We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“large room, sea view, bygone days.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
sydney, australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“large room, sea view, bygone days.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed in a triple room at this hotel. The room was at the front of the hotel on the top floor and had a wonderful coast line view. The room was very spacious with a large bathroom with a bath. The room was tastefully furnished and the beds and bedding clean and comfortable. There was a lovely writing desk and chair under the window. the wi-fi and television both worked well. It was a bit of a walk to Hastings town centre but the walk was pleasant along the beach front and flat. Staff were pleasant and polite. There is a lift and parking was available on the street at the back of the hotel. Breakfast was a bit expensive but had a wide selection of hot and cold food. A great experience, would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollybronte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    297
    167
    88
    41
See reviews for
165
364
28
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Potters Bar, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely sea front hotel. It was helped by gorgeous weather! Right on the prom, and an easy walk into St Leonards. The staff were most helpful, and the food delicious and very well presented. We had a lovely huge room, room 401. Straight up in the lift, then right outside out door!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Champagne27_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed one night & were happy with our stay. The room was spacious & clean, hot water was hot, beds comfortable, TV & fridge a bonus. Breakfast was tasty & plentiful with brilliant views of the sea. We had to park in the street but had no problems finding a space. All the staff we spoke to were friendly & helpful. An easy walk into Hastings & back. This was our second stay & would recommend for the price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamSurya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had a standard room which was nice and clean larger than we expected nicely furnished, with a small sofa.
The parking was okay, but looked like it could difficult in the evening, so we opted to walk into Hastings. So we decided to eat at the hotel. This was a mistake, we ate in the restaurant, with its a la carte. I was so disappointed pub type menu with poor pub food, crispy prawn salad was 3 prawns in filo and a basic salad, the steak was tough, chips soggy. I would definitely stay there again, but will eat else where.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icedragon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
571 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

This is one of those hotels that would have been perfect, but a hundred years ago. But for now, as large as the room was, it was also hot, noisy, had an uncomfortable and noisy bed, and a crap shower. Parking is pretty difficult, and there are few reasons to stay. For us, well it was the only family room we could find in the St Leornards/Hastings area.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hastings hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London
Level Contributor
215 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

+ points: nice location on the seafront right on the beach, large (if weirdly shaped) rooms, impressive (if rather faded glory) staircase and lounge.
- points: it needs gutting and starting again, there has been piecemeal replacements of bits and bobs (new card door locks, modern duvets), but everything else is random and old fashioned. The corridors are gloomy, with horrible carpets and smell of wax polish, cabbage and sweat. The room we had was large with effectively 2 rooms with 2 single beds - odd as we checked in as a couple. No air conditioning and the windows hardly open, bathroom tired and from the 70s - all gold taps. The shower was just a link from the bath taps and impossible to get a good temperature - to the point of scalding ourselves - dangerous. Breakfast was ok but cutlery and crockery were dirty. Its actually in St. Leonards next to Hastings - which is a good 30 minute walk away (mind you given the state of Hastings, this could be a + point). Just one inefficient lift.

It's just not up to Best Western standards and needs real renovation to take it into this century. Would not return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen-London-N16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.5 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.8 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hastings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#7 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#9 of 11 in Hastings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
Address: Marina, Hastings TN38 0BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the picturesque Hastings seafront, the Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel provides high standards of comfort and hospitality. Whether you are looking to explore the offerings of the East Sussex coastline or just want to stay at a quality hotel in Hastings, we are confident you will enjoy your stay with us. This elegant Victorian hotel has tastefully furnished bedrooms and suites, renowned Sea Terrace Restaurant & piano bar and conference & banqueting facilities with views across the English Channel and to Beachy Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hastings
St. Leonards-On-Sea Best Western
Hastings Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing