We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night stay June 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Victoria Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Hotel very good with grade II listed staircase and impressive chandeliers. Good size bedrooms and bathroom but unusual not to have duvets on beds - sheets and blanket instead. Very good breakfast where staff were helpful as were the staff on reception. We walked to the old town in the evening on the same side as hotel and some parts were a little intimidating in retrospect we should have walked along the promenade.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank PEJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (859)
There are newer reviews for Royal Victoria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 859 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed in a family room which was huge with high ceilings. The room was divided into two areas with one double bed and two singles. Having checked in with a non smiling receptionist we were told we would have to find parking on the streets behind the hotel. This wasn't ideal as it was tricky carrying our suitcases from a five minute walk away. The approach to our room was down a dark corridor smelling of cabbage and old people. The room was shabby with ripped lampshades. Beds were lumpy and squeaked at every movement. Bathroom had mould around the bath. Noisy at night with traffic. Area unpleasant and run down. Not enough staff to cater for lunch and wasn't that full. Thirty minute wait for dry sandwiches. Breakfast ok but unpleasant eating off stained table cloths. Wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

It's such a lovely building , you can tell in it's heyday it would of been beautiful . The decor inside is outdated , not the nice vintage type either. The building inside is pretty with old marble columns and grand staircases , just the furniture and curtains etc leave a lot to be desired . Our room was clean , nice double bed and huge bathroom , clean bed linen so no complaints there. The evening atmosphere in the hotel was boring ( we headed back as the nightlife in hastings was non existent ). Bar man was polite , although they did run out of lemonade early on so my vodka was topped up both bottled lemo ( he did charge us correctly though , so good on him ). On checkout the next day we noticed one of the reception rooms in the entrance was infested with ants ! Not again sadly

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JennySueG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is a delightful period hotel with a beautiful marble staircase leading to the Lounge and Dining Room. We had a pleasant en suite room with 12 foot ceilings. Bed comfy and facilities adequate including tea and coffee making equipment (but no biscuits)
The staff were great and a special mention for Chris who was very helpful. I did manage to get biscuits by asking the receptionist and they appeared in the room. Food and waiters full marks.
Would definitely go again. Car parking is a little difficult but there is parking in the street around the hotel and a Public Park on the sea front

Room Tip: I stated my preference when I booked and was satisfied with the result
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Planning a rugby tour dinner for 65 boys (ages10-12) and 65 Mums and Dads is never an easy experience, trying to find a venue large enough even harder. To be looked after so superbly by the team at the hotel who laid on a superb carvery and catered for all our requests was beyond our expectations. I would highly recommend the hotel, great views and a great customer experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solomsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Such a shame. A gorgeous location with great service and fab food... All means nothing if the beds are not suitable to a good nights sleep. The hotel is very old. They have maintained the character with vintage decor and furnishings. Love it! Unfortunately our beds were of vintage age as well. Had to put blankets under the sheets to protect against the springs poking through. Beds also had a visible sag in the centre. They were horrid. All that aside, our room overlooked the English Channel with huge windows for good breezes (no a/c). We had an amazing amount of space with a separate seating area for afternoon tea :). I've never seen a hotel room this large in Europe.

The restaurant was very good for dinner and I recommend going for dinner even if you are not staying at the hotel. Breakfast was good, but over priced for the value compared to other hotels. There is nothing else really close so that is why we took the breakfast option anyway.

A comfortable room with good beds are critical to the enjoyment of my stay. So even with all of the good things the Royal Victoria has to offer, I must give it a low rating.

Room Tip: Perhaps they have a selection of beds in other rooms. I recommend asking (we probably should have).
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hildy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I booked this hotel because it was sea front and we could have an evening meal in the hotel.I took my elderly mother and this was her holiday by the sea for this year . The room was huge and as I expected very old fashioned and tired but fine for us (please teach someone how to make beds ). It had a newly overhauled good bathroom . T.V. hopeless
However the huge disappointment for us was the food which if you don,t often stay in a hotel should be a treat..............The evening menu was pretty much the same for all 5 days we were here ,not imaginative and not fresh ..dull repetetive tasteless and poor quality in my opinion. Some staff tried hard to please but most had clearly had no training and were just having a go .The tables and cloths were often not clean or the cutlery plates and cups and the morning tea pots were positively disgusting .This seems to be a coach party hotel where they stay for one night only and so the staff are hugely overworked and all seem to have a go at everything. It is a great shame that what was a lovely old hotel is most definitely not up to what you would expect from a Great Western Hotel . It is isolated in a run down part of town and a long walk to any other fascilities although the view of the sea is open and pleasant....I would not reccomend this hotel .

Room Tip: Sea views are good if there isn,t a roof in the way !!!!!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Pru N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.3 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hastings
143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
1.0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
441 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Hastings
Travelodge Hastings
#6 of 11 in Hastings
608 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#8 of 11 in Hastings
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria Hotel

Address: Marina, Hastings TN38 0BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: £47 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the picturesque Hastings seafront, the Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel provides high standards of comfort and hospitality. Whether you are looking to explore the offerings of the East Sussex coastline or just want to stay at a quality hotel in Hastings, we are confident you will enjoy your stay with us. This elegant Victorian hotel has tastefully furnished bedrooms and suites, renowned Sea Terrace Restaurant & piano bar and conference & banqueting facilities with views across the English Channel and to Beachy Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hastings
St. Leonards-On-Sea Best Western
Hastings Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing