We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak for sure.”

White's Seafood & Steak Bar
Ranked #12 of 370 Restaurants in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Whites is in the heart of the old town of Hastings.With seating inside and out and doing the best seafood that Hastings has to offer.we try and use as much local produce as we can, using our own R.X fishing fleet for example.Our biggest seller by far is fresh English mussels, we sell in excess of 150 to 250 kilo's a week.And of course local haddock or cod with homemade tartar sauceOn the meat side we use a small independent country butchers, supplying the best British meat to offer.Please remember we do good food not fast food
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Steak for sure.”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

First time together. I had been disappointed on two previous visits with parents. We had been really nicely spoken to as we looked at the menu previously that we were dying to try it.
For me the steak was the best I've had in months. Longer locally!
It was perfectly cooked medium rare as requested.
I had gone for the surf and turf on the promise of tiger prawns!
The prawns were barely king prawn and that would have put me off ordering it had I been made aware.
Without it the steak was perfect and I can't stress that enough.

Helpful?
Thank WillBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    835
    294
    113
    55
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great evening”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just happened to be in Hastings. Chose at random. Best whitebait ever! We both had seafood stew which was plentiful and delicious, The staff were friendly, efficient and welcoming. All in all a great experience!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hettyholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really pleased to have found you.”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Five of us went for lunch and all ordered differently. We were all very happy with our meals and would all go back again, infact this restaurant would be our first choice when in Hastings, which sadly is not often enough. The food is well presented, delicious, plentiful and HOT, at reasonable prices. Hot food is a must for us. The staff and owner were attentive and polite and made us all feel welcome. Well done and keep it up.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RogerF706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great lunch in Hastings Old Town”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

First time in Hastings for 10 years...lovely day and ended up in the Old Town. Happened upon Whites and they had a table. I had Sea Bass and my husband had Dover Sole.....all cooked brilliantly with great chips too! Staff really helpful and friendly and service excellent. We will go back when next in Hastings. Well done to you all.....have a great summer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Leonards on sea
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesomeness!!!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

From the Atmosphere to the service, our night was amazing.. Chilled out staff with high standard, top quaility exceptional service.. It was myself and husbands Anniversary and the girls went out of there way to make us enjoy our evening.. Our meal was fantastic so a hats of to the kitchen team.. Thank you for a FABTASTIC evening Team Whites... David & Chris :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Radley2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White's Seafood & Steak Bar also viewed

Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 
Hastings, East Sussex
 
Hastings, East Sussex
 

Been to White's Seafood & Steak Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing