger hotels should take note.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thefirmDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We only stayed a night but would stay longer.

The staff are friendly and welcoming

The rooms are beautiful and sooo comfortable with a relaxed homely feel

The food is incredible. Home made sausage and own cured bacon and baked beans. The menu diverse and full if flavour. I recommend the yogurt with prunes and honey and/or full English.

There is a large lounge to sit in and relax and a gorgeous garden which I didn't get to spend time in although my partner was very impressed

I would stay again every time I come here. So central and peaceful

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank virgo_liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop's Stortford, Herts, England
Level Contributor
392 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 456 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We arrived very early but were made most welcome and given delicious lemon cake and coffee/tea on arrival which was very pleasant and appreciated and no hint was given we were way before normal check in time ie a nuisance!

We were in 'Crown', our friends in 'Sinnock' . We both just loved 'Crown' the 'bathroom in the bedroom' was a hoot! We didn't at first twig about the loo, nor did our friends... great idea! The decor was fabulous, in 'Sinnock' very pleasant but 'Crown' stole the show.

'Crown' was a huge room, very light, lovely with the afternoon sun streaming in and with two chairs to sit in, lovely to relax and have a drink in after a day out. Dressing gowns were provided, a good beverage tray with superb fresh homemade shortbread biscuits. replenished daily was in the room. Far too tempting sweets were also on offer!! The bath towel was not very big and of medium quality.

The bed was very comfortable and I was delighted to find a proper feather duvet and pillows.. we slept very well... no noticeable outside noise despite 'Crown' being a road facing room.

Breakfast was SUPERB! I've never eaten so much each day as I did during our stay! The saute tomatoes on toast with basil was first class, the bacon thick and tasty, like it used to be! the sausages all meat and no fat, the omelette excellent our friend said and the kipper the best he'd ever had. The homemade bread and jam/marmalade was my undoing - they should sell the preserves - they are SO good! It's worth staying for the breakfasts alone!

The garden was beautiful but it was too chilly to sit in so we sat in the large comfortable lounge in the evening with a glass or wine then coffee. Being able to do this was a great added bonus.

Luke.. first class host.. recommended 'The Two Bulls' for dinner and it was spot on. I'd not have gone in, on it's outside appearance I must say.. but it would have been a huge loss! The steaks were excellent, the slow roast belly of pork ribs I had were the best EVER.. having worked in the hospitality industry I've eaten loads!

The Old Rectory is ideally located for exploring the old town and buses run right outside taking you to Rye.. we had a great day there.

The Old Rectory has set itself very high standards but needs to watch not dropping the odd stitch here and there. None of the following spoilt our stay in any way but.. one day the caffetiere in our room was not emptied, another, our coffee sachets were not replenished, we went to use the honesty bar to find only 3 wine glasses, one of which was very dirty and also had to ask for red wine as none was in the cabinet... we felt awkward putting the lady out as she was clearly off duty. The next day there were no wine glasses at all so we drank wine out of a tumbler! The milk portions in 'Sinnock' were 'use by Jan 2014' so were all off - fresh milk is provided in tiny fridges outside the rooms. The drinks cabinet was very dusty.

I would go back to the Old Rectory - and hope to do so, infact I'm sending my parents to stay there but our friends said they probably wouldn't as they felt for the price charged the little niggles put them off.

Overal we had a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dedicatedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

It is not often that I stay somewhere that is without fault, but this excels in every department. The manager Luke made us feel totally at home, in this beautiful and tranquil oasis. The attention to detail is unbelievable, and the location ideal for the attractions of Old Hastings. We stayed in Crown, which reminds us of Babington House, but for a fraction of the price. The breakfast is incredible, and the lounges sumptuous and elegant. The garden is mature and peaceful, with lovely views. We will not be strangers to this lovely venue.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dadmancat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

It short sells itself, wonderful rooms, excellent decor, lovely people welcoming you, and just perfect for a romantic getaway. But the best bit is the breakfast, just excellent. Would I go there again - for sure and would also happily recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mukul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

This was our first stay in a boutique hotel and we are so glad we picked The Old Rectory. When we arrived we were warmly greeted and enjoyed Tea and cake in the lounge while our room was prepared.

The room we stayed in The Ebenezer was beautiful, the furniture gorgeous, with huge bay windows with lots of natural light flooding through. The bed and covers were super comfy we slept like babies.

Breakfast was delicious and they catered for one of us being Vegan.

Overall we loved our stay, was very relaxing and felt like a home away from home. We miss it already and wish we could have stayed for more than one night. Definitely recommend this place, short stroll distance to the old town. Plus a beautiful private garden as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myb87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
1.4 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
1.0 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hastings House
Hastings House
#4 of 49 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Laindons
The Laindons
#1 of 49 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.9 mi away
Number 46
Number 46
#5 of 49 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Property: The Old Rectory
Address: The Old Rectory Harold Road, Hastings TN35 5ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the edge of Hastings historic old town, our gorgeous contemporary house and beautiful walled garden provides relaxed yet luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation. The Old Rectory was developed out of our desire to provide a truly beautiful and relaxing atmosphere to help you unwind and enjoy your stay in Hastings. A bed & breakfast for grown-ups, we aim to provide you with a warm welcome, coupled with a thoughtful and friendly service. From the use of fabulous locally sourced produce for our breakfasts, to also providing a venue to showcase the work of local artists and designers, we actively work to promote the best of everything Hastings and hope you will fall in love with it, as we did. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing