We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Daventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Well worth staying at the Royal Victoria. Well maintained with excellent staff. Clearly an old hotel but maintained to a very good standard. Whilst on the sea front it was a quiet location and we suffered no noise issues. Staff very keen to assist and the standard and quality of food was very good. Good location as it is away from the "bright lights" of Hastings but on a very good bus route. Free parking in the streets around the hotel and a pay and display just up the road that is free overnight. Stayed in 411 which had a double aspect and was very roomy and well light.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    292
    165
    87
    40
See reviews for
160
361
28
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Very traditional seaside hotel with good old fashioned service - enjoyed very much indeed. This is a Georgian or could be very early Victorian 'Grand Hotel' in the heart of the St Leonards suburb of Hastings. We particularly like the high ceilings in our room which overlooked the sea front. Indeed it was like a mini-suite with arm chairs and table overlooking the sea and a separate bathroom and dressing area. Really enjoyed both dinner and breakfast. Recommended

Room Tip: Worth choosing a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LimehouseE14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

As we were only staying for one night, I booked at a very cheap rate thinking it wouldn't matter if the hotel was awful. It was just the opposite. Lovely decor, super, big rooms, very polite staff. And the cushion count was low! Breakfast was good - we rate places by the availability of porridge. We'll stay there again probably.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We were warmly welcomed by the staff. The parking was easy right outside the entrance and free. The hotel is grand with very tasteful décor and well maintained throughout. The atmosphere is warm and friendly and peaceful . The food is excellent and served by attentive waiters. Our bedroom was beautiful with sea views. The bed was firm but comfortable ensuring a good nights sleep. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank alan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We went to the Hotel today to meet Chef Florin and Joanna for a tasting of our chosen menu for our wedding breakfast later this year. We were both VERY IMPRESSED and pleased with not only the quality and flavours of the food but the presentation aswell. Service and attention given by all staff on duty today was superb too. Congratulations Florin on a brilliant meal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theonlypingu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIVERPOOL UK
Level Contributor
555 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed here last week in a family suite (rm 509) with my mum and 4 year old. This is a huge Georgian hotel, right on the seafront, a great location for exploring St Leonards and only a short walk along the seafront into Hastings itself.
Our room was very big, with single bed in a little seperate alcove to the rest of the room.Decoration was a bit old fashioned but fine, and room was clean, bright and comfortable. Fab sea view. Bath and shower.Not double-glazed so some traffic noise but not excessive, and I enjoyed listening to the sound of the sea.
Breakfast was not included in our deal, but we did try the piano bar for dinner one day, and the food was very good.
So overall a very good stay. The only negative point was the electronic room keys tended to "deactivate ", which meant a long trek down from the 5th floor to reception in a very slow lift. This seemed to be a common problem as the people along the corridor had the same issue, so maybe this is somethingthe hotel management need to look into.
Otherwise all good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SGM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed in one of the suites for three nights. Hotel has obviously been very recently refurbished. The first-floor foyer and public areas have retained their original Victorian/Edwardian elegance. Room was well appointed and everything worked. Hassle-free WiFi. Good old-fashioned service. Parking could be a bit of a challenge as only 6 on-site spaces, otherwise pay-car park 200 yds on other side of road or free street parking behind and around the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.9 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hastings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#7 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#9 of 11 in Hastings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
Address: Marina, Hastings TN38 0BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the picturesque Hastings seafront, the Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel provides high standards of comfort and hospitality. Whether you are looking to explore the offerings of the East Sussex coastline or just want to stay at a quality hotel in Hastings, we are confident you will enjoy your stay with us. This elegant Victorian hotel has tastefully furnished bedrooms and suites, renowned Sea Terrace Restaurant & piano bar and conference & banqueting facilities with views across the English Channel and to Beachy Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hastings
St. Leonards-On-Sea Best Western
Hastings Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing