We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Confortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Victoria Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Milton Keynes
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Clean and Confortable”
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Checked in for a 2 night stay in November. Room very spacious and clean. Unusual feature of having a Grade II listed staircase!
Pleasant and welcoming staff.
Breakfast a little pricey, but other than that a good stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1968ajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    321
    175
    91
    44
See reviews for
175
398
32
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We booked a suite for four nights in October and asked that a parking space be reserved on the forecourt. They confirmed by email that this had been done but when we arrived there were no spaces. For the remainder of our visit it was luck as to whether we could park there or not. The room we were given was clean and well furnished but let down by a CRT 21" TV with very limited channels that was so bad we couldn't watch it and on some stations even hear what was being said as the sound was so distorted. On the plus side however, after having reported the problem to reception the next morning we were given a different one. The only problem then was that it was just swapped with one from another room, not solving the problem but just passing it on to someone else. On the plus side, the staff were efficient and friendly and the breakfast good. The experience was spoilt by the two little niggles reported above which could easily have been avoided.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakegsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2011

i stayed at the hotel for 4 nights from the 27th to the 31st of october the staff were wonderfull and the bedroom plenty big enough over looking the sea but the floor boards were crecky thats the only fault i had with the place and my windows that had to have tissue over the gap to stop the wind blowing in .but apart from that it was a great place .thank you to the staff .i was only there as i went to a signing with tombaker at st micheals hospice on the sunday

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We went for one night only and we were really nicely surprised. We had big Victorian style room with connected lounge area and bathroom; all of them were very specious nicely decorated and clean.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wd78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This hotel is great value if you book their bed, breakfast, dinner plan for your visit. The staff at the hotel are outstanding. Emily at reception, Andre, Michael, Ellie, Louise and Juan in the restaurant, along with Daniel were so helpful and pleasant to us. Andre is a master in the dining room and he will look after you perfectly! He added special touches to the decor of our table to make it look beautiful. Michael is a fountain of information on any topic. Juan, Ellie and Louise will look after your every need and chat with you. We loved this hotel and we loved the staff! They made us feel so welcome and we would happily return at any opportunity. The food was excellent! Wonderful experience which will long be remembered.
Alan Bell and Janice Veniot Bell Canada

Room Tip: Get a suite with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMVHalifax_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed at the Royal Victoria (room 414) on Sunday 2 October 2011 and it was a very unpleasant experience.

Our mattress was so bad we had to put the spare blanket and the bed spread on it to relieve the discomfort of the springs. We had very little sleep that night.

In the morning we found the shower was broken and couldn't be used.

We went to the Bar in the evening at about 9 and it was already closed. There seemed to be a general shortage of staff.

The reception staff were polite but not at all welcoming.

And yes the room was spacious and clean but don't think that is enough to make us want to stay there again.

Room Tip: Check the bed and the facilities within the room before accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hastings hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Uk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Stayed for 3 wonderful nights in this hotel- our room was enormous- fantastic sea view - talking to other visitors they agreed the rooms were very big. Lots of renovation work has been tastefully done to the Hotel especially the marbled staircase up from the entrance hall to the dining room. Food was excellent and the staff were a credit to the owners, Andre, Michael, Juan from Barcelona and the Duty Manager (Darren I think ) along with Helena the Russian lady who was also top rate. Thank you guys for working so hard to make our stay memorable , especially on the Thursday Night when 2 people booked for dinner and then the whole world decided to stay in for the fantastic meal prepared by our Romania Chef- he was excellent. So well done to the owners who were around to greet us and who have put a lot of money into refurbishing the hotel. Thank you Jenny & John

Room Tip: Ask for Room 329- front room corner of building sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willow15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.3 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.8 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#6 of 11 in Hastings
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#5 of 11 in Hastings
591 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
#3 of 11 in Hastings
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria Hotel

Property: Royal Victoria Hotel
Address: Marina, Hastings TN38 0BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the picturesque Hastings seafront, the Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel provides high standards of comfort and hospitality. Whether you are looking to explore the offerings of the East Sussex coastline or just want to stay at a quality hotel in Hastings, we are confident you will enjoy your stay with us. This elegant Victorian hotel has tastefully furnished bedrooms and suites, renowned Sea Terrace Restaurant & piano bar and conference & banqueting facilities with views across the English Channel and to Beachy Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hastings
St. Leonards-On-Sea Best Western
Hastings Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing