We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Hotel with sea views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Victoria Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Traditional Hotel with sea views”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I only stayed one night and definately not in season so the price was OK. Breakfast was very good as well and served in a light airy room with lots oe windows overlooking the sea. I was booked into an ordinary double but when I opened the door I was amazed at the spacious and warm suite that awaited me. Sea view from both windows and though there was some traffic noise I could just hear the waves on the beach. Out of season a quiet business hotel and very well priced

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wjwrightLeominster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    321
    175
    91
    44
See reviews for
175
398
32
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Oh dear.

Cracking location and surprisingly good food but just crying out for a major injection of cash. The staff are lovely and trying their best but this lovely old gem is just thirty years adrift from reality.

Good luck chaps

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surgeoncyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Friendly staff. Brilliant family room. Disappointed with no pot of tea or cafetierre of coffee for our breakfast table. Make your own tea in a cup with non- boiling water isn't good for tea.
This is unusual for Best western.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lockerscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We booked to stay at the Royal Victoria the last weekend in November. We booked for 2 nights. On our arrival on the Friday the receptionist said we were only booked in for 1 night, after a lot of work on the computer she changed our room booking. We were only booked in for room only, she never mentioned what time or how we could order breakfast. The room overlooked the sea and the sound with the windows open was lovely.

The room whilst being quite large, was old fashioned, and I could not believe they still provide blankets and sheets rather than duvets. No other member of staff ever spoke to us until we checked out on the Sunday - rather disappointing compared with our stay at the Best Western in Cambridge, which is still the best we have stayed in.

Room Tip: definately ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greekaholics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed at the hotel on Saturday 28th January 2012, having attended a dinner dance there. The dinner dance was held in the conservatory and the layout was perfect. The food was well cooked and nicely presented. The hotel is a lovely building and our room was very nice with a lovely sea view.
The staff were all very pleasant and helpful.
Would certainly recommend it to anyone

Room Tip: We did ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My fiance took to Hastings, for what he thought would be a romantic and interesting stay, what this it's history.

We took the train, arrived at the hotel stayed for 20mins and left. It was so bad, the bed was small, everything needed to be gutted and started again, It looked like the last refurb was 1980, nothing has been changed. We paid and left and went straight home. No one goes away to stay in a room that isn't as nice or nicer than the one they stay in everynight! Please sort it out, the hotel has potential.

The view was nice, but that's all. I couldn't have slept in that bed, I was upset and so was my fiance.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuJuLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hastings hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The dining room of this hotel has a wonderful view out to sea. Much has been spent on decor and it is looking very smart. Engaging, polite and helpful waiter takes your starter and main orders, if you are not having the plentiful Sunday Carvery. Nice bar area to enjoy your pre lunch drink. Perfectly acceptable lunch and it is worth noting the owner and his wife dine in the restaurant with the guests.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chivesdiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.3 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.8 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#6 of 11 in Hastings
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#5 of 11 in Hastings
591 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
#3 of 11 in Hastings
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria Hotel

Property: Royal Victoria Hotel
Address: Marina, Hastings TN38 0BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the picturesque Hastings seafront, the Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel provides high standards of comfort and hospitality. Whether you are looking to explore the offerings of the East Sussex coastline or just want to stay at a quality hotel in Hastings, we are confident you will enjoy your stay with us. This elegant Victorian hotel has tastefully furnished bedrooms and suites, renowned Sea Terrace Restaurant & piano bar and conference & banqueting facilities with views across the English Channel and to Beachy Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hastings
St. Leonards-On-Sea Best Western
Hastings Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing