We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A blast from the past”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A blast from the past”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Lovely hotel, clean and nicely decorated, but old fashioned to a large degree. Food great, but all only warm, not hot!!!
They welcomed our small, quiet dog with no fuss.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are worth any extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CareFree5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    312
    172
    91
    42
See reviews for
169
389
32
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
270 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights at this very old classic hotel just across the street from The English Channel. Our visit was in October and considering that hotel is primarily a summer location due to the beach etc. we were able to book a suite on the fourth floor with a great view of the beach and the Channel. There was ample parking for the few residense but in season there would have been a problem. Our primary complaint was with their restaurant. Breakfast was not included which is very unusual for England/Europe and there were no other restaurants nearby for breakfast so we had no choice but to pay their rather high rate for the little they provided. Then their dinner menu was so extensive and expensive we decided to find other locations for dinner. There was a great small Italian restaurant about 3 short blocks away that served some of the best Italian food I ever had. We couldn't believe how good it was and very reasonable, unfortunately I can't remember the name but if you make a left as you walk out of the hotel and walk about 3 blocks you can't miss it. It's on your side of the street.
When we arrived and entered the lobby is was liking going back a hundred years. Talk about retro, this place hasn't been renovated since Queen Victoria visited and that was a long time ago. It was novel and classic. Our room was also very old but comfortable. One of the 5 largest rooms we have occupied in all our time traveling to The UK and Europe and we have been in a lot of rooms over the past 23 years. The only problem we had was there were no blinds for the windows so it got very warm during the day but they did provide a small fan which helped a little. Then we didn't spend much time in the room during the day because there is so much to see nearby. Rye is a wonderful town within a short drive so we spent 1 day in that area and then we spent another entire day at Dover Castle. A must see for W W II ihistory buff. Situated on top the White Cliffs of Dover this historic site is one of the United Kingdom's Historic Locations and one of the highlites of that 2 week holiday. If we ever return to hastings we would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room on the fourth floor overlooking the channel was top shelf and would ask for that room again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
530 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We received a friendly and efficient welcome which was indicative of our dealings with staff during our stay. The exterior of the hotel has been decorated so is better looking than the last time we stayed a couple of years ago, but the room which was very clean could do with some new furniture as it was showing signs of wear and tear. The food was good and not overpriced with the breakfast waiter being quite entertaining. The hotel has great views of the sea front as it is right on it

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed for a weekend with the family and the dogs. The hotel is a bit out of Hastings away from the Old Town, but you can walk it. The hotel was a bit faded, probably was once very grand, but the service was good and the staff werevery friendly.

The marina was opposite, and you can walk to the beach across the road. The parking was very limited and we had to leave the car behind the hotel in a back street.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marnie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
262 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The exterior of the hotel is a fine example of Victorian design and architecture. The reception staff were unwelcoming and disinterested in their jobs and just seemed to be going through the motions. The service in the dining area was slow and unprofessional in the evening and by contrast it was very good at the breakfast. The view from the window is superb.

Room Tip: The rooms are spacious and well appointed too. Ask for a sew view as the views are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristopherAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed here 2 years ago on driving past and noticing the location on sea front which appealed to us and had a seafront suite of rooms. Booked the same room in December 2011 and came back again twice in January 2012 whilst on holiday in UK. Seafront suites are spacious and to wake up looking at the ocean, even in the winter, was wonderful. Hotel is old and floors creak but it is a grand old place that we were very comfortable staying in. Breakfasts always great. Reception staff absolutely wonderful. Helpful in every way. Parking outside hotel which is a bonus. Stayed in other hotels in the area previously but prefer this one so will always come back here but must have sea front room if possible. Had a back room on one occasion as hotel full and we hadn't booked which was fine but view is worth the extra cost.

Room Tip: Sea front suite, 310 best we had, having stayed 5 times in past 2 years.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saunders2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
255 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Very reasonably priced, typical Best Western standard. The room was adequate, the breakfast was great, the staff were excellent. And the location was great.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.5 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.3 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
135 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
568 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
244 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#8 of 11 in Hastings
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel

Property: Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
Address: Marina, Hastings TN38 0BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the picturesque Hastings seafront, the Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel provides high standards of comfort and hospitality. Whether you are looking to explore the offerings of the East Sussex coastline or just want to stay at a quality hotel in Hastings, we are confident you will enjoy your stay with us. This elegant Victorian hotel has tastefully furnished bedrooms and suites, renowned Sea Terrace Restaurant & piano bar and conference & banqueting facilities with views across the English Channel and to Beachy Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hastings
St. Leonards-On-Sea Best Western
Hastings Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing