We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh dear”

Jasmine Thai Cuisine
Ranked #84 of 358 Restaurants in Hastings
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oh dear”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

This is not the same place it was a few months ago. The fresh tasting food has been replaced with predictable stodge and the service is friendly but slow. Such a shame. What was a great place to eat has been transformed into a run of the mill food factory. :(

Helpful?
1 Thank Jaf404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    12
    4
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

We happened across this restaurant by chance and after being told by too many restaurants that 9:30 was too late. They were welcoming, efficient and very reasonably priced. The biggest bonus was the food. We'd recommend the duck, pad thai and the massaman curry (please forgive any misspelling!). Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank MsAngeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Do not waste your money here!!”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Please be advised that you will have a much more appetising experience buying thai cuisine from the frozen section in Iceland. Not to mention, save a great deal of money!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawnialou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex England
Level Contributor
181 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
“Under new management so reviewed again”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had not been for a while and booked as before. What a surprise! The place, albeit small, has been transformed. apparently under new management since March. Out has gone the feeling that you are dining in someone's front room with the family. The previous family have moved on through ill health of the "old boy" who ran it. Now under new management, it is freshly decorated with new Thai accessories, tables and chairs etc. to make it look less family kitchen. All of this is positive. They take cards too (previously only cash). The only retrograde step is that they now have a licence so no more bring a bottle with no corkage. That generosity was never going to last but the drink selection is not exorbitantly priced. Previously the food was good, now it is excellent with a whole new menu. Service was excellent and friendly too so a deserved extra star from the previous incarnation. I award my ratings based on the price point so deserved for a three course meal costing just over £22 per head (excluding drinks)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellerforpleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnyrigg Scotland
Level Contributor
248 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Tasty food but almost non existent service”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

They took a late booking for a table of 11 persons based on a mutually convenient time (8pm on a Sunday evening) and we were put upstairs.

We appreciate that for a party of 11, taking orders and preparing food is not an easy task particularly when the place is full.

The food arrived in dribs and drabs and sadly not all of the orders were correct. My chicken green curry was very tasty, but did not have an abundance of chicken in it. The coconut rice served with it was also very tasty.

They operate a "Bring your own bottle" policy, but make sure you bring screwtops as a request for a cork screw bottle opener took almost half an hour to be acted on.

We were unsure as to whether or not it was the waitress's first night on duty ( possibly a Hastings girl and not Asian) as she did not have a clue as to what the dishes were. We even had to give her the orders by "number" on the menu. (this would be normal practice when 'phoning in a "take away" order, but a bit off the wall for a restaurant order). Sadly the majority of our party had to wait virtually more than an hour for their dishes, and when they did arrive they were not exactly what they had asked for.

Not a place to go to if you are in a hurry, but the food we had was very tasty and not over expensive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonythemonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jasmine Thai Cuisine also viewed

Hastings, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 

Been to Jasmine Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing