We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad old hotel in worst town I have ever been to”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Sad old hotel in worst town I have ever been to”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Obviously has been a beautiful hotel in its day but is now fighting a losing battle to be the one decent thing in what is a disgrace of a town. The staff lack experience and the hotel has no ambiance whatsoever, the piano bar has no pianist, the restaurant on a saturday night ( with the hotel full ) had 8 diners , the food could at best be described as average. The worst thing is its location, think twice before you visit Hastings. The local authority should be ashamed by the appalling state of this formerly elegant town .

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different town !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidRogers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    303
    170
    91
    41
See reviews for
167
377
30
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

First time in ages that we had been for afternoon tea. When we arrived the table was already laid.
The table-cloth needed an iron - it was really creased- and the crockery, while clean , had seen better days !
However, the sandwiches, scones and cake were brought on a slate tray and looked appetising and plentiful. There were 4 varieties of sandwich: cheese, cucumber, ham and salmon. Nicely cut but very bland - plain with no pickle/mayonnaise/tomato. Fruit scones were lovely with clotted cream and strawberry jam. Three different cakes : sponge, a tiramisu- tasting confection and a raspberry gateau - delicious. Plenty of tea with refills. We all enjoyed it and thought it good value.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ann-1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheerness uk
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Spent 1 night 16 Aug 2014. Nice large room & super clean bathroom, bed was very comfortable & linens were smooth cotton = very comfortable. We were away for the night with husbands parents & decided to eat in the restaurant, a side room, as there was a function in the main restaurant. The side room had a sea view & an excellent waiter from Belgium, where the chocolate mousse comes from !!, I am sorry I forgot his name but he was very attentive &looked after us so well even taking a photo of us all on the mother in laws phone . The meal was first class! My husband & I had the steak meal with a bottle of nice wine for £40 - I don't normally have steak as I never get one I enjoy BUT this sirloin steak was delicious, well done - as I like & so tasty & tender, excellent chocolate mousse & coffee with crunchy chocolate mints - really enjoyable meal- we were very looked after. I have read reviews that say the hotel is faded & dated but I found it quite charming. It is a VERY OLD Building, with character & history. I liked it. Lovely sea views from the breakfast room , £10 per person = a bit pricey but with a full English self service breakfast buffet, toast, fruit salad, yoghurt, cheese etc I was full up till late afternoon !! no need for lunch :) The sausages were quite excellent, very tasty & the head waiter (Dutch? / Belgian?) was great fun, watching him barking out orders to the cooking staff was hilarious - he knew it too & played to the crowd! The parents in law did not find their bed as comfy as we did but said it was Ok for one night, they enjoyed their stay. Would I stay here again = Oh YES !! A nice change from modern, impersonal, sterile motel like rooms.

Room Tip: we had a room at the back - no sea view but was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samtash111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This hotel should be avoided as the service was poor, rooms were filthy and dated and the amenities not as described.

Room smelt moisty, carpets were very well warn and was not the 3/4 Star hotel advertised.

Worst hotel experience I have ever had :-(

Refused to give us a refund, Manager totally unhelpful - finally got money back after formally complaining via Best Western,

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TrotterTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hastings hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed here for one night - a break from work - and as mentioned by other reviewers, the hotel would benefit from a makeover, particularly to take advantage of the many good things about it. We had a room facing the back. It was large but a badly used space! There was a spiral staircase down to the wardrobes which could have been a lovely area for a sofa, the TV or even a desk. Having to carry your clothes down the stairs to hang them up is crazy so we just draped everything on the sofa! Unfortunately the window in the downstairs area was missing half the curtain which let in a lot of light. The mattress was very soft so neither of us slept well but it was a big bed so if you like soft mattresses, it could be perfect! The best thing about the hotel is the view of the sea from the restaurant and bar. I could sit for hours in the room leading to the restaurant gazing out at the sea through the large curved window. I had a nice glass of wine too :-) Dinner was good and pretty good value at at around £22 for a 3 course meal. The home made pea soup was delicious and I had a really good quality steak too. Having a table by the window looking out to sea was a huge bonus. I enjoyed breakfast too once again with a great view of the sea :-) This hotel could be excellent with the help of a good designer to take advantage of the assets.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptgrrtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is a grand hotel. Perhaps a little dated, but all the better for that as it makes one feel more important as soon as you enter the lobby. Our room was on the fifth floor and had two windows overlooking the sea front from where we could comfortably observe the remnants of a hurricane whilst sipping tea in genteel comfort. The room was enormous and might have benefited from more furniture - a settee perhaps - in addition to the table and chairs, dressing table and mirror, chest of drawers ...... The piano lounge and restaurant overlook the sea front and there is plenty of space between tables allowing for a relaxing meal. The evening meal was excellent as was breakfast and the staff were attentive and helpful. Parking was limited at the hotel, but there was plenty of free parking nearby and we had no problem finding a space.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Aggifield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.5 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.8 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hastings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#7 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#10 of 11 in Hastings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel

Property: Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel
Address: Marina, Hastings TN38 0BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the picturesque Hastings seafront, the Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel provides high standards of comfort and hospitality. Whether you are looking to explore the offerings of the East Sussex coastline or just want to stay at a quality hotel in Hastings, we are confident you will enjoy your stay with us. This elegant Victorian hotel has tastefully furnished bedrooms and suites, renowned Sea Terrace Restaurant & piano bar and conference & banqueting facilities with views across the English Channel and to Beachy Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hastings
St. Leonards-On-Sea Best Western
Hastings Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing