We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hastings Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Victoria Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Check in at the hotel was done in a friendly and efficient manner. Cleanliness throughout the hotel was good. We opted not to take breakfast as it was rather pricey at £10.50 for a continental and £13.50 for cooked and there are plenty of good cafes in the town about 10 to 15 mins walk away. We did use the bar in the evening which was very quiet with only one other guest using the facility, prices were a little higher than in the town as you would expect of a hotel.
If visiting this area again I would consider staying as the price is very reasonable at £55 per night for a double room.

Room Tip: If you are about to book a room in this hotel, request a sea view as ther is scaffolding along the r...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAP700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (859)
There are newer reviews for Royal Victoria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

726 - 732 of 859 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed here for one night while visiting family in the area and were very impressed. We had a very spacious, well decorated suite with a sea view for £55 per night! Would highly recommended for a short break.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenfaisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

A typical quirky Best Western hotel
Spotlessly clean ,friendly staff verygood breakfast
very good value for money with excellent setting on seafront
all in all a comfortable stay and i am having to woffle on to make 200 characters when i have said all i want to

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davenhazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Clearly a lot of work has gone into decorating the outside of this beautiful early 1900's building. The internal marble staircase could easily give a wow factor if only the decor was given some much needed TLC. There is no excuse for dead flowers, dusty plants and poor service. A piano bar sounds delightful, it was just a shame no-one tinkled the ivories as I would have enjoyed a drink from the bar at the end of the night, looking out over the sea. We had a family room, at £50 a night, having stayed the night before at a premier inn for the same price, the premier inn won hands down. The Royal's room was large & clean and they were the best points. We were prepared to overlook all of this until breakfast. Breakfast was a joke. A self service buffet, choosing from continental (£10) or full cooked (£13). We were a bit put out at having to serve ourselves the cooked breakfast for this price but gave it a go. Juices were warm, only semi skimmed milk, no healthy option cereal and "happy shopper" yogurt!!!!! I requested a jug of iced water which was clearly a big effort to deliver by the least customer focussed waitress I have ever met. An elderly couple requested a hot milk and a milky coffee, they may well have asked for the moon as it took 4 attempts for the waitress to take on board the request. Dirty linen, dirty crockery, poor service, over priced, over cooked but good sea view!!!! So on our departure I made our feelings known and gave them feedback of our experience... oh apparently all hotels only serve skimmed milk they dont offer a choice, but had I requested skimmed milk when I booked they would have tried to accommodate my request. Dont worry about my strange request for skimmed milk, I WILL NOT BE RETURNING! Best Western Royal Victoria, go and take a look at Best Western Quy Mill, Cambs and take note!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mstewart188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

The hotel is very smart from the outside. A brilliant white frontage that stands out amongst the other buildings. The actual hotel car park near the entrance only holds 6-8 vehicles. However there is free parking around the outside of the hotel and a Pay/display car park opposite is free to park from 6pm to 9am.

Check in was quick and professionally handled. I was pleasantly surprised by the size of my double room with sea views. I would agree with other comments that if you are a light sleeper then the sash windows do not adequately mask the traffic noise. Tea/coffee and biscuis in the rooms as standard. There was also a fridge in my room which was welcomed with the recent hot weather.

The free wifi which is free without any catches had a strong signal in the bar areas. However as you went higher in the hotel the signal became very weak.

I ate most evenings in the Piano bar and found the menu extremely reasonable with large portions. The hotel also offer a childrens menu in the bar area. Food was delivered to my table swiftly and was delicious.

Overall I was very pleased with location of the hotel and the sea views from my room, the restaurant and the piano bar. I would certainly recommend it.

However don't forget to pack ear plugs if you have a sea view and are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Lower floors close to restaurant area should have a stronger wifi signal. Views of the sea from the...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Stayed two nights. For me, I look for basic items like power shower, not a mixer tap with shower attachment, decent size bed with duvet, modern TV. Then I look at the food, ambience etc.. Yes the hotel does enjoy some old classic features on the first floor but the "feel" of the hotel is ruined by the management. Reception staff are not top drawer, indifferent at times and this sets the tone. At breakfast the waiters are too lazy to pour you your coffee or tea instead telling you to pour your own and then wobble back to your table trying not to spill your drink on the way. Breakfast is buffet and of course, you collect it yourself as its not freshly cooked, mostly luke warm. The rooms and corridors have been decorated with all the expensive items in the rooms left in the 1970's decade with old small beds and blankets?? who uses blankets these days?The bedrooms also have carpets popular in the 70's. All in all, I guess you get what you pay for I guess.... we paid £72 for the room and £10 each for breakfast. Just about worth it........ just about.

The ground floor is completely under utilised. Chairs stacked in the 1st floor corridor and dirty towels left on the stairs. Very poor management!

Finally, the windows had gaping gaps of at least 1/4" through which the wind howled and ballooned the curtains all night. I pity those staying mid winter! Won't ever go back to a Great Western hotel again...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Having read previous reviews I didn't have high expectatinos but actually it wasnt as bad as I was expecting.

It has recently had a good repaint outside and looks good and the room was very spacious, bed perfectly comfortable, bathroom fine too and I had a good nights sleep. Only noise I could hear was people walking up and down the adjoining stairs in the morning. Furniture typical of Best Western ,not modern but perfectly acceptable although the room would look better without the "pizza" carpet!

One reason I selected this hotel was the free wifi but be aware, this does not extend as far as the end rooms of the corridor. Breakfast was far too expensive so I enjoyed a nice fry up in one of the many cafes / bistros a short drive away in Hastings town centre.

I got the room online for £54 which I thought was great value for money.

Room Tip: Beware that wifi does not extend to the furthest rooms along the corridor
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyUK1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.3 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
1.0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
442 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
608 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#8 of 11 in Hastings
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria Hotel

Address: Marina, Hastings TN38 0BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: £47 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the picturesque Hastings seafront, the Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel provides high standards of comfort and hospitality. Whether you are looking to explore the offerings of the East Sussex coastline or just want to stay at a quality hotel in Hastings, we are confident you will enjoy your stay with us. This elegant Victorian hotel has tastefully furnished bedrooms and suites, renowned Sea Terrace Restaurant & piano bar and conference & banqueting facilities with views across the English Channel and to Beachy Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hastings
St. Leonards-On-Sea Best Western
Hastings Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing