We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our weekend in Hastings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our weekend in Hastings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We needed a hotel within walking distance of a church in Hastings when attending a concert. The Royal Victoria met this requirement and was clean, comfortable and with excellent breakfast and interesting historical atmosphere. However the receptionist though trying to be helpful was a bit dozy and ignorant: had to be pushed to find out about our not-so-special requirement for breakfast (fish option) and was totally ignorant about the distance to a well-known local restaurant - told us 10 minutes' walk but was over one hour ! Likewise was wildly misleading re. local parking which is extremely limited.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    292
    165
    87
    40
See reviews for
160
361
28
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Having stayed in this la grande dame hotel 20 years ago, I could say that it had not changed much.
The grand stairway with marble columns were still there. The smell of food in the corridor reminded me of good boarding school days.
Booked a suite with seaview for £72 per night, must be the best bargain I ever had!
I was given a duplex suite on the second floor with front seaview -- nice to be able to sit on the "balcony" enjoying the sun and sea. However it was not convenient to walk up and down the spiral staircase to the mezzaine bedroom area which is only 6 feet high. And I could not stand upright to have a shower in the bathtub as the toilet lacked height.
The bedroom walls did not have much noise insulation. I could hear two women talking loudly in the room on one side, and dog barking on the other side, also guests walking on the squeaky floor above me. With traffic noise on top, you could imagine what my sleep was like!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sho132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Staff gave us a wonderful day and really can not fault the food, I would highly recommend this venue for their wedding the organisation was excellent and found they really listened to what you wanted for your wedding.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

I have been staying at the Royal Victoria Hotel Hastings on a regular basis over the last 2 months. The hotel is extremely oldie, oldie like going back in time. The Décor is amazing, it can be somewhat windy in some sea facing rooms but that is not an every stay experience.

The highlight of my experience is when I am eating in the restaurant and being attended to by Juan, I am from Barcelona. This gentleman is an example of the best customer service and care I have ever experienced in my life and I'm on a young 58 year old.

Service with a smile, light conversation and customer care beyond belief. He is so attentive it's a pleasure when he's working.

I had some guests with me last week and every one of them commented on his amazing attention to customers. He also made us roar with laughter, when I asked if he had been away as I had seen him last week. His rely was so funny that I have to share it with you. "Hello Juan have you been away?

Yes I have been to Bath, not so good weather very nice place with very nice buildings, very nice time, I am under the thumb"

Well, my guest and I absolutely laughed so much, we were crying.

If you could use this man to train others or you could clone him, you would have an experience in any hotel he would be working in, that would amaze any guest. He is amazing. A credit to Great Western but do you realise how good he is and does he get enough recognition for his extremely high customer service levels?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

A grand old building with many original features kept or restored. Façade looked great and many of the public rooms were still traditional, comfortable and charming. Lovely staircase and functional lifts.Worth a walk through these areas to soak up some history
We had a seaview room with a lounge. Excellent accommodation (but see tip below). Great outlook over the sea and surprisingly quiet in spite of being on the Marina Drive. Felt that it was worth paying extra for the view. Good bathroom and great breakfast.
Had dinner in and the food and service was excellent at a reasonable price. Excellent and very helpful host.
Limited parking but we did not have a problem.

Room Tip: We were given a suite with a downstairs lounge and an upstairs bedroom - accessed via a spiral stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willshc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Customer service was amazing staff couldn't do enough to help. The receptionist was extremely helpful and pleasant when we checked in. She took time to explain without me asking the reason for busy reception area which was due to a departing coach party. Her customer service was excellent. We checked in at 2pm on Sunday 27/10/13 and stayed one night. The room was lovely with a separate side dressing room. Beds really comfortable room very clean and warm. We had a sea view room room 412 and had a fantastic view of the great storm in the sea and waves crashing on the beach.
The waiter who attended to us at our table for dinner on the sunday evening was everything you could wish for. Patient with my child ordering his dinner very engaging member of staff. Dinner was lovely and breakfast was too. The bar area and dining room have sea views. So relaxing and lovely background music too. The charm of this hotel is one of the things that keeps repeat custom. The decorating and style of furnishings were very eye catching. A great stay and will return again to stay for longer.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaulaRainsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Royal Victoria Hotel was designed by James Burton as part of his Regency planning for St Leonards, Hastings. The neo Classical terraces along the sea front still exist today.
Although the Hotel is rather dated, the interior is still resplendent and the Dining Room and Piano Bar are real reminders of how life must have been back in the 1800's.
We had a sea front room with a comfortable king size bed and bath/shower. Although the rough waves disturbed us a little during the night the Hotel was so convenient for walking into the town centre and all the history of Hastings.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendywoo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.9 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hastings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#7 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#9 of 11 in Hastings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
Address: Marina, Hastings TN38 0BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the picturesque Hastings seafront, the Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel provides high standards of comfort and hospitality. Whether you are looking to explore the offerings of the East Sussex coastline or just want to stay at a quality hotel in Hastings, we are confident you will enjoy your stay with us. This elegant Victorian hotel has tastefully furnished bedrooms and suites, renowned Sea Terrace Restaurant & piano bar and conference & banqueting facilities with views across the English Channel and to Beachy Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hastings
St. Leonards-On-Sea Best Western
Hastings Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing