We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel St Leonards On Sea East Sussex UK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Victoria Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed the 20th-22nd of October 2013. We were in room 506 not a sea view which we didn't mind. The room was very big in fact it was a suite and was very comfortable,lots of hot water and a very comfortable bed .We ate in the hotel on the first night and paid 17.50 pounds each for a two course meal which was very tasty with decent portions:).The hotel is situated centrally and is a short car/bus ride into Hastings.
We will be staying again in the near future.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank harvey47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (859)
There are newer reviews for Royal Victoria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

652 - 658 of 859 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

I drove from Lancashire and on my long drive I booked this hotel over the phone. The young man who booked me in took my card details to reserve my room, and I told him I'd get there near midnight and would be tired. I arrived about 11-45pm to be greeted by 2 people on the desk who didn't seem to know what they were doing. They could not find my booking, but more weird was silence from them. I waited at reception for about 15-20 minutes and kept asking them if they had found my booking, only to get a flat "no". In the end I insisted this was dealt with in the morning and that I was allowed to go to my room. They took payment off my card (before I had seen my room!) and off I went through a tired and very dated hotel with tacky furniture, tired decor and plastic flower bouquets! (Think of the shining but not as nice)
I got to my room and on entering became immediately aware that this room was filthy, with a dirty, tired carpet from the 80's in the room, an old box television that was not fully functional, and a bed that not only should have been replaced years previously, but the bed linen was a cotton sheet with a dirty, smelly, itchy woolen blanket on top (no quilt or duvet). What was very strange was that there were light bulbs not working and the room was an even more depressing place for it! I the looked for the bathroom to find it was down a small set of stairs, again covered in dirty, dated carpet. The bathroom was filthy! The smell of stale urine was overpowering and the bath, sink, and toilet were a disgrace! If I had not already paid for my room on check in I would have left in the middle of the night and gone to another hotel, but more the fool me for being talked into paying before viewing my room! After a bad nights sleep I went to breakfast which was terrible. From the breakfast display you got the impression the staff really could not be bothered. Very poor! I ordered smoked haddock and poached eggs, and when it came it was disgusting I asked for lightly done eggs-they were hard boiled and grey looking. The haddock was microwaved from frozen an was like rubber! The waiting on staff gave you the impression they really didn't want to be bothered so I just left without eating my breakfast. I called the hotel manager after leaving to complain, and he offered to 'make it up to me when I was next in the area'. I told him that unless there was a total overhaul on this hotel I would not consider reliving such an experience, and that a refund would be more appropriate. He told me he would speak to the owner and get back to me, but after 2 days of silence I called him again. He told me he had yet to speak to the owner! It has been over 3 weeks now and still no call! I would strongly advise not to consider a stay at this hell hole, and instead try the best western in Eastbourne, which I checked into the next day. I was told by a member of staff who shall remain anonymous that the royal Victoria in Hastings had come under investigation more than once in the past and that they regularly got disgruntled customers staying with them who had checked out of the royal Vic! All in all I can honestly say the royal Victoria in Hastings is one of, if not the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, and I live out of a suitcase 4 days a week!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
6  Thank hotel_raconteur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We've stayed here a few times now and have never been disappointed. It's a wonderful old hotel and the rooms are nicely decorated to match. Yes a few things are a bit tired here and there but for the price and sea-side location you can't ask for better value than this. Only complaint is the beds are a bit firm.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The new thing in this hotel is wifi. The TV is the same as the one I had 20 years ago. On the up side attentive staff rooms are clean, if dated, and tidy.
Plenty of park on site and in adjoining roads behind, situated on the front with bar and restaurant on the first floor, give great views while dinning or drinking. Very much set in the Victorian era and style, prices are reflective of this.

Room Tip: Ask for lower floors
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaspode1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is a lovely hotel, the outside and main public areas especially the staircases have the "wow" factor. The room was nicely decorated and the staff were friendly. It's in a great location with historic St Leonards as built as a new town in the early nineteenth century by the Burtons (also responsible for Tunbridge Wells and the Palm House at Kew Gardens) immediately behind it and Hastings old town a vigorous walk or short taxi ride away. Has the historic dimension as Victoria, Albert, George V, Lord Palmerston etc. have all stayed here. Don't believe everything you hear about St Leonards, this part is historic and well cared for. There is, of course, a road outside as it's on the seafront but not unduly noisy and beach and sea are just across from the hotel. A lovely stay!

Room Tip: Suites on first floor are good, higher floors would have a better view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is a fine building - with other buildings of 'Burton's St Leonards' around it. More could be made of its illustrious past and context as this would surely make it more attractive to visitors with an interest in history. It could also be substantially improved with more obviously 'historic' colours in the corridors and plastic daffodils done away with!
We found our deluxe suite to be very spacious, comfortable, well furnished and clean. We didn't notice noise from the 'very ..noisy road' outside - and we were on the first floor. Higher floors would be even less aware. It was altogether a more pleasurable experience than I had expected given some of the other reviews.

Room Tip: Higher floors would have a better view of the sea. First floor seaview rooms look out on to the roo...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashdown2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Nice location within walking distance of Hastings town, on site parking very limited. Room clean and decorated in keeping with age of the building (expect a few creaking floor boards) beds could do with upgrading. Breakfast reasonable, nice views out to sea. Staff pleasant and most helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank owlgulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.3 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
1.0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
441 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
608 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#8 of 11 in Hastings
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria Hotel

Address: Marina, Hastings TN38 0BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: £47 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the picturesque Hastings seafront, the Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel provides high standards of comfort and hospitality. Whether you are looking to explore the offerings of the East Sussex coastline or just want to stay at a quality hotel in Hastings, we are confident you will enjoy your stay with us. This elegant Victorian hotel has tastefully furnished bedrooms and suites, renowned Sea Terrace Restaurant & piano bar and conference & banqueting facilities with views across the English Channel and to Beachy Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hastings
St. Leonards-On-Sea Best Western
Hastings Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing