We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The hotel is comfortable and the staff very pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Sissinghurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The hotel is comfortable and the staff very pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

Having read reports before our visit I cannot believe people could write such negative remarks.

The building is old but grand, the rooms are large compared with so many modern hotels, no central heating in the rooms, so you can control the heaters yourself. The bathrooms do need modernising as paint was beginning to peel from the wall which did not look good.

We stayed over New Year and it was done very well, except for the timing when we finished the buffet meal well before midnight and the disco, well we did manage a few of his numbers but they were hard work! Afterwards we were entertained to a marvellous firework display on the beach directly opposite.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cottyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    297
    167
    88
    41
See reviews for
165
364
28
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

Quite simply, do not contemplate staying at this sad and decaying hotel. Once a beautiful edifice to premier accommodation, this property has gone way past any stage for improvement. It now needs to close and be totally gutted.

The reception foyer is dark and dismal with an air of great sadness. Staff try to be helpful, but I think they are tainted by the appauling environment in which they are expected to work.

My second floor front bedroom was icily cold and when given a supplementary convection heater to plug into the wall, found the socket totally corroded and it was LIVE! The hotel seemed to be unaware of Health & Dafety for guests.

Restaurant breakfast was a nightmare. The cook did not know how to prepare Haddock and it was eventually served with a completely uncooked/raw egg floating on top. To cap that, the waiter was very intrusive and would not leave us alone, wanting to talk about football all the time....something that neither of us had any interest in. I eventually had to ask him to leave us alone.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruokh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hastings hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Berkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

You can tell this hotel was once grand and beautiful. However, it has been allowed to become quite shabby. Our room, although large and reasonably clean and comfortable looked as though it was a' WIP'. The doors had started to be painted but not finished, the taps in the bathroom were 'gold' bases (yuk) with clear agrylic tops. We had no hot water on the second day despite being told to let the taps run a bit longer (15 mins) so now shower that morning! The whole hotel needs a complete makeover. However, the staff were friendly and its location is good if you want bracing walks along the promenade. We didnt use the restaurant in the evening but breakfast was quite good, with the usual offerings although toast was soggy and cold. I wouldnt not recommend this hotel - just know what to expect.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
308 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

Unfortunately I had stayed in two London 4 star hotels the previous two weekends, and three or four five star hotels abroad last month. I suppose I wasn't expecting much but it was comfortable enough. For £105 for one night and two breakfasts, I expected slightly more, especially when the London Hotels only charged about £40 more. Location is OK, close to the recently burned down pier! Opposite The Azur. Plenty of free parking on the main road. reception was helpful and friendly (Staff are so important and they were all good for our stay, especially the mature Spanish waiter at breakfast). Our room was at the front overlooking the sea, great. It had a massive sitting room, great. The sofa and seats were far from new and uncomfortable. The bed was a queen size or reular double (oh please can I have a king size), and the mattress was too soft. The finish in the bathroom and the suite was below par as was the dated ecoration. Breakfast was served at your table. I would have preferred a buffet as I needed to pig out after a very drunken evening. the sausage was great! So, after a very drunken wedding reception I wactually had a very good nights sleep and a fair breakfast. I was happy enough to stay here though I may try one of the 'boutique' hotels closeby.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

Just returned from Hastings. We were visiting family and needed a room for one night. Booked a superior double room, last minute and paid £90 for B&B which I thought was pretty good value as average standard double room rate in Hastings area seems to be around £100.00. The staff were extremely friendly and could not do enough for us and the room was a large airy suite with great sea view and immaculately clean. The decor was a little dated, very 1980's and the bathroom was pretty basic, but the sea view and size of room made up for it and I'm sure if bedrooms had a make over, flat screen tv, luxury bathrooms etc, the price would go up to reflect this. We had a good night sleep, very quiet and a nice breakfast with lovely views of the sea. We were also lucky to be able to park outside the hotel. All in all good value for money. Would recommend a vist to the old town, we walked along the front (30 mins) and then got a taxi back (£4.00). There are some nice quaint pubs and good eateries in that area.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

stayed 2nights here the hotel was spot on, food was great and the head waiter
andra was first class even got the beach boys music on for me , i stop in a lot
of hotels in my work but this made them all seem second class, great staff, great hotel
doug & joy

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doug092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

Lovely old building, great position, bedrooms large and quiet, and there it ends! The hotel lacks direction and this is felt in the quality of the service and the maintenance of the rooms, everything feels as though it's being run on a shoe-string. During bad weather there is no comfortable bar or residents lounge to sit in. Parking in front of hotel very limited.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.5 mi away
Zanzibar International Hotel Hastings
0.8 mi away
White Rock Hotel
White Rock Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Hastings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lansdowne
Lansdowne
#7 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eagle House Hotel
Eagle House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Hastings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#9 of 11 in Hastings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel
Address: Marina, Hastings TN38 0BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hastings
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the picturesque Hastings seafront, the Best Western Royal Victoria Hotel provides high standards of comfort and hospitality. Whether you are looking to explore the offerings of the East Sussex coastline or just want to stay at a quality hotel in Hastings, we are confident you will enjoy your stay with us. This elegant Victorian hotel has tastefully furnished bedrooms and suites, renowned Sea Terrace Restaurant & piano bar and conference & banqueting facilities with views across the English Channel and to Beachy Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hastings
St. Leonards-On-Sea Best Western
Hastings Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing