We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beautiful and elegant hotel ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Most beautiful and elegant hotel ever!”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights in 2011 and were hugely impressed with the beautiful interior. The staff were pleasant, friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and very comfortable and there were ample facilities for making hot drinks in our room.

All in all we were very comfortable and enjoyed our stay very much. We had a very enjoyable breakfast but wanted to explore restaurants in the town, so didn't eat in. However, the menu did look very nice, albeit a bit pricey.

I was also excited to see the Royal Victoria featured in Foyle's War!

If we are in Hastings again, we would be very happy to return to the Royal Victoria.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    318
    174
    91
    42
See reviews for
173
392
32
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed at the Royal Victoria Hotel last weekend just on a whim as we were in Hastings, the building is amazing the staff fantastically quirky, having stayed in some of the wonderful boutique hotels Hastings has to offer, we actually prefered this place, definitely the way forward, value for money, old school grandeur, fantastic views and lots of laughs what more could you want.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janineb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

On a windy Sunday we decided to try Sunday Lunch at the Royal Victoria Hotel. This was simply the best Sunday Lunch we have ever had (home cooking excluded). The Beef was melt in the mouth and superbly cooked as was the pork and |turkey (I has all three meats). The roast potatoes were wonderfully crisp as were the Yorkshire puddings. All vegetables were tasty and cooked to perfection. The horseradish sauce was beautiful and the gravy .......! I could go on. The puddings were a delight. All in all a superb meal, with attentive staff and a great view of the lashing waves - and all for £12.95 each. Will we go again - silly question!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed a single Sunday night on a D.B&B deal for £115.
Room 413 was spacious with a sea view -
We did have to clean off the salt spray to see the sea.
The room was about 20ft square with a comfortable bed.
The bathroom was bit dated but perfectly adequate.
Our evening meal and breakfast were tasty and well presented.
We felt we had value for money.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms may require a bit of elbow grease on the wondows on your part but we thought it wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retiredvacationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

A stay here is excellent. Fantastic huge room with sea view. It's an old fashioned grand hotel that is trying to provide good quality stay for guests. A generous breakfast with a lively member of staff. Good reception staff. Clean and with character.
This hotel really should be used by more people. It is charming and quiet and in a good location - handy park behind the hotel offers a beautiful haven too.
It's clear that the hotel is spending time and money to offer guests an even better hotel. This hotel is great - we love it's charm and grandeur.....

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Well, we never ate here so can't comment on the restaurant facilities BUT as a place to lay our heads for the night, it represented extremely good value. A spacious room, first class, friendly reception staff and a seafront location all for less than £50.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swampbeastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Asked for a seaview room and thats exactly what we recieved. Was amazing,very relaxing to hear the sea at night.Very short walk across a road to the sea front.Was perfect.A fair walk to all the Hastings attractions but great if the weather is on your side.Room was as expected, average decoration and facilities.Breakfast was delicious,didnt have dinner in the hotel but seemed a good enough menu. Loads of seafront restaurants to choose from.would stay there again. :-)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyliewattsup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.3 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.8 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
584 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
246 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
#3 of 11 in Hastings
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel

Property: Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
Address: Marina, Hastings TN38 0BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the picturesque Hastings seafront, the Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel provides high standards of comfort and hospitality. Whether you are looking to explore the offerings of the East Sussex coastline or just want to stay at a quality hotel in Hastings, we are confident you will enjoy your stay with us. This elegant Victorian hotel has tastefully furnished bedrooms and suites, renowned Sea Terrace Restaurant & piano bar and conference & banqueting facilities with views across the English Channel and to Beachy Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HRS, Priceline, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hastings
St. Leonards-On-Sea Best Western
Hastings Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing