We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Faded and Friendly”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We were made very welcome at reception and by all staff. The service in the bar and restaurant were very friendly and helpful, if charmingly shambolic at times. There is no card payment machine for either. The bedroom was spacious with a high ceiling. Very comfortable mattress too. It's a very nice building, some of the decorations and fittings are showing their age, not to detract from an enjoyable and excellent value visit.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bobsoundgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    318
    174
    91
    42
See reviews for
173
392
32
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We prefer the quinyessence of this Grand Victorian Hotel, over the bog standard Hotel rooms usually offered. Spacious rooms, nice chill-out area in Piano Bar. Breakfast much improved with friendly staff. Beds/mattresses could do with an up-grade and improvements needed to shower system.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Like the last reviewer, my girlfriend and I also stayed here the night before the Hastings Half Marathon 2014. Unfortunately, we had a rather different experience. This is an old, grand hotel with enormous character and potential. The public areas are in pretty good condition and you can see something of the splendour of bygone years.

We had second floor suite with a seaview for £120. When we arrived in the room, we were disappointed with the state of the room's furnishing and décor which were tired and old-fashioned (to say the least). For example, the hair-dryer last passed its safety test, according to a sticker, in 1994 and was a rather alarming shade of beige. We were surprised to find that there was NO TOILET PAPER in the room (NONE) so we called down to reception and asked for some to be brought up. After waiting for 15 minutes, we call again and were assured that it would be brought up immediately. After another 10 minutes I went down to reception to ask for toilet paper only to be told by the lady at reception that her manager wasn't answering his walkie-talkie and she was not allowed to leave the reception. After another 10 minutes or so the manager turned up. He was dismissive and told me that he would bring toilet paper up to the room. When I said I had been some time already, he gave me a dirty look and insisted that he would bring it up when he got a chance. I was extremely unimpressed.

Unlike the previous reviewer, we were told that there would not be a room available after the race and that we have to use the ground floor toilet. There was a sign saying that marathon runners could have a late check-out (up to 12:30pm) for an extra £20. Given that the race only started at 10:30, in practice this meant around 10-15 mins. Begrudgingly, they said we could have the room until 1pm and we paid the extra £20. I thought this was a sad example of seeking to profiteer from an otherwise excellent local event. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oxcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hastings hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastbourne
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We particularly wanted to eat in Hastings for a special family occasion and thought a Best Western Hotel should fit the bill. However although the food was reasonable for a Carvery there were aspects to the restaurant which were disappointing.
Firstly the restaurant itself was a little tired. The tablecloth was marked and had seen better days, my daughters glass had lipstick around the rim, the broccoli just disintegrated, and the plates were cold...just to name a few. The wine waiter needed to smarten up; however Fabio who brought our coffees was smartly dressed and just delightful! Perhaps some others could take note.
I realise this is an old fashioned sea side hotel and should not be compared to a contemporary one, but it wouldn't take much for the restaurant to raise its game.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank athenaeastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I stayed here the night before the Hastings Half Marathon in 2014. This is one of those old 'grand' hotels that still retains some of it's low key splendour. (I can imagine Miss Marple staying there whilst recuperating from a winter chill). The room was very large with separate sleeping and lounge area and a decent sized bath in the en-suite. I had a room at the back of the hotel which meant it was nice a quiet to get a good nights sleep. It is under 10 minutes walk along the seafront to the race start area. The cost at £65 for a room only was very reasonable. As a nice touch the hotel kept made a room available for guests to change out of their running gear after the race. Would I stay here again? Yes.

Room Tip: Back is quitter, but obviously lacks a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrightonRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This grand old hotel has a lot of character but is missing the finesse and ambiance it deserves.
The reception area smelt quite damp and behind the reception desk the area looked messy with filing cabinets and office paraphernalia making it look unwelcoming. Not good for a first impression of the hotel
The staff were polite and friendly and the room I stayed in was large and very clean.
Unfortunately the décor let it down, although it appeared that it had been recently redecorated there was a mish mash of old fashioned styles and fixtures along with a colour scheme that did not quite work. It gave me the overall impression of an old peoples home.
I personally found the rooms quite noisy as I could hear people talking in the corridors and moving about on the floor above. Great for a budget one night stay but I would not recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.3 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.8 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
584 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
246 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
Bannatyne Spa Hotel
#3 of 11 in Hastings
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel

Property: Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
Address: Marina, Hastings TN38 0BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the picturesque Hastings seafront, the Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel provides high standards of comfort and hospitality. Whether you are looking to explore the offerings of the East Sussex coastline or just want to stay at a quality hotel in Hastings, we are confident you will enjoy your stay with us. This elegant Victorian hotel has tastefully furnished bedrooms and suites, renowned Sea Terrace Restaurant & piano bar and conference & banqueting facilities with views across the English Channel and to Beachy Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hastings
St. Leonards-On-Sea Best Western
Hastings Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing