We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winners again.”
Review of Undercliffe House

Undercliffe House
Ranked #33 of 360 Restaurants in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Far from the madding crowd, under the cliff at the car park end of rock-a-nore road. we are known for our top quality fresh food at reasonable prices. dog & child friendly and fully licensed. free parking available nearby after 6pm.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Winners again.”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

My husband and I went yesterday the 8th January 2013 to the Undercliffe, this has been one of our favourites for a long time, but have not been for a couple of months, as usual we had a very friendly welcome, and the food was excellent.
If you are in the old town of Hastings don't miss it , even if you just want a cream tea! they do great scones and real Cornish cream, even better than I received in Cornwall last year.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacqueline w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    26
    10
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alberobello, Italy
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good Fish but clean up your act”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Stopped by for lunch in view of the positive reviews. Good friendly staff, great background music and some excellent fresh fish very well cooked - in fact we saw them pop out and buy it from the market. However we will not be returning as in our opinion the place was dirty. The floor and toilets were grim and there was no excuse, as the place was not busy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBattlePs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Can't believe it after reading reviews!”
Reviewed 22 December 2012 via mobile

Really, really slow service, but we were persuaded to hang around by previous ta reviews.

What a horrible mistake. We waited for ages despite the place being nearly empty, it was so noisy at 20% capacity, I hate to think what its like when full.

The prices seemed a little high but we saw this as reassurance of the quality, turns out it was just standard and nothing more, my meal was incomplete.

The worst thing was that there was a family intent on ignoring their screaming child the entire time we were there. I don't see this as the manager/owner's responsibility per se but the comfort and dining experience of his customers is. We were not comfortable and had a thoroughly poor dining experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robertBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect burgers!”
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Day trip to hastings and stoped for some lunch, the burgers are lush! And the hot chocolate with the cream and marshmellows is deffenatly a must have! The sevice is amazing and very friendly! Deff will be back! 5 stars!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 4 December 2012 via mobile

Frendly stmosphere ,wunderful service n delicious fresh fish. We will definitely come back here.

Andy, runs d place, is definitely a great guy n offers good hospitality..

Anyone makin a trip to hastings shall make this restaurant as a must check-in. Cheerzz

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iddnezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Undercliffe House also viewed

Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 
Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 
Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 

Been to Undercliffe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing