We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a shame”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hastings
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coghurst Hall Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“what a shame”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed over easter weekend and like a couple of other reviews some of the "customers" staying at the park made it like a warzone, this was not park holidays fault, but they should have been removed from the park.
had to move caravan after asking for a quiet place in park but given cold caravan behind noisy clubhouse.
was moved Friday around midnight to a better caravan. The park in such a beautiful place by a lake but too many caravans and cant park outside your caravan so sometimes had 5/10 min walk from car to caravan.
outside of both caravans we had were dirty, but ok inside. May use parks holidays again but not coghurst hall again!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet part of the park!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berkshire_royal_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Coghurst Hall Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are working hard to remove several caravans of the park, we have fourteen being removed over the next two weeks.

Unfortunately we are behind on this due to the bad weather in February and March, but hope to get this process completed soon.

We hope you will return again to our park in the near future.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    152
    124
    94
    166
See reviews for
399
117
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Not normally one to write a review but I needed to this time. We spent the Easter weekend at Coghurst Hall as we thought we'd try somewhere different, however it was the worst caravan park I have ever been too!

Reception staff - unhelpful, we arrived early to be told we had to wait until our checking in time at 4pm, he couldn't be bothered to see if our van was ready.
Parking - there is not enough, it was parking wars outside the caravans
Club - I have never been to a holiday park that needed 'bouncers' on the door - maybe it was due to the number of Travellers there, was like being on 'big fat gypsy wedding'
Shop - closes from 1-2pm or earlier if they feel like it!
Pets - there was nowhere we could easily take our lab for a walk
All in all we would never go there again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Coghurst Hall Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us. I do find it strange that you found our Reception staff unhelpful, we do have check-in times for a reason as we need to clean the holiday homes thoroughly after the previous guests have checked out.

Unfortunately Easter is a very busy period and parking can be pressured.

Thank you again for your feedback. I do hope this will not put off returning in the future to Coghust Hall Holiday Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I was so disgusted with my visit over Easter that I felt compelled to write a review. Upon arrival we were totally ignored by reception staff, we were made to feel extremely unwelcome. After some time we were informed that we would have to to wait until 4pm for the keys to our caravan as they were supposedly still being "cleaned". So, we waited 30 minutes where we soon discovered the keys had all along been at the reception along with everyone else's checking in that afternoon. The reception area soon became chaotic and quickly filled up with people complaining about dirty/mouldy caravans all while new visitors were trying to check in.

We finally got to the Caravan and were shocked and appalled to discover how filthy it was. Human excrement in the toilet and on the cubical walls. Holes in the walls of the caravan, blood and crumbs on the mattress protector. Cigarette butts on the steps and area leading up to the caravan. No bin, TV did not work, no hot water, no fire, shower did not work, no net curtains, no fire extinguisher, cobwebs in the children's bedrooms, filthy windows. No hoover or iron in the caravan and it had clearly not been hoovered or swept in a LONG time. Food on the chairs. No where to park. The list is endless. Decided to go over to the main reception and speak to the manager who was extremely unsympathetic and unhelpful, she has a serious attitude problem which is harming the first impression of this dive. Most of the problems were never rectified during our stay.

Club House is tiny with staff just wondering around telling everyone they themselves won't be returning next season because they hate the place!!! Alcohol being served at 10am!!!!...To bunches of already rowdy people. No entertainment for the children as advertised. During the evening there were a lot of Irish travellers, causing havoc and overtaking the place. Some of their children were caught pickpocketing but their parents just claimed the children were not theirs! The evening entertainment was Irish folk and electric fiddle music. We left because we just felt that at any minute the place was going to kick off. Felt extremely unsafe there with my small children. The next morning, again no entertainment for the children, the place was filled with filthy pizza boxes on the tables, plates and glasses on the floor because there were no more room on the tables. Hideous! Didn't bother with the pool, it looked horrendous and no way was I putting my children in such a filthy pool.

Lots of rubbish everywhere and caravans with wires hanging out from underneath so we couldn't let the children play outside. Play area dangerous and uninspiring.

I have since read some of the complaints on Trip Advisor and it seems these problems have been going on for over a year and the reply comments from Management seem to just state they "are doing everything to improve the site"....well how long does it take? The site is dangerous and needs a massive overhaul ASAP before a child is seriously injured. I will be sending a personal letter of complaint to the Head Office but I'm not holding out much hope they will bother to respond, which just goes to show how little they care about their customers.

I have never felt so glad to get home. Avoid and find a safe, clean holiday park elsewhere where customers matter.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank H3328YJmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Coghurst Hall Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we use both positive and negative points of view to help improve our service and standards going forward.

If you have written a complaint to us you will be hearing from us very shortly.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We spent a very happy week at Coghurst hall and all the staff, from reception to bar staff were friendly and helpful. We took a gold plus caravan for the second week of the Easter holidays. The party consisted of two teenage boys, their grandmother and me (mother!). We arrived about 4pm and collected the key to our caravan which we were told was in D field. The caravan itself was very nice (2 toilets!) and had very comfortable seating which was important for my mother-in-law who suffers from a bad hip. D Field turned out to be at the bottom of the park - we couldn't park near the caravan and the surrounding ground was uneven with broken paving stones. I was concerned that my mother-in-law might trip so I went back to reception to see whether it was possible to move to a caravan in a more accessible area. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and although it wasn't possible to move that day, they arranged for us to move a day later. I know it wasn't easy to swop us and involved cleaning the caravan again, making up the beds etc. They staff were friendly, understanding and very accommodating and thanks to them we had a fantastic week. With hindsight, it would have been a good idea for us to explain our circumstances at the time of booking and to request a caravan with good access and close proximity to the club house,

Room Tip: Request a specific location of the caravan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Coghurst Hall Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to put a very positive review on Tripadvisor.

I will pass your kind comments on to the team and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Booked here with a party of two other families for the Easter bank holiday weekend. We all booked silver caravans so we could all be situated near one another. When we arrived we were told we couldn't check in until 4pm by very unfriendly reception staff so we waited for half an hour with every other person waiting to checked in. By this time there were various other people coming in from the 2pm check-in complaining about their caravans. Obviously, overhearing these complaints we all started to feel very apprehensive about what we would find.

Once we had the keys to our caravans, we were pretty alarmed at the state of all three of them. Floors were filthy, no hot water, ants on the work tops of one of the caravans. None of the TVs worked, cigarettes outside the caravan, dirty pants left in one of the single bedrooms, fires didn't work. Toilet bowl had feces all around the loo bowl and wall of the cubical, dirty windows with sticky handprints, one of the caravans had a drainage problem. We decided to go over to the reception to complain but was greeted with a very unpleasant reception manager, she didn't even bother to apologise and just called the head cleaner to go and inspect only ONE of the caravans!

There was no entertainment during the day for the children as advertised in the welcome pack, bearing in mind this was Easter this was very disappointing. When we quested this, we were told by the children's entertainer that it wasn't "her day" (even though it is advertised there is entertainment every morning!) but she would try to find something to do. In the end a game of plastic bowling was set up. The following day, the Manager overseeing the club house had a complete and utter melt down when asked if he could put on some up to date relevant music for the children. It was children's hour but they were playing slow 80's music. He shouted he "hated his job and was sick of people asking him for requests!". The next night the lady who was responsible for overseeing the children's entertainment broke down crying when up on stage introducing the children's bunny because she was "ill and overworked".

Lastly, the children's play area by the club house is extremely dangerous, I have added pictures.

Overall this resort is filthy, with staff moral problems. I would never ever return or recommend. Avoid!

Room Tip: Avoid caravans in the "Gardens" area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olipops78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Coghurst Hall Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for posting a review and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your visit.

We do use all comments to improve our product and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Sorry I have taken my time to review, you kindly opened the park early when our original holiday park was flooded. All staff including the maintenance men, entertainment staff and the reception staff made us feel special - my grandaughter loved dancing with Loopy and all in all a great time was had by all.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Coghurst Hall Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for posting a very positive review on Tripadvisor.

We hope to see you back on Park again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a 3 night bank holiday break, well I now know what happend to the Dale Farm residents. Every night the clubhouse full of gypsys, kids fighting each other, stealing money, smoking in the toilets which was not nice taking a 2 and 5 year old to. They are running the place, even the music is tailored for them. Felt uncomfertable so didnt stay all night in the clubhouse. Security a joke, not once asked to show our passes so anyone could be on site. Very badly lit site, was in a gold plus caravan which was no better than a bronze at a push. Couldnt get in the pool, one in one out basis. Overall all staff very rude other than reception especially lifeguard. Childrens play area a joke. I will never stay with this company again. I have given the place 1 star as we made the most of hastings and rye.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank chloeh0882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Coghurst Hall Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review and post your thoughts.

We do take all your comments seriously and try to improve when we receive constructive feedback

We hope this does not put you off returning in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
3.6 mi away
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
584 reviews
9.4 mi away
Camber Sands Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Sherwood Guest House
Sherwood Guest House
#41 of 47 in Hastings
53 reviews
1.2 mi away
Spindlewood Country Holiday Park
2.5 mi away
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
#3 of 11 in Hastings
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coghurst Hall Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coghurst Hall Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK

Property: Coghurst Hall Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Address: Coghurst Hall Holiday Park Ivyhouse Lane | Ore, Hastings TN35 4NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Hastings
Number of rooms: 800
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The focal point of the Park is its impressive lake which is well stocked and includes some monster carp.The clubhouse has recently undergone a major refurbishment so you can lord it up in plush surroundings. Our indoor pool is unique and gives the impression you could be swimming through underground caves! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coghurst Hall Holiday Parks Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing