We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Victorian splendour in Hastings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    297
    167
    88
    41
See reviews for
165
364
28
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night in February with gale force winds battering the south coast. Sea view room on the 5th floor was a very large attic style bedroom, reproduction period furniture, flat screen TV to watch Winter Olympics, enormous chinese vase bedside lamps and original style single glazed sash windows (is this a listed building). Initially the authentic Victorian experience with billowing net curtain and rattling window soon fixed by stuffing toilet tissue in all the gaps which cured all the draughts. Convector heater in the room and heated towel rail in the bathroom soon warmed it up and it stayed warm all night. Standard room within the room bathroom of adequate size with everything you need, good towels and good shower water pressure on the top floor. Great view from our doctored sash window with waves crashing on the beach 500 yards away and lightning in the night.

Arrived early afternoon and witnessed plenty of cleaning and polishing going on in public areas. Piano lounge and restaurant have original and authentic decor and architectural features - very impressive. Staff were friendly and attentive. Good buffet style breakfast with a full selection of hot and cold dishes and excellent coffee all overlooking the tormented sea through large picture windows.

Booked a month ahead with a fairly limited discount hyped up by Great Western as a special deal and marginally cheaper than online booking sites. Would have given one more star on value for money if the discount had been better.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SecretStopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

I was very dubious about staying here as had read alot of reviews on here before we went, but what a lovely suprise..Just spent a weekend here, Fri - Sunday. Managed to park right outside.The receptionist was very helpful and polite and quick to get us our room keys. Ok, so the hotel is very dated, but this adds to the appeal. It is very clean, and when we got to our room we were hit with a very warm room, like a sauna, we just turned the heating down, not a problem. The room was very spacious, with an added spare room at the back. The bed sheets were not the greatest, just a brown blanket and white sheets but not uncomfortable and again very clean. The tv did not have the greatest reception on alot of channels, bbc and itv worked fine but hey we was not there to watch the box.
Cannot fault the staff, so very friendly, helped quickly with any query. Great waiters/waitresses at our meals in the evening, we stayed for a function. Breakfast was your usual choice you get at hotels, cereals, yogurt, varied jams, plus all your fried breaksfast, all cooked well and plenty of it. Always a staff member topping up and making sure nothing was empty.
My only gripe with this whole place is the lift. Very slow, and one lift for the whole hotel, it is also very small. Took a long time to leave on sunday morning what with 80 odd guests at the function leaving the same time for check out, and the stairs was a mission.
Over all, a great hotel, i would recommend here. Make your own mind up, ignore the bad reviews, it really is not bad at all to what has been said.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if staying in winter, you dont get the wind and cold. Just a lovely warm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anoymous2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sidcup
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We spent the weekend here Fri - Sun and had a wonderful room, lovely and warm huge bath and huge bed!! Full English breakfast each morning and our festival dinners were excellent.
Lunch and afternoon tea was available if you wanted it and the bar was very reasonable, better than London prices!
The hotel was a 20minute walk into the town centre, but a lovely walk along the sea front well worth it. The town is typical, it has a range of high street shops and some wonderful fish restaurants and before you go home stock up on fresh scallops and fish at the Fish Nets huts a really wonderful fresh fish shop!
It might have been howling a gale and the sea was very choppy but I the hotel it was warm and cosy and the staff were very helpful and friendly, nothing too much trouble for them.
Go and enjoy!

Room Tip: This is a beautiful hotel, faded genteel grandeur, the marble staircase is magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

lovely place to stay in Hastings! had a room directly opposite the seafront so the waves could send you to sleep. arrived late on Friday night and the reception staff directed us to an amazing restaurant; we're also full of local knowledge for all weather conditions. we were slightly dissatisfied with the coarse sheets on our bed and within minutes they had been changed for a duvet... staff couldn't help or be friendly enough!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank waitingroomse8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

I was greeted with a very warm welcome, and the receptionist was very helpful.The hotel is within walking distance of Hastings but about 20 minutes. The hotel is a bit dated but well maintained although there was a draught through the windows in my room that would not close tightly, and although my room was fairly large with bath/shower, the wardrobe was down a flight of stairs in a small room. The food was good and plentiful, but the bar was left wanting as there was a very limited choice, but a fair price for some hotels.Also check what you get as I did not get breakfast, but my friends had their's included & they were a couple. The lift was slow so I walked the stairs as it was not far to 3rd floor and made my room easier to find than, along the warren of corridors from the lift.

Room Tip: Phone rather than book online you may be able to negotiate a better deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stay at this Hotel over Christmas and you are guarenteed to have a bad Christmas, book it for your Christmas day lunch and you will be very lucky to get anything you actually ordered or more importantly edible.
This Hotel is obviously trying to cut costs at every available oportunity to the detriment and cost of the paying guest. Christmas Day they obviously refused to pay for a chef to be on duty as the veg was either stewed to death or raw. Meat that looked like it had been plated the day before and reheated.
Staff tried in vane to deal with the growing stream of complaints and plates were returned pretty much as they had been served. I would love to hear from anyone who believes they had a great value for money Christmas day lunch.
The room windows let in the wind and the rain which we would have put up with if the heavy 1980's curtains worked but I felt I had more chance of pulling the whole lot down than getting them to meet in the middle.
For all it's glorious and splendid appearance this hotel is sadly in decline and I would definately say buyer be ware you book this hotel and accept your lot.
The best thing about breakfast was the waiter doing his faulty towers impression aimed I think at distracting you from the poor quality food and very watered down sauces.
Seriously I would not take a chance on this establishment and wonder how long before the AA, Best Western and the other Standards marques ar removed from what was once Hastings Premiere Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hastings hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.5 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.8 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hastings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#7 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#9 of 11 in Hastings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
Address: Marina, Hastings TN38 0BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the picturesque Hastings seafront, the Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel provides high standards of comfort and hospitality. Whether you are looking to explore the offerings of the East Sussex coastline or just want to stay at a quality hotel in Hastings, we are confident you will enjoy your stay with us. This elegant Victorian hotel has tastefully furnished bedrooms and suites, renowned Sea Terrace Restaurant & piano bar and conference & banqueting facilities with views across the English Channel and to Beachy Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hastings
St. Leonards-On-Sea Best Western
Hastings Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing